5/4 Mookitty AMPS 221, +1 170 , +2 121, +3 62 53 83 139 +4 182 PMPS 443

Maybe I'm crazy, but I weighed us together this morning and subtracted my weight. I don't believe I've ever seen the number go up. I feel it is too soon, but I saw 6 lbs.
 
Maybe I'm crazy, but I weighed us together this morning and subtracted my weight. I don't believe I've ever seen the number go up. I feel it is too soon, but I saw 6 lbs.

I believe it, it took Hendrick about 2 weeks on insulin to see his first weight gain, and it was like .2 pounds

your SS is still conditionally formatted to a pet meter, so a 62 auto-colors lime when it should be just green, and lime should only be under 50. Maybe @Bandit's Mom can help with that.
 
Im lowering her dose. I cant handle this. She dropped to 58. Had no interest in anything but dried kibble and sweets. 83 now. I dont want to do tight regulation.
 
Hostess Cupcake and syrup with a bit of kibble and a bite of low carb. Had barely any interest in food. She just is too tired at lower numbers right now. She would sleep right through hypo. She's going back to 1 unit.
 
Its not just below the 50 number, its that she ate a little bit at 62 and still went down in like 10 minutes. If I let it it would have went down far enough to allow for a reduction. I'm certain of this.
 
Im lowering her dose. I cant handle this. She dropped to 58. Had no interest in anything but dried kibble and sweets. 83 now. I dont want to do tight regulation.
Hi Ariah, Mookitty is looking good. It is great she is responding so well to the insulin. Many cats take ages to get into the lower numbers.
I know that the green numbers are scary in the beginning…..I freaked out too! But honestly if you want Mookitty to get regulated and have better health, I would stick with TR, especially as she is so recently had DKA. With SLGS you can’t change the dose for a week and that is too long with recent DKA.
It looks like you managed it well this morning. Remember you are always in control when you are testing and have high carb food.z
 
It takes about 20-30 minutes fir food to effect the bg. I know it’s scary at first but she’s safe. Green soon becomes addictive. Normal bg for cats that aren’t diabetic is 50-100.
 
Hi Ariah, Mookitty is looking good. It is great she is responding so well to the insulin. Many cats take ages to get into the lower numbers.
I know that the green numbers are scary in the beginning…..I freaked out too! But honestly if you want Mookitty to get regulated and have better health, I would stick with TR, especially as she is so recently had DKA. With SLGS you can’t change the dose for a week and that is too long with recent DKA.
It looks like you managed it well this morning. Remember you are always in control when you are testing and have high carb food.z

I can't do it anymore. I've had enough.
 
SLGS is too slow but TR is way too aggressive. I don't want my cat below 100 and I don't want to try to bring her to normal levels or into remission. She is almost 16 and most likely has been diabetic for 2 years. Her chances of ever being normal again are probably low. I want to do something that is more conservative than TR. I want her to gain some weight, pee less, and for her back legs to get better. All those things seem to already be starting to happen and it's only been two weeks.

The blood sugar values look better but most of the day she is so tired she barely moves. She lays on the ground when her blood sugar begins to drop. The only reason she does not go into a dangerous category ( I know this because I'm watching not just the low of the drop but how fast its going) is because I have to constantly monitor her. Hourly. Sometimes more. And push food. Much of the time when she is low she just doesn't want to eat. I simply can't sustain taking care of her like this anymore. None of her lowest numbers are what they really would be because I ended up giving syrup during them. No one is there to watch her BG except me and I can't just keep going with 2 hours of broken panicked sleep every 12 hours. If you look at how often this poor thing has been tested you can see how nervous I am about this. I'm testing the cat like this because I'm terrified of waking up in the morning and her being dead. The fact that she is reaching lower numbers much more than most cats is red flag to me that an aggressive tactic is not right for her.

Also, she is being treated for hyperthyroidism which is known to cause hyperglycemia in cats. Now that her thyroid levels are lowering she will be more and more at risk of hypoglycemia and she switched to friskies low carb at the same time and she was snacking on dried food before her diagnosis. It is too much changing all at once. We were pretty bad about what we would allow her to have before her diagnosis too. This cat likes frosting and icecream.

I really do not think she is going to die of DKA. Her DKA came on extremely slowly over the course of over a week and her symptoms were very visible. She came out of it with less than like 7 hours of treatment. And there are no 24 hour hospitals where I live so the first day they only gave her fluids for like 3 hours and sent her home to me. She immediately started eating. Other than feeling bad because she isn't used to being low her diabetic symptoms have been better than they have been in a year or more.

I'm going to bring her back down to either 1 unit or a "fat" 1 unit. I need time to breathe. Maybe I'll change my mind on TR later.
 
I could live with TR with these changes:

“When your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.”

If I am seeing nadirs < 100, I will not increase the dose.

“If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit."

If Moo drops at or below 80, I decrease the dose by 0.25 and then give then fatten up that dose.

Like described here in the fine dosing section: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/

1.25U -> 1.1U or 1U with the plunger barely touching the line.
 
I think following TR but reducing if under 70 or 80 is a good thing to try. The fine dosing is used when cats earn reductions by being under 100 for a week at a time after earning reductions of .25. So from 1.0 you go to .75 to .50 to .25 and then fine dosing. Your cat needs more insulin than that. See how you feel tomorrow.
 
I agree with Elise.
I would feel much happier if you were following TR with DKA in the recent past and with a higher reduction point, than not following it.
At the end of the day though, you hold the syringe and we can only advice you. And for us, the safety of the cat always comes first.
I think sleeping on it is a good idea.:bighug:
 
Back
Top