5/4 Casper AMPS 370, +6 323, PMPS 406

Status
Not open for further replies.

CaspersHuman

Member Since 2010
We've been at 3.0U for 4.5 days now, so I brought the p.m. shot up to 3.25U. We're still in the mid/high pink and touching the low/mid reds... Makes me wonder about that 260 that we saw yesterday. Hopefully it was a glimpse of what's to come.

With that said, Casper is still putting up with me so I must be doing something right.

We see the vet on Friday for a glucometer & scale calibration. We'll see how well Casper puts up with me after that... cat(2)_steam

Take care, cats & humans.

-Shawn
 
Just as an FYI, a cycle is one 12-hour period -- so there are 2 cycles per day. So, you raised Casper's dose after 9 cycles (4-1/2 days). If you are home, and Casper will permit it, you might want to try to get another curve or mini-curve (testing every 2 or 3 hours, respectively) in. It's a good way to get an idea of where Casper's nadir is and to know if you may be missing some of the yellows. I'd also encourage you to get a before bed test in every night.

Good luck with the increase. I do hope you catch more of those yellow (and blue) numbers!
 
Thanks for the correction - I did mean to say 4.5 days. Should wait for a full 5 days before increasing the dose? My understanding of the R/R protocol is that it calls for 0.5U increases every 2-3 days that the BG readings are in the 300's. My intention is to be cautiously aggressive with dosing, and hopefully a 0.25U increase after 4+ days of mostly 300's/400's is cautious without being too relaxed - but I'm still learning as I go.

I'd like to test more and I think Casper would put up with it, but feel like I'm testing as often as I possibly can right now. In fact sometimes I'm not sure how long I can keep this up. I come home from work twice a day to sneak in meals, tests, and shots as appropriate, and every so often I set the alarm for various hours throughout the night to try to see if we're missing something interesting during the nighttime cycle.

Thanks,
-Shawn
 
Shawn,
You can solve the mini feedings very simply with an auto-feeder. I have a 5-section feeder I got from Petsmart, and many others who work use feeders as well. You set the times for every 2-3 hours, and it turns to expose an open section with a serving of food. if you are concerned with spoilage, you can freeze portions in ice cube trays then just plop in a cube in each section before you head out to work! Easy peasy!

I can't do any testing during the weekdays, but on the eves and weekends, I have chances to do some curves. You don't have to do them every eve or all weekend long to get good data, and once you see how Casper reacts, you will know which times to test to see his progress. I know lots of cats have a nadir around +6 or so, but what if it's earlier or later? My Shadoe is more like +4 and my Oliver is looking like his nadir is closer to +10! Without the data from curves, I would have no clue.

Good luck with the dose crease and don't worry about his numbers for the first few shots/cycles until his shed's filled again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top