5/4 - Salem amps 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Camille and Cyclone

Member Since 2009
This morning Salem got his first official dose of 0 units because of the low preshot. :) (Plunger at the zero line, just a tiny bit of insulin.) My current totally self-made-up protocol is half-dose if preshot is 80 - 100, no shot if under 80.

Been a long time, again. Hello everyone and glad to see the board going strong. Salem has been doing great for the most part - some kidney impairment but so far his blood tests are still at the high end of normal and all I'm doing is giving a phosphorus binder and occasional Pepsid. He had another bout of pancreatitis in February but recovered well with some weight loss and since then his preshots have improved and there have been a few times I skipped shots. It's obvious his pancreas is doing a bit of sputtering. :D

Previous years are no longer on his chart, but when I adopted Salem almost three years ago in early August 2009, his preshots were in the 300's and 400's with spot checks in the 200's and 300's. It took six weeks and a dose of 5.75 units before we got any spot checks below 100, another couple of weeks to start getting them with any regularity, and another nine months or so before he was reliably staying under 300 for preshots and in the 60-100 range for nadirs. Since then his gradual improvement has been truly remarkable. Shows how long and difficult the process can be, but also how good the outcome can be even in a long-term diabetic like Salem.
 
Welcome Back! Glad to see that Salem is doing well. :-D Sounds like you are at the end of a journey that I am just beginning...I just adopted Autumn (originally named Lulu) from DCIN, she is a 5 year old long haired tortie that went untreated for 10+ months, so I can completely relate to the slow and steady progress. Autumn has a long ways to go before she gets to catch up to Salem. But hopefully one day we too will be posting that she is on her official first day of a zero dose. :-D

Autumn is my third adopted diabetic, they do seem to get into your blood after you have the first one don't they? :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Musette, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Hi, Momma! Yes, yes they do. I had to be persuaded to take Salem, but am glad I did and can definitely see myself with more diabetics in the future. :) I hope Autumn improves soon - I'm sure she will.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top