? 5/4 Wall-e's 6th cycle of new increase. Is he bouncing?

Marcy

Member Since 2021
Hello, Wall-e had been in an increase from .5 to .75 for 6 cycles now. Yesterday we saw great numbers from +5-7, in the upper 200s. Today, we are seeing an increase by almost 30 points. His +5 yesterday, was 267. Last night, through today, he's been trending in high 300s. His +5 today is 315. I use the freestyle libre sensor and the overnight graph shows he did go down into the 250 range. Do I give this another cycle and see what happens tomorrow?
 
I can't advise but it certainly looks like your kitty needs an increase. Please edit your thread and put a ? in front it, and the date. Like this: ?, 5/4, Wall-e, 6th cycle if new increase. Is he bouncing?

You should get more attention.
 
We really need you to set up a signature. What are you feeding him, all wet or any dry? Are you following TR or SLGS? I see TR on your spreadsheet but please add to a signature. I would increase tonight to 1.0.
 
Thank you. The titles of these threads stress me out. I never put the right Information on them.
You did great, Marcy, updating your thread. You will get more attention with immediate concerns when you use the ?. When you are panicky, or really concerned about your kitty, use the 911. No need to be stressed.
 
We really need you to set up a signature. What are you feeding him, all wet or any dry? Are you following TR or SLGS? I see TR on your spreadsheet but please add to a signature. I would increase tonight to 1.0.
What's a signature? Just my name? I'm not understanding and there's too much to read. It's getting frustrating.
I'm feeding wet.
 
Don't get frustrated. There's a lot to learn. Your signature is where you added the spreadsheet link. Just add to that the date he was diagnosed, TR, food you feed, type of meter(s) used, and any other info we should know like other medications being taken. That way you won't get asked the same questions over and over. It all helps us to help you.:bighug:
 
Marcy, to edit your signature, go to the top right of this screen and click on your username (Marcy). It will bring a menu up. Click on Signature.
Screen Shot 2021-05-04 at 5.10.28 PM.png
There you will see a screen where there is already a link to Wall-e's Spreadsheet. Don't delete that, but add above it in one line the information like I have in my signature (Name of your cat, gender, age, diagnosis date, any other health conditions, protocol being followed (TR), insulin type, meter you are using (Freestyle Libre), and if you are feeding wet or dry or combo (low carb wet food).

Screen Shot 2021-05-04 at 5.13.29 PM.png
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-05-04 at 5.10.28 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-05-04 at 5.10.28 PM.png
    369.7 KB · Views: 67
  • Screen Shot 2021-05-04 at 5.13.29 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-05-04 at 5.13.29 PM.png
    132.5 KB · Views: 190
There is a huge learning curve and very overwhelming but be patient with yourself and with how the forum works, and we'll help you with Wall-e. Don't worry, and keep asking for help. That's what we're here for. :bighug::bighug:
 
But everything is on his spreadsheet. The only thing but on there is what he's fed. Just seems like a lot of duplicate information.
 
The redundancy is helpful especially to the moderators and senior members who spend hours on the forum assisting caregivers. There are dozens of cats who come on this forum each day, and all of the information you provide in your thread title, in your signature, and in your spreadsheet aids the moderators to help you in the most efficient way possible, especially if your cat is in an emergency situation. Trust me, it's not for naught!
 
I changed it and it now seems like the hyperlink is not all the way highlighted. Could someone please click in it and see if it's still working?
 
I changed it and it now seems like the hyperlink is not all the way highlighted. Could someone please click in it and see if it's still working?
It works. Great job! Would you also please add the meter you are using? That's a big question around here if you're new to the board, as a lot of people use pet meters like Alpha Trak and we have to read the numbers on the spreadsheet differently than human meter numbers.
 
It helps us to help you to have the info on each post which is why we have a signature. Sometimes those of us helping have a limited amount of time and are in a hurry or helping several at once. I have had to help 2 or even 3 people with cats in low numbers at the same time! Thanks for adding the info.
 
It works. Great job! Would you also please add the meter you are using? That's a big question around here if you're new to the board, as a lot of people use pet meters like Alpha Trak and we have to read the numbers on the spreadsheet differently than human meter numbers.
It's on there.nthe freestyle libre.
 
It helps us to help you to have the info on each post which is why we have a signature. Sometimes those of us helping have a limited amount of time and are in a hurry or helping several at once. I have had to help 2 or even 3 people with cats in low numbers at the same time! Thanks for adding the info.
You're welcome and thank you for the advice. Now I just need an answer. Hopefully someone will see it.
 
Hi Marcy, It does look like Wall-e is bouncing from those yellow numbers. @tiffmaxee should confirm but since you're following TR he looks like he is due for an increase to 1 unit since you've been on .75 for 6 cycles.
 
I was really hoping to get him regulated on a low dose. He was on .5 of novolin. I know they are duffy and he went low at least once a day, but really thought lantus would hold him at .5 as well.
I'm going to do one more night of .75 and then send sheet to my vet. I really want her on the same page. She's been great, but also knows that I get advice from her and she's great about it, as she admits to not knowing much about diabetes.
So thank you, I was thinking the same thing, but it hasn't been long for me on lantus. I just want my boy back to himself.
 
Hi Marcy, It does look like Wall-e is bouncing from those yellow numbers. @tiffmaxee should confirm but since you're following TR he looks like he is due for an increase to 1 unit since you've been on .75 for 6 cycles.
So just another question. Bouncing is because he's not used to having low numbers? So why does an increase help with that? Doesn't that just encourage another bounce?
 
To me, I don't see bouncing, but what I do see is he's getting too comfy in higher numbers. Time for an increase by 0.25u, nadirs are above 200. If they were above 300, per TR you'd increase by 0.5u. He need some more juice.
 
