5/4 Oren AMPS=161;+2=344;PMPS=384;+2=401;+4=324;+5.5=345;

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Yesterday was a recharge day for the bean. Oren started in blue, but since i couldn't be around i basically aborted his cycle w/ mc food added to his normal mini-meals and a reduced shot. I got some personal time and activities, including a lovely kayak paddle on the river, much needed.

Blue again this a.m, and I called in late to work so I can get a plus two and see how its going. Sure wish I could get him on a better schedule. But I'm glad to know he's pretty carb sensitive and MC (9%) does the job of keeping him up. Happy Monday (is there such a thing?!);):coffee::coffee:
 
Hopefully Oren will be good for you today. Sometimes you just have to abort the cycle.

I believe anything under 10% is considered LC, but some cats are more sensitive to carbs. The first time Sammy was on insulin I had him eating 7-10% carb food and he did just fine, but this time around his main food is 4-5% and I use the 7-8% on days like today when he is a bit lower and I need to go off to work. I still have MC (11-15%) and HC (>16%) food if he has a low.

Good luck today, I hope it goes well for you and Oren.
 
Oh, look how sweet Oren's being. He knew his favorite bean had a relaxing and enjoyable Sunday and he knows how stressful Monday's are. He's got nothing but your best interests in mind and is trying to extend your weekend just a little bit longer for you...

Loved the kayak picture. Just looking at water brings calm. :)

Happy Monday!
 
thanks Tina, Marilyn and Rose for checking in on us! well, apparently the little creamsicle is going lower later at night and rising to those blue AMPS. Guess I might have to set an alarm tonight. I am hopeful there is green in there somewhere... I left him regular lc meals and am at work.
Sure hope Ms. Zoey can get on a good track to health soon too Rose; I know nothing about Cushings disease; but it does seem like a follow up to the vet this time might finally pin something down. It would be good to have a 'known enemy' at least, to know how to fight!

So glad you also had a nice weekend outdoors. It really does do wonders for a state of mind doesn't it? Especially when it's as nice as it appears to have been up and down the east coast yesterday! these lovely spring days are so ephemeral, you need to grab them when possible.

ETA: Tina, that's interesting info re: the carbs; i thought only <=5 was considered low?! but apparently Oren is somewhat sensitive, as the 9% seems to affect him. Perhaps its because he mainly does get <=5 for his regular meals, plus some cooked chicken breast. Guess it opens up the larder choices a bit more though! his civie sister Patty eats the Friskies pates, which I guess are a bit higher than the 5% but still around 10%?
 
Last edited:
hm, lowest PMPS in a while... wonder what the night holds?! I can't be late into work tomorrow... so of course he'll probably go diving... o_O
 
note to self: don't ever think you understand this stuff, cuz you don't. majority of pm+2 being lower than PMPS, but not tonight. granted at the higher numbers might be meter variance, but jeebus, I just can't predict anything with him.
 
Lovely start this morning. When Neko was on Lantus, the +2 was meaningless - I needed to get a +2.5 or a +3 to figure out what the cycle looked like. And then I was right about half the time. ;)

We have some kitties here that do better on higher % carb LC, especially those that like diving. As usual, ECID.
 
Tonight was just weird. I think a dose increase is in order. But I am hesitant to do it until Wed at earliest. I'll be home then, but then back to work Thur. So, I'm thinking a .25 increase because nadirs have been under 200 and I can't even rule out green a couple of the last few nights. I know he's over 5 already and so maybe .5 is in order but something makes me lean towards the .25 increase... Opinions?
 
I agree on the dose increase. He had greens initially on this dose, then he sort of fizzled out and hasn't gotten lower than blues since. You are right that a .5 increase is called for. Maybe if you see a green before Wednesday that'll change things.

You might want to put Dose increase? or something like that on your subject line for more eyes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top