5/31 Timber AMBG 86; +11 77; PMBG 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

katlady1974

Member Since 2013
so, Timber didn't get any insulin yesterday at all :shock: he was low in the morning and i was gone all day. i had a school meeting after dinner lastnight and it ran real late. i tested him before i left at about +10 and he was up a bit, as expected. i tested him when i got home, which was 3 hours past when he normally gets his shot (so 5 hours later) and he was basically the exact same. since i couldn't keep up that delayed schedule today i didn't shoot him lastnight. i just tested him this morning and he's gone DOWN from lastnight. from 104 to 86! so i'm REALLY not prepared to shoot him now as i'll be gone again all day.

i'm wondering what's going on? he's now not had insulin since wednesday PM- i expected his numbers to shoot up. and now they're going down?? looking for insight and advise please!! :shock: :shock: :shock:
 
Re: 5/31 Timber AMBG 86- help!

Maria

It can take up to six cycles (and maybe more in some cats) to see the effects of a higher dose (the 1u dose) diminish although with that many skipped shots, I would have expected to see his numbers rising a bit.

Let's see what he does today. We normally recommend you don't just stop insulin at such a high dose as 0.75u. We want to keep him on insulin as long as possible to ensure that when he is ready to go off the juice, it is successful.

What time do you shoot (please include the time zone). If you are around to get a +6, great....just to see how low he might be going mid cycle without an insulin shot. If you aren't, it's ok but a +10 will definitely help as we go into his PMPS tonight.

I'm thinking he might start trending up and we will just need to give him a bit more insulin; he might continue down the dosing scale quickly. But let's see.
 
Re: 5/31 Timber AMBG 86- help!

ok. I can't do a +6 today but i can do a +10. i test around 830pm (mountain time zone). i figured he's still on too high dose to just stop, but still really worried about giving him insulin if his preshot is pretty low and i'm not around. i'll post later! thanks!! :-D
 
Re: 5/31 Timber AMBG 86; +11 77- ??????

well, i didn't quite get home in time for a +10. i got a +11 instead, and he's down again from this morning- with no insulin since wednesday pm. i'll test again in an hour, but not sure what to do?? i'm really not up for pulling an all-nighter to fight with him to eat in order to pull his BG up above 50 (again!). help!!! :dizcat
 
Re: 5/31 Timber AMBG 86; +11 77- ??????

Since you have not given him any insulin since Wednesday, a hypo is not possible. No reason for you to pull an all nighter.

Although, we do throw great pajama parties here! ;-)
 
Re: 5/31 Timber AMBG 86; +11 77- ??????

hmmmm, if Timber was mine I think I would let this ride tonight and see what happens.

Instead of shooting, try feeding mini meals every few hours while you're awake. That should be easier on the pancreas than big meals and maybe it can keep working on its own.
 
Re: 5/31 Timber AMBG 86; +11 77- ??????

how is in not possible? i don't understand.if he's at a normal level and i give him insulin, lately his pattern is to drop below 50.
 
Re: 5/31 Timber AMBG 86; +11 77- ??????

i've noticed that he's not been eating as much the past few days either. definitely more grazing.
 
Re: 5/31 Timber AMBG 86; +11 77- ??????

I guess I don't understand the question. It looks "right now" that he might not need the insulin.

You made some big changes with him....dropping the dry food. It's possible doing that, and a little insulin, was enough. I agree with Libby that I'd hold off on the insulin as long as he is giving you these great, normal numbers.

Exciting!
 
Re: 5/31 Timber AMBG 86; +11 77- ??????

sorry! my question is basically- should i give him any insulin or not! :lol:
 
Re: 5/31 Timber AMBG 86; +11 77- ??????

No insulin for now.

Keep testing the BG numbers twice a day. AMBG and PMPG.
14 days of numbers from 50-130, with the majority of those numbers below 100 and your cat can be considered OTJ.
It may be that the insulin depot is still draining and the BG's will go back up in a day or two.

For now, no insulin.
 
Re: 5/31 Timber AMBG 86; +11 77- ??????

Deb & Wink said:
Keep testing the BG numbers twice a day. AMBG and PMPG. 14 days of numbers from 50-130, with the majority of those numbers below 100 and your cat can be considered OTJ.
Let's not put the cart before the horse. Like Marje indicated, there have been quite a few changes and Timber's pancreas may have decided to come back on line. Libby's suggestion to feed several small meals a day is a good one! When you feed, the pancreas is stimulated to produce it's own insulin. This is keeping Timber's numbers in a normal, healing range. In fact, it sounds like Timber is one smart kitty and is grazing -- it's a way to keep his BG stable. I would get some random spot checks over the weekend so you know what's happening at various points in the cycle. It will also give you an early warning should Timber need a bit of insulin to help his pancreas. But for now, if he's staying in these kind of numbers, hold off on the insulin.
 
Re: 5/31 Timber AMBG 86; +11 77; PMPS 70

thanks everyone!! :-D :-D :-D i tested him at PMBG at he's at 70. so i fed him and he ate a little bit and is now laying on my foot! :lol:

so, at what point do I start the insulin again? what numbers? anything over 130? or into the yellow?
 
I would play it by ear for the next couple of days. If the numbers start to trend up, post and we'll help you keep an eye on the trend. Ok?

:mrgreen:
 
One of the ways you can tell if his pancreas is working is, for instance, test him and then feed him. Test him about three hours later and see if his BG is less than before. If it is, his pancreas is working.
 
perfect, thanks! :-D i'll try that tomorrow. i fed him as usual tonight and he's been grazing throughout the evening. i just got him at +2 and he's gone up to 91, though i know he's been eating over the last hour. so i'll feed him in the morning but not leave the dish down for him to graze on! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top