Last edited:
I agree with Christie that’s he’s pretty flat. And I did answer your question about the increase. I was a little more conservative by saying to increase by .25 but only because you are new to Lantus and were seeing yellow. The TR method does say to increase by .50.
 
I agree with Elise, he's pushing it with a few nadirs above 300, and only a couple mid-ish 200s. It's a bit of a toss up, I'd go with the 0.25u and see if that's enough of a nudge, since you're new to Lantus.
 
I will increase to 1 unit tonight. Which will be in an hour. I just will hold off on giving my vet his spreedsheet until it looks better. I just don't want her to think I'm self dosing.
 
Marcy, if you can, go to 1 unit tonight but only if you can do some test during the night. You are doing great! I know this is a lot of information, all at once, but this group will help you and Wall-E.
 
Marcy, if you can, go to 1 unit tonight but only if you can do some test during the night. You are doing great! I know this is a lot of information, all at once, but this group will help you and Wall-E.
His PMPS was 272. I did go to 1 unit and will take as many scans tonight that I can. +1 is 296.
 
Hi Marcy and welcome to you and Wall-e.
We all would like to get our cats regulated on as low a dose as possible, but a can needs as much insulin as he needs ... and we don't really get a lot of control over that. That's up to the cat and what's going on with thim. Factors we can influence are food (that would be big), but other things are very individual to the cat. You don't want your kitty to become too comfortable in the higher numbers. I hope you are sleeping well as I type this!
 
Please be patient with the process. Some people have been on this site for years and are still trying to regulate their kitties. Look at other people's spreadsheets but listen to the pros on this site for information. You are doing great.
 
Hi Marcy and welcome to you and Wall-e.
We all would like to get our cats regulated on as low a dose as possible, but a can needs as much insulin as he needs ... and we don't really get a lot of control over that. That's up to the cat and what's going on with thim. Factors we can influence are food (that would be big), but other things are very individual to the cat. You don't want your kitty to become too comfortable in the higher numbers. I hope you are sleeping well as I type this!
I did not sleep well at all! Lol Wall-e woke me up for food. He never does that. Then was howling for food during the fasting. Ugh. I'm tired,!
But I did scan him when he woke me up at +5.5, he was at 228. He's never been so persistent in getting food. I really thought he was higher.
 
If anyone has experience with this, it's Suzanne! Marcy, welcoming you and Wall-e to the rollercoaster.
I like to scream in roller coasters. Is that ok to just scream? Lol I'm very lucky to be unemployed right now. Otherwise this would be so very difficult.
 
Please be patient with the process. Some people have been on this site for years and are still trying to regulate their kitties. Look at other people's spreadsheets but listen to the pros on this site for information. You are doing great.
I'm trying to be patient. But I need to start looking for a job, after my own two knee surgeries, and I'm just worried about this not being under control before then. I'm alone, so no help with insulin dosing.
 
Marcy, you are doing great. Your boy is in yellows - not pinks. Listen, it can take a long time to get a kitty into regulation but it can be done - even if you have to work. As far as sleeping at night - just make sure you check his blood at PMPS before you shoot and feed. And, try to get a +2 test after that. If that +2 test is about the same or higher than the PMPS test then you can probably go back to sleep and sleep the night away. His numbers are high right now and I don't think you have to worry about anything at this point. Can you leave some food out for him during the night? Leave a full can of FF pate out for him before you go to bed tonight and maybe he will let you sleep. Please try to understand that this is a marathon and not a sprint. It could take a long time to get Wall-e regulated but people are able to do it even when they work. I'm sorry to hear about your knee surgeries. That really sucks. Especially when it is both knees. Please relax a little and be patient. I will try to get you some attention. @Wendy&Neko or @tiffmaxee or @Bandit's Mom or @JaxBenji
 
Marcy, you are doing great. Your boy is in yellows - not pinks. Listen, it can take a long time to get a kitty into regulation but it can be done - even if you have to work. As far as sleeping at night - just make sure you check his blood at PMPS before you shoot and feed. And, try to get a +2 test after that. If that +2 test is about the same or higher than the PMPS test then you can probably go back to sleep and sleep the night away. His numbers are high right now and I don't think you have to worry about anything at this point. Can you leave some food out for him during the night? Leave a full can of FF pate out for him before you go to bed tonight and maybe he will let you sleep. Please try to understand that this is a marathon and not a sprint. It could take a long time to get Wall-e regulated but people are able to do it even when they work. I'm sorry to hear about your knee surgeries. That really sucks. Especially when it is both knees. Please relax a little and be patient. I will try to get you some attention. @Wendy&Neko or @tiffmaxee or @Bandit's Mom or @JaxBenji
He does get food at anytime. It's always left out. During the day he's picky about the quality. If it's not fresh from the can, he won't eat it. Even with water added. Today he acted like he wanted food, did what he usually does and only licked up the juice. I left it that way. He wasn't begging for food and I know he'll eat it. He just finally ate now and it had probably been about an hour or longer that he hadn't eaten. He just vomited up a lot of bile. I'm going to give fresh food in about an hour, because food goes up at 7. But I'm concerned about the vomiting.
 
Start a new post for today 5/6) and copy and paste this one at the beginning of the new post. If you're still concerned put a ? at the beginning of your new post. Thank you.
 
Hello, Wall-e had been in an increase from .5 to .75 for 6 cycles now. Yesterday we saw great numbers from +5-7, in the upper 200s. Today, we are seeing an increase by almost 30 points. His +5 yesterday, was 267. Last night, through today, he's been trending in high 300s. His +5 today is 315. I use the freestyle libre sensor and the overnight graph shows he did go down into the 250 range. Do I give this another cycle and see what happens tomorrow?
Hey, are you coming back to this site? We want to help you and your boy.
 
Back
Top