5/4 Chino|AMPS=304|yellow|PMPS=199|+2=111|+3=61|+3.5=59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

It's great to be at an effective dose again, though I'm already feeling the effects of sleep deprivation. I fed a little LC at +2 and if it hasn't slowed him down at all by +4, I'll give MC or HC with his last meal.

PMPS = 199 (3rd meal LC 7%)
[11 units Lantus]
+2 = 111 (3 tsp LC 5%)
 
Just realized I can't wait until +4. If he drops another 80 mg/dL in 2 hours, he'll be in the 30s by then. Next check at +3.
 
PMPS = 199 (3rd meal LC 7%)
[11 units Lantus]
+2 = 111 (3 tsp LC 5%)
+3 = 61 (2 tsp HC 20%, mostly gravy)
+3.5 = 59 (1 tsp same)
 
PMPS = 199 (3rd meal LC 7%)
[11 units Lantus]
+2 = 111 (3 tsp LC 5%)
+3 = 61 (2 tsp HC 20%, mostly gravy)
+3.5 = 59 (1 tsp same)
+4 = 61 (4th meal LC 7% w/2 tsp 20% food/gravy)

Next check at +5. These are reasonable interventions. If reasonable interventions aren't enough to keep him above 50 mg/dL at 11 units, then I'm going to let him earn the reduction.
 
It sounds like you have a handle on things. Have a good night.

I do appreciate the advice! You've had more experience than I have with numbers under 50, but Chino and Rex aren't in the same boat. Since Chino has acromegaly, remission isn't an option, and low BGs usually happen as a result of a bounce breaking (as opposed to decreased insulin resistance).
 
It's more like the green shows up when the bounce is over and you see what the dose can do. The amount of insulin needed can vary with the output of the growth hormone from the pituitary. But no harm in reducing a bit. I never liked a dose that regularly brought her to the 50's.
 
I reduced by 0.5 unit the last time and it was too much, so as much as I hate between-the-lines doses, it's better than having to take the dose up even higher when the reduction fails. He's sitting on the couch with me and I'm determined not to test until +5, as long as he appears asymptomatic.
 
PMPS = 199 (3rd meal LC 7%)
[11 units Lantus]
+2 = 111 (3 tsp LC 5%)
+3 = 61 (2 tsp HC 20%, mostly gravy)
+3.5 = 59 (1 tsp same)
+4 = 61 (4th meal LC 7% w/2 tsp 20% food/gravy)
+5 = 76 (treat: freeze-dried chicken)

Skipping my first dose and staying up for a +6. If it's the same or higher, I'm going to bed.
 
New
PMPS = 199 (3rd meal LC 7%)
[11 units Lantus]
+2 = 111 (3 tsp LC 5%)
+3 = 61 (2 tsp HC 20%, mostly gravy)
+3.5 = 59 (1 tsp same)
+4 = 61 (4th meal LC 7% w/2 tsp 20% food/gravy)
+5 = 76 (treat: freeze-dried chicken)
+6 = 77

Going to bed. Gave 1 tsp HC 20% for peace of mind.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top