5/4 Brutus + 3 40 fed hc never been this low

Status
Not open for further replies.

steve and brutus

Member Since 2010
looks a green day ....
Fed 1 Tb hc food will wait and see
+3.0@47,+3.5 61,6.5 98, +11 107

So does this call for a dose reduction the pmps since he went into the 40's?
 
Re: 5/4 Brutus amps 100 +2 68

Hi, Steve & Brutus!! Great #s :thumbup
I would monitor today for sure.. are you home? Did Brutus have breakfast? I ask because.. Brutus may surf lower #s today.. Please see what a typical curve looks like:

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: 5/4 Brutus amps 100 +2 68

Hey Nicole, our +2.5 is 58 he ate well at shot time.but this is new territory, yes one of us can monitor through nadir, but,still nerve racking this early.I will feed at 50 some hc--- as curve would normally be higher @ +3, before dropping, could be a breakthrough day.
 
Re: 5/4 Brutus amps 100 +2.5 58 hc coming!

+3 57 so hanging. i have to go to work so leah will take over not feeding till 50, make sense?
 
Re: 5/4 Brutus amps 100 +2.5 58 hc coming!

As good as me -just less nervous.She gave him his last shot went he went otj 2 years ago.
 
Re: 5/4 Brutus amps 100 +2.5 58 hc coming!

Don't be nervous.. easy for me to say, eh? ;-)
Surfing 50's is good.. I would not necessarily hold out feeding until 50 (if that is what you meant) We do say feed the 40s for sure, just not a lot at a time, we don't want Brutus to get full & then need him to eat later in the cycle. Also.. you know your kitty best.. but I would not bring out HC until lower #s .. totally up to you. Baby was carb sensitive so I stuck to LC until the 30s when I then brought out MC .. different cats though :mrgreen:
Rememeber too.. if he goes below 40.. you have a dosecrease.. below 50 maybe too! (depends on #, circumstance, etc) Have a great day!!!
 
Re: 5/4 Brutus amps 100 +3.0 47 + 3.5 61

You can feed a few bites of LC to see if that helps Brutus get on his surfboard. I will generally feed about 1/8 of a can of FF to slow a drop and keep things surfing. Depending on how carb sensitive Brutus is, you may not need HC. I very rarely feed just HC -- usually MC (LC with some HC gravy on top) will do nicely to bump the numbers up but not send them up too far.
 
Re: 5/4 Brutus +11 108 dose reduction? Eyes

you can try a reduction if you want. Normally with a cat who has been OTJ once and has come back, they need to work a little harder to earn their reductions, so we would wait for him to go below 40. However, you can always give it a try, and if the reduction doesn't hold just go back up to the last good dose as soon as you're sure the reduction isn't holding. It might work fine. :smile:
 
Re: 5/4 Brutus +2 64 after dose shave

+ 2 64 we only shaved dose from 1.25 to 1.0 fat. but he is stii dropping early.does that small of a reduction usually make a difference ? monitoring close again tonight-
 
Hi joyce +3.5 57 he responds very quickly to hc.+ 4 coming up.Then a plus 5 and hopefully to bed.i think we are good now.He is getting that dose shaved to 1u tomorrow.Thanks for asking.
 
Nice up for Brutus - Tuscany is carb sensitive too - most of the time I just use 8 %.
Great numbers for Brutus - congrats on catching these lows and the dosecrease!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top