5/4 Hershey PMPS(385) +3(235) +4(210) +5(250)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
AMPS (343) almost +8 - Shot .5u at 12:15am
+3 (321)
+7 (250)

MDPS (277) +8 - Shot .5u at 8:20am Was going to increase by .1u today if PS was 300-349
+3 (172)
+6 (243)

PMPS (385) +8 - Shot .6u at 4:25pm
+3 (235)
+4 (235)
+5 (250)
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey AMPS(343) Shot .5u

How's is going libby on the TID? Hoping you are getting some good numbers with going this way.
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey AMPS(343) +3(321)

+3 (321)

Good morning, Lori, I think TID is coming along nicely. We're still learning through his tests, but will be increasing at his next shot (8:15am) to try to get some nicer numbers. Seeing a lot of pink, but we started off low, not knowing how much to give each time. I hope all is well with you and Copper, too. My eyes are kind of crossed or I'd check to see if you posted. In fact, typing with eyes closed...headed back to bed...
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey MDPS(277) Oreo and Life

+7 (250)

MDPS (277) +8 - Shot .5u at 8:20am Was going to increase by .1u today if PS was 300-349

The saga of the room continues...Last night, Doug was able to sand the closet and pulled out his new spray painter, which he discovered didn't work. :evil: Instead of being able to prime, he had to drive back to the store...Came home and stayed up to get the closet primed. Stapled plastic over the door to keep the brat (aka Oreo) and went to bed.

Jessica said she heard noises from the room early this morning and figured Dad was working. When I got up, he was inside the room playing in the plastic bunched up at the bottom of the door...Doug was NOT amused. He stapled it more, but a few minutes later, Oreo was bumping around in there, again! Brat removed...more staples...hurry to fix a bowl of oatmeal and get started...

Shower in Jessica's bathroom has been dripping for a couple of weeks, but it's not a lot, so is way down on the list. I guess Doug heard it while fixing his oatmeal and decided to try to turn it off tighter...knob broke...WATER! He turned off at the valve and headed to the store for a replacement part. Thankfully, there is a local hardware store!

MDPS came and I turned on the faucet to add water to the kitties' food...SURPRISE! Fortunately, I keep (reusable) water bottles in the fridge. :smile: Opened the microwave to heat Oreo's food and found Doug's oatmeal. Poor guy! :sad: Finished feeding and went to wash my hands!! (smacks forehead repeatedly) At least I keep antibacterial wipes :-D

So, there's the start to our day and it isn't even 8:45...surely it'll get better...

Y'all have a GREAT day!!!
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey MDPS(277) Oreo and Life

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Sounds like my house. As my sister always says, "Welcome to the funny farm!!!"

People w/ their lives all normal and such just can't imagine that this kind of stuff really happens. I KNOW it does! Sorry it all had to hit at one time. Tell Doug that sometimes you have to IGNORE that little drip, CRANK UP THE MUSIC, eat your breakfast, paint the room. La la la la la!!! :lol:
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey MDPS(277) Oreo and Life

I guess it's good he didn't ignore the drip or the knob would've come off while Jessica was taking a shower...probably with him at work! Continuing saga...he was gone a long time for a trip to the local hardware store. Turned out they didn't have it and he had to drive an additional 25 miles to get it. But, now he's back - it's fixed and I can hear him *cough* *cough* sanding *hack* - he's wearing a mask and the doorway is covered with plastic, but I am definitely feeling it! I hear him using my new vacuum cleaner in there, too...it'll never be the same... :YMSIGH: Oh, well, at least the room is progressing...

Don't you just love how some people seem to have it 'together?' I actually had a friend who told me she always wondered how I had it so 'together' - I almost wet myself!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey MDPS(277) Oreo and Life

I'm sorry you're having such a rough start to the day but I am taking some comfort in the fact that other people have days like that too, NOT JUST ME!! :lol:
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey MDPS(277) +3(172)

Numbers are looking really good. Yellow preshots... you know how I feel about them! :mrgreen:

Hoping the schedule is working out okay for you, and that you're now able to get more than 3 winks of sleep at a time. ;-)

I hope when you say "your new vacuumn..." you're not talking about a household vac that you hope to use again to clean your house - being used on sheetrock dust. If so.... :o ... did I ever tell you about my brother-in-law's personal washing machine? It was my sister's brand new washing machine until Terry washed his jeans w/ a pocket full of nails... His tool budget bought her a new "new" washing machine, and he ultimately got some major repairs done and was able to use it - for all his "shop" clothes. Sheetrock dust is REALLY bad on household vacs. Hoping you meant your new "shop vac" that doesn't have a lot of unwashable parts or too many things "under the hood"! You'll definitely be needing a new filter before you use it again!
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey MDPS(277) +3(172)

nope nope nope...WISH I was speaking of a shop vac... :YMSIGH: Think it's going to need a new filter, a good hosing off and several days to dry out...then, hope for the best...oh, well, at least progress is being made...

Electric sander overheated or something...and, when I told Joseph we were moving his room he said, 'as long as I can get the same carpet' (less than 2 years old and he loves it!). I said, 'sure.' Called today and he said it was discontinued in March...ugh...He said to tell Joseph this new carpet (yet to be picked out!) will be even better...going in today or tomorrow to see if we can match a swatch to something else...ALWAYS something...
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey MDPS(277) +3(172) +6(243)

+6 (243)

Well, that blue was short-lived, but I'll take a yellow...just hoping he levels off and doesn't decide he'd like to visit the moon
July-4-Rocket-happy-smiley-holiday-smiley-emoticon-001079-facebook.gif
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey PMPS(385) YIKES Shot .6u

I am glad you increased the dose!
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey PMPS(385) YIKES Shot .6u

Thanks, Kim.

Seems I can NOT stay exactly on time...I know the problem, just don't know how to fix it. It takes me FOREVER to draw up the insulin! I draw it up - air bubble - try again - air bubble - draw slowly - air bubble - barely jiggle the plunger to let the insulin drip in - air bubble...ARRGGHHH!!! I SHOULD be able to do this by now. No exaggeration - it may take me 5 - 8 minutes to draw it up!

Any thoughts as to what I'm doing wrong??
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey PMPS(385) YIKES Shot .6u

After drawing up the insulin, if you see an air bubble, you should be able to thump the syringe with your finger a couple of times to get the bubble out. Have you ever tried that?

Don't worry about the little differences in time. As long as the number is rising and is in the mid 200s or higher....you should be fine! I know I am NEVER exactly on time.
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey PMPS(385) YIKES Shot .6u

I have tried that - in fact, the other day, I bent the needle doing that! :oops: Clearly - was doing something wrong.

I guess I just need to start drawing it up earlier. Problem is, Hershey is a smart carb free treat, knows all of the sounds plus his internal clock says anytime someone heads that way, it MUST be for ME and can smell the food!!!! I started earlier a couple of days ago, got distracted by the sharks circling around me...put the food down and realized I HADN'T TESTED!! Snatched Hershey from his bowl, tested and returned him. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey PMPS(385) +3(235)

I think he will go blue this cycle... Test again in an hour and see where he is!
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey PMPS(385) +3(235)

Shower in Jessica's bathroom has been dripping for a couple of weeks, but it's not a lot, so is way down on the list. I guess Doug heard it while fixing his oatmeal and decided to try to turn it off tighter...knob broke...WATER! He turned off at the valve and headed to the store for a replacement part. Thankfully, there is a local hardware store!

Note to Doug.....stay on task. One job at a time! Sounds like he had a "Tim the Toolman Taylor" day! You should rent "The Money Pit" just so you know it isn't really THAT bad. :lol: We bought an awesome house 20 or so years ago (sold it last year), stood 10 feet off the ground in the middle of the 5-acre woods....It was built by a group of a half dozen college professors on their weekends over the course of about a year? They would all come over on the weekend, have an oyster roast, drink beer, and "build".... Every time I tried to fix anything, I had an adventure like Doug did today. The guy's name was "Ed", and we took to calling it the "House of Edness". Nothing was to code, nothing was done "right"....but it was all hidden by molding and caulking apparently! Turned out it was built just like a house that a bunch of drunk college professors would build. "The Money Pit" became our favorite movie. ;-)
2nd Note to Doug..... a new vacuum cleaner is NOT an appropriate gift for Mother's Day!

Libby,
As far as the syringe and air bubbles goes....just draw up past where you want, make sure the air bubble is towards the top, and squirt the extra back into the vial. You can't do that with a lantus pen because it screws up the vacuum seal or something. But as far as I know (and I did it pretty much all the time) it's okay to do that with Prozinc or PZI.

Carl
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey PMPS(385) +3(235)

kse said:
I think he will go blue this cycle... Test again in an hour and see where he is!

I think Hershey thumbed his nose at both of us

+4 (210)
Carl & Bob in SC said:
2nd Note to Doug..... a new vacuum cleaner is NOT an appropriate gift for Mother's Day!l

What a smart man you are!

Carl & Bob in SC said:
As far as the syringe and air bubbles goes....just draw up past where you want, make sure the air bubble is towards the top, and squirt the extra back into the vial. You can't do that with a lantus pen because it screws up the vacuum seal or something. But as far as I know (and I did it pretty much all the time) it's okay to do that with Prozinc or PZI.

Carl

Sometimes I can get the air bubble to the top, sometimes I'm not so successful. After reading several threads, I've become paranoid about air bubbles...
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey PMPS(385) +3(235) +4(210)

Libby,
Are you worried about shooting the air bubble into Hershey? Well, if the needle is going where it is supposed to, and just going sub-q and not into a vein, then all you would be doing is shooting a bubble of air under his skin. The air would most likely just go right back out the hole the needle made if you were to rub the spot where you injected, I think.

What a smart man you are!
Well, after 25 years, I've learned what is and isn't "appropriate" especially after really really screwing up the very first "Mother's Day" when I was overheard saying "well, she isn't my mother, she's Katie's mother...." Never quite recovered from that faux pas! After that, the Mom's Day gifts were a bit lavish. :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 5/4 Hershey PMPS(385) +3(235) +4(210)

Carl & Bob in SC said:
Libby,
Are you worried about shooting the air bubble into Hershey? Well, if the needle is going where it is supposed to, and just going sub-q and not into a vein, then all you would be doing is shooting a bubble of air under his skin. The air would most likely just go right back out the hole the needle made if you were to rub the spot where you injected, I think.

Yes, that's my concern. So, you're saying I'm worrying for nothing?!

Carl & Bob in SC said:
the very first "Mother's Day" when I was overheard saying "well, she isn't my mother, she's Katie's mother...." Never quite recovered from that faux pas! After that, the Mom's Day gifts were a bit lavish. :lol:

Carl

Oh - what a GOOD woman you married to have let you live long enough to get smarter!! :lol: :lol:
 
Yes, that's my concern. So, you're saying I'm worrying for nothing?!

I think so, but I'd love to hear other opinions. I know air into the blood stream is deadly, but we're shooting into what is basically just an empty space, right? We squirt 100ml of fluids into it and all it does is make them look like a camel for a hour or so. I'm thinking "air" is not a big deal.
Anybody else have a thought?

Don't know if you know, but I used to shoot Bob into muscle, so I always had to draw back on the syringe before shooting, to make sure I wasn't in a vein because then I'd be mainlining insulin right into the blood stream. So if I saw blood, I re-poked. But I never thought, the few times I shot sub-q, that I was running a risk of hitting anything but "space". The big concern communicated to me by the vet about air bubbles was that if there was any air in the needle, then I wouldn't be shooting a full dose, because part of the space in the needle was being taken up by air. So I just overdrew, and squirted it back in the vial, even if I had to push it all back in and try again.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top