Re: 5/4 Jenks AMPS 266 +5 384 Ugh
I think of the spreadsheet as being like a jigsaw puzzle. When you do a puzzle, you don't have to have every piece in place to see what the picture is, but the more pieces and the fewer large white areas you have, the more clear the picture is.
Jenks' spreadsheet is hard to figure out because we just don't have enough of the picture. I know you're wanting to give him a pokey break when he's over 300 at pmps, but it's possible he's hitting lower numbers at night, like many cats do, and bouncing back up in the morning.
When I see his numbers today, amps 266 then +5/384 - that says bounce to me. But I have no way to know for certain, because i can't see a low number that he could've bounced off of.
One thing that's going on is that we're holding his dose longer than we maybe ought to be, just because we don't have as much data and i know i don't want to suggest increasing unless he needs it. Holding doses that aren't getting a cat into green numbers can create
Glucose Toxicity which means that the cat's body has gotten used to high numbers and you need even more insulin to bring numbers down.
I'm not trying to give you a bad time at all, but just saying that it's really hard to know how to advise you when there is so little data there. If we knew for certain that he didn't go low overnight, i'd suggest increasing his dose. But with these two numbers today looking like a bounce from we-don't-know-what, it wouldn't be safe to suggest a dose increase. Can you try to get a few more tests in here and there, including the night cycle? I'd love to see a +2 or +3 most nights so we could see if he's going down in the first half of the pm cycle. then we'll be able to see what's going on - that'll help us help you!
Hang in there - we'll get him to the right dose!! :YMHUG: