? 5/31 SHEBA PMPS 88 +4.5 43; +5 94; +6 97; +7 88; +8 94; +9 117. AMPS 209;+4 308;+7.5 277 ?dose PMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...0-8-160-10-108-pmps-88-2-56-3-65-4-43.138660/

PMPS 88
+2 56
+3.5 65
+4.5 43

I have given Sheba honey at +2 and honey and MC food at +3.5 and +4.5
This is a really strong cycle and I am struggling to keep her numbers up.
I am concerned about the insulin dose in the morning.
I have just noticed @julie & punkin (ga) is around. I wonder if you could have a look for me please Julie as I am a bit concerned this might still be too much insulin for Sheba.
ETA. +5 94
I did give her a good helping of 16 carb and a good drop of honey...might have been a bit heavy handed:rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
WOW

Even with the slashed back dose last night and the reduced dose the last two shots Sheba is struggling to keep up there. I can't see this being a carry over from the depot by this point. She may need another reduction, but I am not experienced enough to make that call.
 
I think part of the cause of low numbers is that Sheba is zooming down from the HI. That can make them go down faster and lower. You may want to consider giving another reduced dose in the morning and then if she gets back on track, and you don't have to work hard to bring her up tomorrow, go back to the current dose. Of course, cats can earn reducies quickly. Let's see what more experienced people say.
 
What a nice problem to have.:):banghead: Since you tried to lessen the depot with the lower dose followed by a decrease and you are fighting so hard to keep her up, I would think a reduction would be worth a try. I'm not always right. Carla posted while I was with good ideas as well. Let's see what Julie, Marje, Wendy, or another pro has to say. On the bright side how good she is doing!
 
Hi Bron! Sorry - i've been editing a post on acromegaly for the past couple of hours and didn't even see the notification.

I think you should go with another significantly reduced dose in the morning to try to drain the depot a little more. Perhaps something like the 4u dose again. I do think this is very possibly still depot action from the 6.25u dose. It's only been 3 cycles since the 6.25u, although there was the reduced dose in there which *should* have drained the depot some.

So . . . I can think of a couple of options. You could stick with this 5.75u again and see if she goes below 50 once more on it - then I would think the 5.75u is definitely too high. Or you could go ahead and reduce one more time, perhaps to 5.25u, knowing that these reductions might be too close together and the reduction might not hold. I think I'd make the decision based upon how things go during your day cycle today.

Let's see if anyone else has a 2 cents worth to throw in!

edited to add - i do agree with Carla that this is probably a "worse" cycle because it is a bounce-clearing one.
 
Hi Bron! Sorry - i've been editing a post on acromegaly for the past couple of hours and didn't even see the notification.

I think you should go with another significantly reduced dose in the morning to try to drain the depot a little more. Perhaps something like the 4u dose again. I do think this is very possibly still depot action from the 6.25u dose. It's only been 3 cycles since the 6.25u, although there was the reduced dose in there which *should* have drained the depot some.

So . . . I can think of a couple of options. You could stick with this 5.75u again and see if she goes below 50 once more on it - then I would think the 5.75u is definitely too high. Or you could go ahead and reduce one more time, perhaps to 5.25u, knowing that these reductions might be too close together and the reduction might not hold. I think I'd make the decision based upon how things go during your day cycle today.

Let's see if anyone else has a 2 cents worth to throw in!

edited to add - i do agree with Carla that this is probably a "worse" cycle because it is a bounce-clearing one.

Thanks Julie for answering. And thanks also Elise, Carla and Mary Ann.
It is 3 am here.....sleeping in between tests. I'm not game to leave her more than an hour because I don't know what she will do next. Her numbers are great, but it is a bit nerve wracking when it unexpectedly drops below 50. I don't mind under 50, I just worry I will miss it when she is like this.

Call me fanciful, but I noticed a change in her a couple of days ago...can't put my finger on it. She just seems different somehow....more active.....more alert...hard to explain.

I really appreciate all your input. I would be lost without it.
So at this point I will do as you suggest and wait and see if anyone else comments, but I like your suggestions Julie of another significantly reduced dose in the morning and then see how she goes during the day...I think at this point I also like the idea of going down to 5.25 and seeing how she fares on that. But I will be guided by Team Sheba.
I will check in next time I test. Many Thanks:):bighug:
 
I've heard many people comment that when their cat goes all green, back into normal non-diabetic cat blood sugar range, the cat begins to act like they "used to" when they were younger and pre-diabetic. Maybe that's what's going on with Sheba!

Sleep well for the next 48 minutes. ;)
 
you were supposed to be asleep, not checking her condo and liking the posts! ;):p
Caught!
What's a girl supposed to do if she can't sleep!:cool::joyful:
I usually have no trouble falling back to sleep but found it hard tonight
+9 117
I'm calling it a night. Sheba is in the lap of luxury in front of the fire with her auto feeder nearby so I am going to try and get some sleep with what is left of the night - 4.30am
 
Good morning,
I couldn't believe it was morning when the alarm went off. I will try and go btb later and get some more sleep.
AMPS 209
I have given Sheba the one off reduced dose of 4.25 units to help reduce the depot as suggested by Julie.
Hope everyone is having a good day wherever you are:)
Vines to all kitties in need
 
Last edited:
BOING!!!
cat_rebound.jpg
 
And the bounce begins.

+4 308
+7.5 277
Looks like she might be on the slide again back down the slippery slope.
Just checking in about the dose for PMPS. I have no real idea so I will leave it up to you guys.
Just wanted to add though that if you can't decide either way...I would be happy just to go down .25 as it would then go to the half way point on the syringe. We don't have half unit markings here in Aus and the while the quarter unit doses are fine...it is easier to draw up half unit doses. But don't let that influence your decision...I just wanted to put it out there
Thanks for all your time and effort. I know how busy you all are helping so many of us.:):bighug:
 
So . . . I can think of a couple of options. You could stick with this 5.75u again and see if she goes below 50 once more on it - then I would think the 5.75u is definitely too high. Or you could go ahead and reduce one more time, perhaps to 5.25u, knowing that these reductions might be too close together and the reduction might not hold. I think I'd make the decision based upon how things go during your day cycle today.
Or you could try a 5.5 in the middle and see how it goes. Maybe see what she's like at PMPS time. Of course, if you need the sleep, try lower. ;)
 
You might want to get a +11 or +11.5 and then decide Bron....it looks like she's breaking that bounce (like she did yesterday) and it might influence the decision.

If you want to try the 5.5 tonight, I don't see any reason why not (as long as you're able and willing to pull an all nighter if necessary!) I totally understand wanting to do half units instead of quarter or three-quarter

@Vyktors Mum is usually around about your PMPS time
 
Just popping by to see what's happened since I last checked in. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top