5/4 Atlas AMPS 81, +2 106

Status
Not open for further replies.
Melissa & Tarragon said:
Way to go Attie! Might be a busy day for you today Beth! So nice to see him doing better. I hope you have a great day!

Spoke with the vet last night just before shot time. I was going to up his dose last night. Dear Dr. talked me out of it and thought Attie might pull another low over the weekend. Attie's vet is pretty hip to the latest thoughts and trends. He was mentioning there is heavy Lantus discussion in his vet forum and discussion regarding this type of regulation challange. As he points out the cats that can't seem to go up in dose and then go down in dose due to too low numbers, then rebound and appear to not hold the lower dose, so they go back up...only to reduce again....they are finding that approaching this issue from a time standpoint improves the regulation results. That cats that have this issue actually need to hold the dose up to 2 weeks. Or in Attie's case...just about 8-10 days. I have a hunch he is going to tell me to do the exact opposite of what I thought I would do last night. I bet he is going to tell me to reduce the dose.

Well, we sent an email to him this morning...so I'll see what he thinks.

I know for many here this all sounds so contrary. Please keep in mind we've waged this Lantus battle now for 1.5 years. I wouldn't be looking at other regulation options if I felt TR was working well. I just want Atlas safely regulated between 100-300 (vet wants 100-200) and Lantus should be able to that. I also recall last year I held one dose for Attie a large number of cycles and we had good results, so I am not willing to totally discount the idea that the competing factor here is 'time.'

PS. Vet wants 100-200, but doesn't worry about below 100 because I hometest and know how to handle low numbers.
 
Atti, is doing great. Lucky you to have a vet who actually researches Lantus. I think a lot of 'old timers" have had to make slight variations on TR. I also would love it is Tess just stopped the bounces and stayed in nice even, safe numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top