5/4 Abby PMPS 278

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristin and Abby (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Abby has traded her raft from last night for a trampoline today. This is the 1st time ever I have caught her on the 3rd floor. There are all sorts of cobwebs and bugs up there so I hope she learns it's just yucky there and comes back down to sunny yellows, blues and greens. My only theory is that her rapid slide got the best of her. She didn't earn a decrease so I stayed with .75u. I'll be sure she has food left when I leave. Other than that she's her normal morning self...lying on the newspaper and preening.

Have a good Wednesday everyone!
 
Re: 5/4 Abby AMPS 301

Good morning guys .. at least with this low pink you know she has all but one paw already on the yellow floor .. she just needs to move a wee bit and she'll be there in no time! Hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 5/4 Abby AMPS 301

OK, Abby you have shown us you can bounce up here, but back down to the blues and greens, please. Pink is not a good color for you and there are lots of yucky spiders up here too.....I hope she clears this bounce quickly for you!
 
Re: 5/4 Abby AMPS 301 - Bounce question

Never had to deal with a bounce before, so I have a newbie question:

I know they can bounce due to dangerously low BGs and you reduce the dose the next cycle. I know in those cases you can also shoot through the bounce (thanks for the explanation Sienne) and delay the earned reduction for a cycle. So is there any dose adjustment for bounces caused by unusual BGs or a rapid decline, but not to unsafe BGs? I would think not but I'm now questioning myself (likely due to lack of sleep over the last 2 days)!
 
Re: 5/4 Abby AMPS 301 - Bounce question

No, she did not earn a reduction. Yes, we sometimes shoot through the bounce.

Reducing the dose...

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
Re: 5/4 Abby AMPS 301 - Bounce question

Kristin: sorry to see Abby in a bounce. This is definitely one area where I know alot :lol: :lol: They can bounce from (1) fast drops (2) BGs they are not used to....they don't even have to be that low (3) really low BGs. As Barbara said, the only time they earn a reduction is based, not on the bounce, but the BG they get to per the quote Barbara gave you from the protocol. Keep in mind that bounces can last up to 72 hours (six cycles). This is the hardest part for me....holding a dose until Gracie gets through six cycles because she *typically* clears them faster....but you never know when things might change and it might take 72 hours. Hopefully, Abby will clear hers very fast.
 
Re: 5/4 Abby AMPS 301

Thanks..that's what I thought but I wanted to be sure I wasn't missing some "i-before-e-except-after-c" rule somewhere.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top