5/4 bailey uk amps 349 +344 new dose! help with neuropathy??

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=116596

just thought id best put on here that ive got abit of a stressful weekend and Monday for my bails.im having new furniture delivered on Monday afternoon but due to the size of my flat ive had to get the other furniture moved over this weekend to make room. so before baileys +7 at am yesterday (I didn't get chance to do the reading before as the man picking up the soafa was sat outside waiting for me when I got home from work yesterday) I had the sofa removed.today ive had to empty the sideboard.tomorrow the chair and sideboard are out but by Monday evening itll all be in and sorted.all this, my Bailey will find VERY stressful!!! he HATES change! so im going to have to hold this dose longer than the 6 cycles as im not going to know whats stress or just high bg.

hes not great today but saying that there doesn't seem AS MANY reds from 4.5u onwards. if im honest I think weve got a long way to go but im going by the protocol and everything ive learned and im sure we'll get there!

his little legs are TERRIBLE! hes on zobaline but does anyone know what else can help?
 
Re: 5/4 bailey uk amps 349 +344 new dose! help with neuropat

I hope the change in furniture isn't as stressful for Bailey as you think it will be.

How terrible are his legs? I've heard that they get better with time.

Please keep checking for ketones.
 
Re: 5/4 bailey uk amps 349 +344 new dose! help with neuropat

I check for ketones every other day.hes a resilient little thing but this neuropathy is taking its tole.he can still jump on my bed for cuddles but his feet slip on my laminate floor and he slips when he jumps and has to sit every 5 steps or so but then he surprises me and chases a fly ;-/just wondered if theres anything else I can help hi with!
48 hours and we'll be settled.he gets stressed about EVERYTHING so this weekend is a big upheaval for him.in 48 hours itll all be forgotten and he'll be snoring on my new sofa ;-)
 
Re: 5/4 bailey uk amps 349 +344 new dose! help with neuropat

I would go ahead and increase the dose before long anyway, anna. He's so high that I don't think you're suddenly going to see low green numbers and find him in danger. we don't want him to stay high any longer than necessary. I'd increase by 0.5u tomorrow, even though he'll have only had 4-5 shots at this dose. When we see sustained high numbers we refer to this option in the protocol:

Phase 2: Increasing the dose

Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.

Of course the choice is yours, i'm just saying what option is out there and what i would do.

Do you mean he's walking on his hocks? like from his hind "knees" on down the legs and feet are flat on the floor?
 
Re: 5/4 bailey uk amps 349 +344 new dose! help with neuropat

yeah on his hocks and theyre just weak.they go out slightly to the side when hes walking so he can keep his balance.its heartbreaking to see but its only developed like the last month or so and is gradually getting worse because we haven't got FD under control.

right then im going for the 0.5 increase at lunch time today.il go to 5.25u. I reckon my boys going to be what you guys call 'a high dose kitty' I just wonder why this happens?
every time I do an increase I always hope that thiss is going to be the one or very near!
 
Re: 5/4 bailey uk amps 349 +344 new dose! help with neuropat

It is hard to watch. The zobaline takes 2-3 months to show results.
It does help if you can minimize any jumping by giving him ways to step up to any furniture or the bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top