Camille and Cyclone
Member Since 2009
This morning Salem got his first official dose of 0 units because of the low preshot.
(Plunger at the zero line, just a tiny bit of insulin.) My current totally self-made-up protocol is half-dose if preshot is 80 - 100, no shot if under 80.
Been a long time, again. Hello everyone and glad to see the board going strong. Salem has been doing great for the most part - some kidney impairment but so far his blood tests are still at the high end of normal and all I'm doing is giving a phosphorus binder and occasional Pepsid. He had another bout of pancreatitis in February but recovered well with some weight loss and since then his preshots have improved and there have been a few times I skipped shots. It's obvious his pancreas is doing a bit of sputtering.
Previous years are no longer on his chart, but when I adopted Salem almost three years ago in early August 2009, his preshots were in the 300's and 400's with spot checks in the 200's and 300's. It took six weeks and a dose of 5.75 units before we got any spot checks below 100, another couple of weeks to start getting them with any regularity, and another nine months or so before he was reliably staying under 300 for preshots and in the 60-100 range for nadirs. Since then his gradual improvement has been truly remarkable. Shows how long and difficult the process can be, but also how good the outcome can be even in a long-term diabetic like Salem.
Been a long time, again. Hello everyone and glad to see the board going strong. Salem has been doing great for the most part - some kidney impairment but so far his blood tests are still at the high end of normal and all I'm doing is giving a phosphorus binder and occasional Pepsid. He had another bout of pancreatitis in February but recovered well with some weight loss and since then his preshots have improved and there have been a few times I skipped shots. It's obvious his pancreas is doing a bit of sputtering.
Previous years are no longer on his chart, but when I adopted Salem almost three years ago in early August 2009, his preshots were in the 300's and 400's with spot checks in the 200's and 300's. It took six weeks and a dose of 5.75 units before we got any spot checks below 100, another couple of weeks to start getting them with any regularity, and another nine months or so before he was reliably staying under 300 for preshots and in the 60-100 range for nadirs. Since then his gradual improvement has been truly remarkable. Shows how long and difficult the process can be, but also how good the outcome can be even in a long-term diabetic like Salem.