5/5/15 Lucy AMPS 290 +4 194 +5 167 +8 88 +10 79 +12 68 +13 70 PMPS 76 +1 108 +5 187

Status
Not open for further replies.

Voula

Member Since 2014
I am stalling a bit as I am a bit nervous to give Lucy her insulin with a falling green number getting close to 50 though I have dosed a falling green number I haven't dosed such a low number yet. I am possibly being too cautious and I am surprised at the good numbers as we skipped a dose yesterday morning and usually it takes more than two doses of insulin to get back in good numbers. Roomp/Rand say with BG between 2.8/50 and 5.5/100 one option is to feed and wait for the BG to rise above 5.5/100 or you can dose and monitor carefully with BG between 2.8/50 and 5.5/100. FDMB information says withhold food and see if there is a rise. I could be waiting hours for a rise as Lucy sometimes continues in low numbers up to +19 after an insulin dose. I understand the principle that we are dosing what the number will be in a few hours but I wonder if that applies with Lucy's tendency to stay low well into the next cycle and sometimes up to +19. I have dosed between 4.3/77 and 5.5/100 and it has been fine but usually it has been a rising green number at those times. My dosing schedule is flexible so we can wait for an hour or so.
My previous post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...7-5-50-8-76-10-83-pmps-97-2-119-5-151.137200/
 
Last edited:
Hi Voula,
Lucy is doing so well. You must be so pleased. No advice from me of course, just wanted to give my support.
Quiet time at the moment here on the forum. If there is no one around to give you advice, go with your gut feeling. You know Lucy.
Bron
 
Hi Voula,
Lucy is doing so well. You must be so pleased. No advice from me of course, just wanted to give my support.
Quiet time at the moment here on the forum. If there is no one around to give you advice, go with your gut feeling. You know Lucy.
Bron
Thank you so much Bron. Yes I am very happy with how Lucy is doing at the moment even with my cautious approach. :) I am stalling as I don't feel confident to give Lucy her insulin at the moment. I know we dose low to stay low but my feeling is to delay a while though I know more experienced people would dose now. I gave Lucy a little food with the PMBG test so I will wait a while to see what the next reading will be without being affected by food.
 
Last edited:
There is nothing wrong with being cautious. I would be the same.
You have to do what you are comfortable with. ECID and you know all Lucy's ways with dealing with insulin.
 
The +14 reading was 4.2/76 and Lucy had not eaten since +12 when she had one teaspoon of low carb food. So it seems as if her glucose is not dropping further so I think it seems like it would be okay to give her insulin now. I know in a few hours her glucose will likely rise and that will coincide with when the insulin will be having an effect so I think it might be okay to dose now.
 
I'm glad you have been able to work it out so well. You are doing a really good job looking after Lucy and keeping her safe as well.
I looked up the Roomp/Rand protocol which is what our vet wants us to follow and which is followed on FDMB though with some adjustments and I decided to reduce the dose by 0.25 units for tonight's dose as according to Roomp/Rand that is one option if BG doesn't rise to over 100 within one to two hours after the dose is due. They recommend feeding and waiting but I didn't feed Lucy as I wanted to see what would happen without food. They also recommend giving the full dose if BG is between 50-100 though they caution to watch carefully for hypoglycemia which I do anyway. Lucy is feeling stressed tonight with me doing the BG tests and I need sleep as I haven't slept much the past two nights and am exhausted. I know I could have given Lucy the full 1.5 units as it was +15 at dose time so her BG would be going up at the time the insulin takes effect but we both need a break from so much testing tonight. I will set the alarm and get up and monitor Lucy but I can see she is stressed tonight though she normally copes very well with the tests. Thank you Bron so much for your support tonight as I was feeling anxious.
 
I think that was a good decision to reduce the dose especially when you are feeling so tired. You have to do what you are most comfortable with and that which you can cope with on the night. Hope you can manage a good night' sleep. You be a good girl for your mum Lucy. I am glad I could be there as support:bighug:
 
My Lucy is always a good girl :cat::) and she is so tolerant but tonight she is stressed and her ears are a bit bruised so hopefully by lowering the dose for tonight that will help to minimise the tests. I really am in awe of how well our cats tolerate everything we have to do to keep them well and safe.
 
My Lucy is always a good girl :cat::) and she is so tolerant but tonight she is stressed and her ears are a bit bruised so hopefully by lowering the dose for tonight that will help to minimise the tests. I really am in awe of how well our cats tolerate everything we have to do to keep them well and safe.
Lucy might be picking up on your worry tonight. They are pretty smart. I agree they are incredibly tolerant. I am sure they know we are trying to help them.
I was cutting Sheba's nails yesterday and she is usually pretty good up until the last paw when she starts to complain. Yesterday she started almost straight away. A soft growl persisted during the whole proceedings until we got to the last paw when she jerked it away and refused to let me do it. I came back 5 minutes later and she was fine.
 
Lucy might be picking up on your worry tonight. They are pretty smart. I agree they are incredibly tolerant. I am sure they know we are trying to help them.
I was cutting Sheba's nails yesterday and she is usually pretty good up until the last paw when she starts to complain. Yesterday she started almost straight away. A soft growl persisted during the whole proceedings until we got to the last paw when she jerked it away and refused to let me do it. I came back 5 minutes later and she was fine.
I agree that our cats know we are trying to help them and you could be right about my Lucy picking up on my worry tonight. She did fine with the +1 test as I gave her a teaspoon of fancy feast grilled and she didn't even notice the test as she loves that so much and doesn't get to eat it much now that I feed her only low carb food. But even though the grilled varieties have wheat in them they don't seem to raise Lucy's glucose but I don't feed them for a meal usually just in case. But they are useful in small amounts to get tests done sometimes. Sometimes like you and your Sheba a little break is needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top