5/4 Loudogg AMPS 78 +4 33 +6 56 +7.5 55 +9.5 62 PMPS 68 - Reduction earned - BCS dose given

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
May 2, 2019 Condo - Reduction Earned

Hello everyone,
I'm working this weekend (of course), and Lou's getting getting into shenanigans. He earned a reduction to 3.0u today, but he's not eating. He had food from his +9 feeding this morning, but he grazed on his AMPS meal (which he almost always does). However, Caleb got up to check him at +4 and he still had maybe half of his AMPS meal. Lou wasn't interested in 20% HC (gravy) food, which NEVER happens, and he didn't even dive in after Parmesan was added (again insane), but he ate a teeny tiny bit and gave up. Caleb gave him catnip to see if that might increase his appetite, but he wasn't interested. Caleb had to force some Karo in him, and apparently most of it ended up on his face (thankfully he licked/cleaned that up). I told Caleb to try giving him some shredded cheese (to give him something) and thankfully he ate up that treat, went to the sliding glass door, and enjoyed the fresh air.

Caleb says he's acting perfectly like himself, not acting sick or in pain or anything. Last night he smelled an awful poo deposit from someone, but didn't know who. Today, Lou went down to the LB after eating the Parmesan cheese and had another stinky poo. I'm really hoping this is just passing stomach upset. Thankfully Caleb opened a 15% MC (I told him to try it since we have a few different flavors we can try), and Lou at least ate all the gravy from it, but not really the food. He ate again (more gravy only) at around +7.75, so he's imbibing something, although not necessarily enough to keep him safe. I also have some meat-free baby food I could try if push comes to shove.

I'm so torn, because I've been at work all day and Caleb's been stressing out trying to get him to eat and keeping him safe. It's also annoying how limited time is that I could take him to the ER vet if needed. I'm tempted to give him 1.5u tonight if he hasn't started eating, but I'm just not sure. I think he should be fine on a lower dose and I'd hate to completely lose his groove. I'm also not sure when I should take him to the ER, or if we have time for him to get his appetite back. I'd appreciate any suggestions at this point.

I'm stuck at work for another 1.25 hours (until +10.5), so there isn't much I can do here. I've asked Caleb multiple times if he's been sniffing food and walking away or licking his lips and walking away, but I haven't really gotten an answer. I think Caleb was more focused on getting him to eat something than reviewing symptoms. (He works tonight, so he is currently trying to take a nap).
 
Hopefully it's just a stomach upset and Lou will be better tomorrow. I don't think you need to take him to the ER unless he stops eating completely and his numbers go low and you can't get them back up. I'm not sure about tonight's dose, but if you give insulin I think a reduced dose is a good idea. Sending prayers.
 
I hope the stinky poo isn't a pancreatitis flare up. Stinky poo and not eating and or diarrhea or vomiting are some of the symptoms. I hope it is just an upset tummy and passes soon.
 
I hope the stinky poo isn't a pancreatitis flare up. Stinky poo and not eating and or diarrhea or vomiting are some of the symptoms. I hope it is just an upset tummy and passes soon.
Gosh me too. He's never had pancreatitis. The only time he stopped eating was when he had a UTI in November 2017. That time he was not eating at all and when he finally ate a bit, he threw it right up. The symptoms don't quite match up to what happened previously, but that's what worries me.
 
He seemed hungry when I got home, as well as bright eyed and bushy tailed. He's eating his PMPS meal with no issues. HOORAY! I think I'm still going to air on the side of caution and give him a BCS dose of 2.0u tonight just in case he reverts back to not eating.

PMPS = 68
 
Back
Top