5/31 Taco AMPS 420 +5 284!

Blerg. His +10 number is 527. Sigh.
I gave him a new kind of food today though, 2 hours before his +10 test. Still Friskies Pate but it's the stuff that says "extra gravy" - I just wanted new flavors. The protein is low (8%) but everything else looked fine. I'm gonna stay away from it for now I guess.
 
Hi Brandi

Honestly, if he were mine and you see no yellow tonight, I’d increase his dose tomorrow by 0.25u or you can also wait three more cycles and increase a.m. cycle 6/2 by 0.5u if you only see the one yellow. We need to get him out of these higher numbers as soon as safely possible.

He wasn’t making any headway at 2.5u of Novolin so I would not have dropped back the Lantus dose; let’s see if we can’t get him doing a little better :)

edited to add: I just looked back at when he switched and saw Wendy also suggested you start at 2.5u but you started at 1u and then Chris recommended you bump up to 2u. I still would have bumped straight up from 1u to 2.5u but that is just for future info.
 
Last edited:
Hi Brandi

Honestly, if he were mine and you see no yellow tonight, I’d increase his dose tomorrow by 0.25u or you can also wait three more cycles and increase a.m. cycle 6/2 by 0.5u if you only see the one yellow. We need to get him out of these higher numbers as soon as safely possible.

He wasn’t making any headway at 2.5u of Novolin so I would not have dropped back the Lantus dose; let’s see if we can’t get him doing a little better :)

edited to add: I just looked back at when he switched and saw Wendy also suggested you start at 2.5u. I’m not sure why Chris recommended 2u but it was too low of a starting dose for him. Let’s see if we can make some ground.

Thank you Marje, I appreciate your input and agree with you. I will test more tonight and see how he does. I think I went with Chris's suggestion because I was really nervous about switching insulin. I am pretty new to all this. Lol. But I'm learning so much very quickly!!
Should I be regulating his food more right now and paying attention to test times (I know to do 2 hour fasts before AMPS and PMPS but I'm wondering about the tests in between)? He was soooo skinny when he got diagnosed so it was a free for all in the beginning and he ate a ton. He has pretty much gained all of his weight back though. I know a lot of people just feed during shot time. IDK if he could do that though. Lol. He definitely likes his snacks.
 
Don't worry about food given between preshot and +10, just try to get into some regular feeding program for now. Ideally you'd feed the majority of his carbs before nadir, when the insulin is stronger. Feeding after than can shorten duration and give higher preshot numbers. Most of us give several mini meals per cycles. It's easier on the healing pancreas than a pile of food at once. Human diabetics do the same.
 
Thank you Marje, I appreciate your input and agree with you. I will test more tonight and see how he does. I think I went with Chris's suggestion because I was really nervous about switching insulin. I am pretty new to all this. Lol. But I'm learning so much very quickly!!
Should I be regulating his food more right now and paying attention to test times (I know to do 2 hour fasts before AMPS and PMPS but I'm wondering about the tests in between)? He was soooo skinny when he got diagnosed so it was a free for all in the beginning and he ate a ton. He has pretty much gained all of his weight back though. I know a lot of people just feed during shot time. IDK if he could do that though. Lol. He definitely likes his snacks.
You’re welcome! Many members feed mini meals and it’s individualized. Right now, just split his food for one cycle into 2-3 portions and feed before nadir. Then we can see how he does and whether it needs adjustment.
 
I couldn't find the Friskies Pate with "Extra Gravy" . Do you know the carb count on this?

Here is the catfood database for future reference. https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php

No, it's not on the database. I posted in the Facebook group and people said it was fine as long as it was still pate. The only thing difference on the label is the protein, which is a bit lower. I posted the label and people replied that the carb count still seemed okay. IDK if his high number was the result of that food but I'm gonna hold off on giving it to him for a while. I have 12 cans of it so I might try again in a few weeks.
 
Back
Top