5/4 Tigger - Anyone willing to look back over our SS?

Moms2Tigger&Blu

Member Since 2018
Hi!
Just looking for someone to check out Tigger's Spreadsheet, especially over the past month or so. Should I have stayed at 0.75 back at the beginning of April? He had 2 90's but not much else going on. I increased like 1-2 cycles early I know but I like to do it when we can test. Now he's been on 1 unit for like a month straight, and while he definitely has more blues, there is still not alot of surfing. If anything he's back to big bounces, which we were getting smaller back in Dec/Jan. Every time I start to consider an increase he hits a low between 90-150. I feel like we're missing something. I know we can't assume but there are also a few times on the sheet where it looks like he is bouncing big after a low that we missed. Any insight appreciated.
 
What happened over two weeks ago is generally considered ancient history in looking what to do with a dose. Your goal is nadirs between 90 and 149 on SLGS. 0.75 units wasn’t doing that.

Every time you temporarily reduce the dose based on a preshot, you disrupt the depot. Which gives temporary higher numbers. If you can monitor, you have enough experience to shoot full dose on high blues now.
.
 
What happened over two weeks ago is generally considered ancient history in looking what to do with a dose. Your goal is nadirs between 90 and 149 on SLGS. 0.75 units wasn’t doing that.

Every time you temporarily reduce the dose based on a preshot, you disrupt the depot. Which gives temporary higher numbers. If you can monitor, you have enough experience to shoot full dose on high blues now.
.

Ok I just wasn't sure about that whole "going PAST the right dose" situation. But generally speaking, if its clearly a downward slide, a bounce breaking or whatever and I CAN'T monitor, it is still safer to hold or reduce? I'm just thinking of those nights he goes from ~350 at pmps to ~250 at +6 to ~150 at amps. I know he is most likely going to bounce back up at this point because it doesn't take green for him - just a 200 point drop will do it but . . . . . no testing all day is scary. I agree if we are home we should be shooting full dose at high 100's now. As for the 1 unit . . . stick with it for the time being? I guess my confusion comes from the phrasing "nadirS" - as in multiple. In a 7 day, 14 cycle week, he may have 2 nadirs between 90 and 150 but be bouncing all the rest of the time . . . . He was down to smaller bounces for a bit but they are a little longer again.

P.S. Thanks for your input!
 
Hey there. So, the nadir is the lowest number in the cycle. It can be anywhere from +4 to +12. Some cats nadir early and some later even at the +12.

As Wendy said, when you reduce the dose because of a lower pre shot number ( not an earned reduction) you mess up the depot and then the numbers get higher. I get that when you can't test all day it is scary. But that said, even if you temporarily reduce the dose because the pre shot numbers is lower than you are comfortable leaving him, the first part of the cycle is going to play out as if you had not done the reduction due to the depot.

What might be a better thing for you to do would be to load him with some higher carb food to raise him up while you are gone. Here is a great thread about just that. I hope that helps.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990

I would stick with the 1 unit unless he goes under 90.
 
So, the nadir is the lowest number in the cycle. It can be anywhere from +4 to +12. Some cats nadir early and some later even at the +12.
Small correction, the nadir is the lowest number in the cycle, no time limits. On Lantus, Neko was generally a late nadir kitty, but I did spot her nadir anywhere from +3.5 to +13. Yup, that was after the following shot, but I knew it was the nadir from the action of the previous shot because she hadn’t onset yet from the latest shot.
 
Back
Top