5/4 Charlie OTJ trial or drop dose?

Emma Hefton

Member Since 2021
GOOD NEWS!!!!

Vet said we can start Charlie on an OTJ trial!! She didn't use those words lol. He recently went down to 0.1 unit and still had 70s and 80s numbers yesterday (meaning he should go down in dose). I am going out of town for the long weekend and have hired sitter that can administer insulin. Should I move him to drop dose this week, or just go OTJ now and the sitters don't have to administer? I'm not concerned about having them administer, one is a phlebotomist and one is a former army med tech.

Thank you!!
 
Charlie's looking pretty good. :D Normally we like to see a cat in all green numbers before going on an OTJ trial and he does still have some blues. How about trying that drop dose the rest of the week while you are still here. Then have the petsitters try Charlie without insulin on the weekend, as a "food experiment". Try to make sure he gets several small meals a day. Then post back here when you are back, and we'll see whether the experiment made it into a full blown trial or whether he needs that drop dose for a bit yet.

Paws crossed. :)
 
Charlie is hanging around 100 for his AMBG and PMBG, sometimes above, sometimes below. If you look at his chart, you'll see he was swiftly reduced over a week or two from 1 unit to .75, to .5 to .25 to .1 to a drop shot and now on an OTJ trial. Thurs 5/20 in the evening will mark his 14th day in his OTJ trial. I am curious to know what his numbers say about staying off or going back on a small dose. The only thing I've noticed since OTJ trial is maybe just maybe he is drinking water more frequently.

Am I supposed to do a curve after 14 days?
Am I supposed to call his vet back after 14 days?
Are his numbers indicating whether he is good to stay OTJ or go back to a small dose?

Thank you,

Emma and Charlie

Hi Emma, like @Wendy&Neko suggested on your previous condo, maybe try the drop dose to see if you can bring Charlie's numbers down a bit?
 
Hi there! I think it's going well but I am also needing a check-in because he's hanging around 100 AMPS and PMPS, often below 100 in the am and often a bit above 100 in the pm. They say he's supposed to be under 100 consistently before he can go OTJ, so I guess I keep going. We are so close but not there yet, I think, which is frustrating...kind of a lot of work for such minimal treatment needed at this point! I am glad he's doing well, though of course!
 
Any chance you could get some mid cycle spot checks or a curve? It's hard to tell how he's doing with just preshot tests.
 
Nice curve, but still with those pops up to blue. What's your feeding schedule? I'm wondering if we could tweak that to bring down those preshots.
 
He eats at 8am and 8pm for his main meals of Friskies pate and we leave our Dr Elseys during the day for him to snack on.
 
Any chance you could give him a little snack of wet food around +8 to +9? In a cat on a tiny dose and a sputtering pancreas, the snack can kick start his pancreas and maybe bring down those preshots.
 
Any chance you could give him a little snack of wet food around +8 to +9? In a cat on a tiny dose and a sputtering pancreas, the snack can kick start his pancreas and maybe bring down those preshots.
Highly agree. Today I missed one of 4 of tunas meals and his BG read at 116. I gave him food and 30 min later he was at 101 and another 30 min he was at 90. I don't quite understand how food can lower BG but apparently it does somehow. Highly recommend more meals to keep the pancreas happy
 
Thanks all, I will try that today. So I want to test his sugar then give a small wet food meal at +8 - +9 which would be between 4 and 5pm, then recheck his sugar in 30 minutes to see what happens?

He free feeds on Dr. Elsey's food out throughout the day but I am not typically able to monitor when and how much of that he eats, but do know that its not a lot.
 
Thanks all, I will try that today. So I want to test his sugar then give a small wet food meal at +8 - +9 which would be between 4 and 5pm, then recheck his sugar in 30 minutes to see what happens?

He free feeds on Dr. Elsey's food out throughout the day but I am not typically able to monitor when and how much of that he eats, but do know that its not a lot.
I use the Elsey's kibble as a treat and feed the 0 and 1% carb FF pates as his 4 meals. If I'm going to be out later than a feed time I leave out Elsey's and freeze dried chicken for him. All he does it eat lol
 
So this is awesome. Tested Charlie at 530pm, he was 91, fed him a small snack of friskies pate, tested after 30 minutes or so (6:00pm or so), he was 106, by 8pm (usual PM test) he was at 86. What does this mean? Should I be testing more frequently at this point or wait until after a 14 day trial?
 
So this is awesome. Tested Charlie at 530pm, he was 91, fed him a small snack of friskies pate, tested after 30 minutes or so (6:00pm or so), he was 106, by 8pm (usual PM test) he was at 86. What does this mean? Should I be testing more frequently at this point or wait until after a 14 day trial?
Are you on an OTJ trial right now?
 
I see Wendy had.chimed in a few days ago, so I'll let her weigh in, she's better at this that I am. Imo you're still seeing more blues than we usually like to see before an OTJ trial, and his greens are still fairly high greens.

But to answer the question directly, if you want to continue with an OTJ trial, continue to do AMPS and PMPS, and ideally some 1-2 hrs after meals to see how he reacts to food. Wendy may pop in with some other thoughts.

I'll also tag Bhooma @Bandit's Mom
 
Is today the 7th day of the OTJ trial? Like Melissa said, we get pre-shots during the OTJ trial as well - to see how the kitty is doing. The idea is to get back on insulin quickly if the numbers trend up.

Like Wendy suggested, you could try feeding a snack at +9 to see if his preshots come down. It seemed to have worked yesterday, but you want to see if that happens regularly.
 
upload_2021-7-3_17-29-9.jpeg


I've sent a pm with details! :)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-7-3_17-29-9.jpeg
    upload_2021-7-3_17-29-9.jpeg
    40.9 KB · Views: 359
Back
Top