5/5 A2 Gizmo AMPS 333 | +6 279 | PMPS 418

Status
Not open for further replies.

tobakett

Member Since 2018
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-4-a2-gizmo-amps-398-pmps-12-5-562-5-421.195114/

I'm liking these morning numbers more but he woke me up 5 minutes before my alarm....and on a Saturday!

Also since I have had a recurring nightmare that his civvie sister also ended up diabetic. Shes almost his same age, and is a little chunker herself, but not NEARLY as well mannered, like, I have said to Josh (BF) multiple times that I am so lucky that if one of my cats had to be diabetic, that its Gizmo because Widget would NOT put up with all of this. She a bit of an anxious mess. She viciously defends the house and verbally assaults every living thing that comes near our house, shes SUPER vocal (I joke she is part beagle because ever since she was about 3 weeks old she HOWLS every so often..just because I think she likes her voice...vets have checked her out before since they said some things can cause howling but the fact it's been lifelong is probably just her personality). She had a bout with pancreatitis about 6 years back now....about 17 hours after getting IV fluids she decided she was done with IVs and chewed out 7 lines before they decided she must be feeling good enough to take her off IV support. Needless to say, if it had been her, I probably would have lost my mind even worse than I did with Gizmo.

But for piece of mind (and because there is a demented part of me that thought 'hey if she knows what this is maybe she will stop being all up in our business when we are trying to get this done') I decided to test her.

The great news is that she came in at a healthy 72

The bad news is that she made sure I donated at least 10 times as much blood via claws up the side of my leg.

The HILARIOUS part is Gizmo watched the whole thing and after I praised her and gave her a treat (because might as well reinforce it being positive JUST IN CASE) and she jumped off the couch, Gizmo ran her down and smacked her. I'd like to think he was scolding her for being such a brat.
 
*sigh* well, gonna try to run a curve every 2 hours if I can tomorrow, see if that gives me a better picture. It seems like the increase in doses arent doing anything...his numbers were better before I started the insulin and low carb food!! Gonna have to buy more test strip again, and the price on Amazon just jumped up again, ugh! Gonna be a lot of Ramen until next payday -.-

The fact we haven't seen a single green or blue since diagnosis makes me feel hopeless that he will ever have a shot at OTJ, or even regulation. I've been looking at dozens of spreadsheets and it seems like early on there should at least be SOME blue or green. After every shot I pet him and I have never felt wetness..are there other kinda of missed shots that maybe I'm just failing at injecting him?

It's been an awful week at work, I probably just need sleep and to stop being so cranky. I'm just exausted.
 
Have you ever thought of using a human meter instead of the AT? It'll save you lots of $$$ and our dosing methods are written with human meters in mind.

I've seen much worse spreadsheets to start, including those that eventually went OTJ. However, your goal for now should be regulation. That's a prerequisite for anything else. It's still very early days with Gizmo. :bighug: Good luck with the curve tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top