5/4Ella pmps 376 +2=391

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70142

Ella is wearing a red dress this morning but I caught her putting a load in the wash last night so we'll see what she has ironed by the time we get home. The positive thing about her high numbers is that we'll probably be safe to go out tonight (anti jinx). We have very good friends visiting from BC :-D

Have a wonderful day everyone:)
 
Re: 5/4Ella +11=430

ok so i just had a mini heart attack. i tested her amps and it said 301! I decided to test agin with the contour and AT and the At gave me 365 and the contour gave me 401. Not sure who to believe as well as why my contour or strips are acting up but the difference in numbers are kinda scary!

I shot at the zero line and can get a +2. Unfortunately, I don't have the car today as the DH needs it for a field trip. Hopefully those low numbers weren't real!
 
Re: 5/4Ella +11=430 +12=401

Hopefully, she'll come down from her bounce nice and slowly, today.
I would get a +1.

How is she eating?
 
Re: 5/4Ella +11=430 +12=401

+1 445 on contour 385 on AT.

What's interesting si that I thought the AT ran 30 points higher.
 
Re: 5/4Ella +11=430 +12=401+1=445

Hi Tamara,
Good job shooting this morning. So is it your AMPS that is 401? (subject heading says +12, implying that you did not shoot). It will drive you crazy trying to compare numbers from two meters. I would pick one meter and stick with it. When you are in the higher numbers the 20% meter variance even with the same meter can be quite a spread (it is 20% in both directions).

Have a good day today. It's good that Ella is eating. That will ease your mind. I hope that all will work out well and that you will have an enjoyable evening with your friends.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/4Ella +11=430 amps=401+1=445

Thanks for catching that Ella:) I'm a bit sleepy having to wake up at 5:00am every morning:)
I have a question: when Ella is this hungry she is constantly searching for food. I feed her all of her meals before I leave but I'm wondering if it's necessary to isolate her with food during the day. Does she require it?
 
Re: 5/4Ella +11=430 amps=401+1=445

Generally speaking, it is good to spread out the cycle's food in smaller portions over the first 3 or 4 hours. It is easier on the pancreas, especially if Ella has a tendency to eat everything at once. But you wouldn't be able to do this unless you used an auto feeder and unless you isolated Ella from your other kitties.
 
Re: 5/4Ella +11=430 amps=401+1=445

Sometimes, you can get an odd test result if there's too much blood or not quite enough (there will be enough to get a reading but it reads low). I use a Contour and have had this happen. I just re-test.

I wouldn't worry overly much about the feeding. Generally, setting up a feeding schedule is helpful if you have a cat who tends to have big drops. If Ella grazes or is used to having her meals all at one time, it's probably easier given your work schedule.
 
Re: 5/4Ella +11=430 amps=401+1=445 +2=421

Thanks for all your replies:) It looks like Ella will be safe today:) Will report back later.
 
Re: 5/4Ella +11=430 amps=401+1=445 +2=421

pmps 376

Ella ate well this evening. Neg ketones but still quite high! Hopefully her shed will fill up again soon:)
Looking forward to an evening with old friends and will test now and then:)

ps. I fed her at 10.5...I know...I know but she was high and hungry:) I wouldn't feed her if she was low...promise:)
 
Re: 5/4Ella pmps 376

Hi Tamara,
I'm sorry I haven't been to visit your condo for a few days, I was following everyday, but missed two days, I think the last time I saw that you were going to not give any insulin and drain her shed, and then start over again. That sounded like a good plan, and now I forgot to look at your SS, so I don't know what you are shooting, but I'll look at it now.

I hope you have a great time with your friends tonight, you sure deserve a break!
 
+2=391

Hi Barb,

We did drain her shed and now she is getting one drop. Thanks for visiting:)
 
Thanks Julie:) Not worrying because she's high.

383:( I know I skipped a shot but when do we consider a dosecrease?
This girl is not budging and if we are going to do any raising it would be great to do when I can supervise:)
 
I understand you being worried, Tamara. Those high numbers are tough. Normally we would increase after six cycles iF numbers are high but with the skipped shot yesterday, the count starts over:
Counting Cycles

So she has only had three consecutive cycles at this zero dose. I'm just wondering if raising her after one more cycle, considering her high nadirs and the fact that you are going to be home over the weekend, might be something to consider. Hopefully, we'll see some other input on this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top