5/4 Toeby AMPS 311, +4 79, +5 85, +6 131, PMPS 363, +2 337, +3 344, +4 371.

I think Toeby is going to need more insulin.
I am going to make the switch to trying the TR protocol on Toeby, starting with this evening's shot.
I was going to start this morning, but wasn't sure how much to bump up.
I am thinking I should go back to a good 0.1 unit, but perhaps I should go back to 0.25?
Will wait for some advice before proceeding...
Laura
 
Laura, are you going to be able to monitor the cycle tonight?
I would only go back to 0.1 U because it was only 5 days ago that the 0.1 U dropped Toeby to 2.5 (45) so you don’t want to go any higher with the dose. Hasten slowly.

ETA...don’t make it a ‘good 0.1’ just make it a regular 0.1 please
 
Laura, are you going to be able to monitor the cycle tonight?
I would only go back to 0.1 U because it was only 5 days ago that the 0.1 U dropped Toeby to 2.5 (45) so you don’t want to go any higher with the dose. Hasten slowly.

ETA...don’t make it a ‘good 0.1’ just make it a regular 0.1 please

Wow. +4 79
Not sure what happened here, or if I was just lucky to catch this number.
This morning I wavered about increasing the dose to 0.10 and decided to wait until I had some input - maybe I was a little heavy handed as a result and measured more towards the 0.1 than the drop dose?
Regardless, this +4 number surprised me after last night.
I gave him a treat - will give him a snack when I get off the computer.

Appreciate everyone's input...
Yes, @Bron and Sheba (GA) I can monitor tonight...
I will go back to 0.10 units... and a regular one... I will not make it a "good one".
Promise...
Laura
 
+5 85
I apologize to anyone who may have caught me posting 4.7...
I think and test in mmol/L and post in 'Murican.
LOL
Sometimes I trip up... sorry!!!
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) how in the world does Toeby go from 311 to 79 in four hours? This is all very confusing to me.

Well, now... if I had the answer to that! :bookworm:
It makes no sense to me, so I appreciate the joint confusion... lol.

The principles of managing feline diabetes, or diabetes in people, I can wrap my head around.
But the way Toeby reacts?
He's an indoor cat without opposable thumbs, just extra toes - he's can't feed himself, so that variable I can control, to a point.

To me, it's like his body is actively fighting against the effect of insulin, until suddenly, he is not.

And when he drops, he often plummets...
Dunno.
All I can do is try my best.
That's become a bit of a mantra here.
L.
 
What other medical conditions does he have? I see he has some heart enlargement but why can't he feed himself? There must be something rather significant to cause him to drop like this. I am a "newbie" on this site and am trying so hard to understand what a lot of kitties are going through but I am always confused. I have no doubt that you try your best and Toeby is lucky to have you.

Is IBD Irritable Bowel Syndrome? I'm glad to see your boy came up a little.
 
Last edited:
how in the world does Toeby go from 311 to 79 in four hours?
Regulation is a combination of insulin and getting the food right. And of course it differs by cat and they are different in how carb sensitive they are. Actually a drop from 311 to 79 is pretty sedate compared to some cats here (Oliver for example). Some cats drop fast. For those cats, it can be beneficial to make sure you get early tests like a +2, and feed the drop to slow him down. Depending on when the cat onsets, feeding at +1, +2 and +3 may be appropriate. We call it feeding the curve, more details here: Using Food to Manipulate the Curve
 
What other medical conditions does he have? I see he has some heart enlargement but why can't he feed himself? There must be something rather significant to cause him to drop like this. I am a "newbie" on this site and am trying so hard to understand what a lot of kitties are going through but I am always confused. I have no doubt that you try your best and Toeby is lucky to have you.

Is IBD Irritable Bowel Syndrome? I'm glad to see your boy came up a little.

Hi - Summer? (I'm never sure when the cat has a person's name like your Susie does, I think?)

Toeby can feed himself just fine... he was diagnosed in November with possible Inflammatory Bowel Disease... which is not the same as Irritable Bowel Syndrome in people, but sort of related.
In the last couple years he was prone to vomiting, and in the fall, some bouts of diarrhea, and his intestines feel what the vets call "ropey" - it could be a bunch of things.
We put Toeby on a steroid (Prednisolone) and it helped him immensely.
It also unfortunately brought on diabetes - something I was warned could happen, and that I was testing for sporadically.
He is now on a different drug, but one that is still a kind of steroid... it's not as well known for causing diabetes, apparently, so I am hopeful.

My biggest issue with Toeby is just that he is almost 16 and has been a grazer all his life, so getting him to eat on command is not easy unless it is tasty high carb food, which of course, is a no-no.
Eating small meals over time, in my opinion, is not a bad thing for diabetics, but feeding the curve means I have to get him to eat snacks so I am working on that.

I was quite pleased with his readings today, as he has gone much, much lower.
Discovering a good number at +4 made me wonder how low he was at +2 or +3, but that is hindsight, and I can't do anything about it after the fact.
He was feeling great at supper time.
Laura
 
Back
Top