5/4 Lanky AMPS 420, +10 378; PMPS 412

Status
Not open for further replies.

sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

Member Since 2010
CORRECTED Date & dose amount:

Yesterday's Condo

Morning - I suppose this hi AMPS could be another RBC. Shall I go up another 0.25u today? Lanky looks fine this AM, he had a normal pee/poop about very early. I am a little weary but think I'll do better after some coffee.

A couple of sips of coffee and I am ready for another day - actually not quite with of the typos I've done today. Corrected: Did the dosecrease to 5.25u this AM. Lanky is a very happy boy today too. He is snacking on everyone's leftovers & talking to himself.
 
Re: 5/3 Lanky AMPS 420 Dose question

Hi Susan!

OMG you test a lot! :lol: I have no problems with that - I'm a recovered testaholic :-D I like data. Data is good.

I'm assuming you're around thru the day - and feedback should be around for your dose Q.
I don't know who "Feedback" is, but you know what I mean :lol:

Have a great day!!!
 
Re: 5/3 Lanky AMPS 420

Just hold the dose steady -- there's not need to increase. The bounce will pass. We try to evaluate each dose on it's own. Increasing a dose during a bounce doesn't let you evaluate how the insulin is doing and could potentially make bouncing even worse. As frustrating as it may be, just let the dose settle. Remember, it can take up to 72 hours for a rebound to clear.
 
Re: 5/3 Lanky AMPS 420

Hi Susan
That is a lot of yellow last night. :-D
Today's date is 5/4 so when you get a chance can yolu fix your subject line.

Also, what dose did you shoot today? Your ss says 5.5u, Sienne recommended
holding the 5.25 and your first ,post mentions a doescrease to 5u
 
Re: 5/4 Lanky AMPS 420

Thanks for the help Randi - think I'm suffering a bit from sleep deprivation. To clarify, I finished 6 cycles of 5.25u last night, May 3. I shot 5.5 units this AM (now that I have the date corrected), May 4. I read Sienne's message after I had shot & thought whoops, so I was keeping a closer eye on Lanky today but he is hanging out in the pinks.

So, what should I do for PM dose??
 
Re: 5/4 Lanky AMPS 420

Everything is a learning curve Susan and it is not always easy.
I see that he was in the pinks all day.
I am not sure what you should do for tonight.
My gut would be to shoot only the 5.25 and see what happens with his rebound but
i would prefer somone else ansewer.

I would put a question and change your reading in the subject line, give a "+" something and ask for dose advice.
ask your question again whether to go back to 5.25 or keep the 5.5 and what time your shot will be.
Also, I believe that when a kitty hits blue in a cycle you would hold the dose for 10 cycles and not the 6.
Hope this helps.
 
Re: 5/4 Lanky AMPS 420, +8 365 ?Dose Advice?

I wuz confused there for a minute.... didn't know if it was groundhog day! :lol:

let's hope someone else chimes in... Sienne is right per the protocol....

Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

Technically, 195 is less than 200.... so normally we would wait 5 days before an increase.... however..... let's see what others think about 195.... tis blue, but tis yellowish blue!
 
Re: 5/4 Lanky AMPS 420, +10 378 ?Dose Advice?

I'm on the fence. I think I agree with waiting at least another cycle with the 5.25u. He hit those yellows and slight blue on the 5th cycle of the 5.25u, which is right when the dose would be settling. BUT there is the dreaded pink wall -- I like blasting through those.

Any chance you can shoot early? Don't do it if you will have to delay some future shots right away to get back on schedule. Do we have time to talk this through?
 
Re: 5/4 Lanky AMPS 420, +10 378 ?Dose Advice?

I can't remember, is there other stuff going on with Lanky besides FD? Teeth ok?
Rather than shoot early, I think if it were me I'd shoot 5.5u -- sorry to change up here. The darn pinks is why I think this and I'm not convinced these numbers are from a bounce.
 
Re: 5/4 Lanky AMPS 420, +10 378 ?Dose Advice?

I would go ahead and stay with the 5.5. Yes, the pinks could be a bounce from the 195, but there is still plenty of room for a dose increase with numbers in the high 100's. That's just my opinion. :smile:
 
Re: 5/4 Lanky AMPS 420, +10 378 ?Dose Advice?

There ya go, 5.5u and paws crossed it busts that wall into smithereens.
 
Re: 5/4 Lanky AMPS 420, +10 378 ?Dose Advice?

I am totally flexible to do whatever needs to be done. I not experienced or knowledgeable about shooting early so you'll have to help me there too. His normal shot time is 6PM PDT and yes we have plenty of time to talk.

Lanky's over all is in fine health (Regular vet checks, just went in 2-weeks ago to make sure all was OK, they said we could do an ultra sound if I wanted to be ultra careful. That is still an option but my regular vet has not weighed in yet). He has a chronic sneeze with thick cream-to-yellowish colored mucus that the vet believes is residual from being kicked in the face (suffered broken jaw & other facial injuries) by an abuser before he moved in with us. He also has a chronic eye herpes situation that flared up when he was dx in March 2010 but has not flared since. His appetite was crazed there for a while, now I would say it is healthy normal. His water consumption seem much more normal & as are his pp's & poops.

So let's chat...

PS Lanky has not experienced any significant weight loss, he has probably gained a little.
 
Re: 5/4 Lanky AMPS 420, +10 378 ?Dose Advice?

Susan
I'll try and esxplain what D means about shooting early.
Lantus works with an overlap so by giving a shot early, it's like give a dose increase without actually increasing the dose.
The same way if you end up being late for a shot it is like giving a deceased dose since it was late and you are past the 12 hour schedule.

By switching up the shot time you need to stick to that "new" early time for a few cycles, depending on how the nummbers start looking. Usually when you need to move up or down a shot time we do it in 15 minute increments so the effcet is minimized. Remember what we had to do for daylight savings so everyone would still end up being on their good shot time?

Some people are not felixble with their shot times so following this way could be harder for some than others.

Have I confused you? I hope not.
D & Libby agreed to stick with the 5.5
You test enough so Lanky is in great hands.

So sorry to hear about Lanky's abuse, He is lucky to have you.
 
Re: 5/4 Lanky AMPS 420, +10 378 ?Dose Advice?

Yes, 5.5u is good to go.
Good to hear you can be flexible with schedule, we might want to do some early shots in the future to help keep the pink at bay.

With Noisy I knew he would keep climbing so I wanted the onset to work from the lowest number I could get, usually +10 or +11. In a way, yes, they are like increases but with numbers in the pink (IMHO) it is more about getting the juice in at a number that Lantus can work better with. It also includes working the overlap from the last shot. If early shots were simply an increase then we would just increase, there's more to it than that.

I think I'm repeating myself but... it can be used when the wall of pink exists, trying to catch numbers as they rise and are likely to continue to rise, starting onset earlier, and taking advantage of the overlap effect.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top