? 5/4 Noodle - AMPS 195 - Dosing/SS Question

Patricia & Noodle

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's condo

Finally back in the blues! Hopefully she surfs for me today. I added her lab results to her SS last night . I don't have every value in the defaults because of the specific panel we ran (Idexx with Cardio values). Our vet is happy with the results and will get everything to the surgeon's office ahead of her consult/surgery next Wednesday.

Re: dosing and her spreadsheet
- With this surgery pending, I'm of a mind to not change her dose up unless she goes low since she will hit the 50s on this dose. Does anyone with more experience see an issue with that plan?
- With an eye to the future, where should I be looking to fill in her SS in the meantime? I know I'll need more PM cycle values for sure, certainly a few curves (especially while I'm working from home).
- With how small her dose is, I'm also wondering how much to go up and down by. I've been erring on the side of a drop (roughly .1mm on the calipers) in the past year or so, does that sound reasonable? I have a feeling I can't make a decision on that without more data, though.
 
Since the current dose has gotten her into greens, I'd hold the dose unless she earns a reduction. The day of the surgery you may not want to give insulin depending on what her number is. You may need to discuss that with the vet. Some drugs they use for anesthesia can lower BG. You may want to make sure the vet it going to monitor BG during surgery.

As far as filling in the SS goes, look and see where there are gaps and get some tests in those times if you are able to.
 
If you don't know it already, I'd do some tests to try and figure out when her onset and nadir are. Those before bed tests are always a good one to add to the list of BG tests. And yes, you need more data over time to figure out her patterns.
 
Back
Top