5/31 Pixie 0.1u PMPS=79, +3.5=65

Status
Not open for further replies.

caringcdn

Member Since 2014
Good Morning ~O) ~O) ~O) ,

We're very lucky again today as we wake up to beautiful sunshine, birds chirping and green everywhere - sometimes life can be so glorious!

Yesterday afternoon, I treated Pixie with subQ fluids and all his meds for pancreatitis, including pain relief - Bupe. By PMPS, I had a totally different cat - he was vocalizing, moving around in the house, hungrier and alert. I guess his low BG numbers gave me a false sense that everything was fine with Pixie but I know now, I can't take that for granted. So what I have to figure out is what, in particular, in his medication protocol helped him feel so much better or perhaps it was everything in combination. This is my task for the next week - I certainly don't want to under- or over-medicate Pixie but I certainly don't want to see him so lethargic, unable to vocalize except a pathetic little meow.

I wish everyone a fabulous weekend and healing vines to anyone that needs them.

Anne
Yesterday's condo
 
Re: 5/31 Pixie 0.1u AMPS=88, +1.5=86, +3=83, +6=77

looking good pixie!

i'm hoping he'll stay on this dose for at least a week - take your time with the dose decreases. We know that giving his pancreas support as long as possible will help him have a strong start to OTJ. it's in sight! You must be so excited!

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
Re: 5/31 Pixie 0.1u AMPS=88, +1.5=86, +3=83, +6=77, +7=83

Great looking cycle today for such a small dose. Go Pixie! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

We say here that a cat is much more than their numbers. The WCR (whole cat report) or 5 P's (peeing, pooing, purring, playing, preening) tell so much about how the cat is doing that only you can see.

Have a great day Anne! Sunny and green here too. :-D
 
Re: 5/31 Pixie 0.1u AMPS=88, +1.5=86, +3=83, +6=77, +7=83

Oh just look at Mr. PixiePants! Nice numbers and acting like yourself - I know that sure makes Mama smile BIG!!!

Hi Anne! It sure does our hearts good when we know they're feeling good doesn't it!

HUGS! Join our YARD DANCE too! (..a Yard Dance is one that's too BIG to do inside without breaking something... :-D ..)
 
Re: 5/31 Pixie 0.1u AMPS=88, +1.5=86, +3=83, +6=77, +7=83

I'm glad Pixie is feeling better. I hope you find the right mix of meds to keep him feeling good. Nice surfing today. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/31 Pixie 0.1u AMPS=88, +1.5=86, +3=83, +6=77, +7=83

Hi Anne,
Beautiful cycle for Pixie!!!
I'm glad he is feeling better.

I can totally understand the difficulties figuring when and how much to medicate our cats.
Good luck finding the medication protocol that works for Pixie!
 
Re: 5/31 Pixie 0.1u PMPS=79

Pixie is looking very handsome! :mrgreen:

That's wonderful to hear that you hit on something with the combination of meds. It makes all the difference in the world when you can really see that they're feeling good. :-D
 
Re: 5/31 Pixie 0.1u PMPS=79

Great report. What meds are you giving him for the pancreatitis? Great numbers!! So exciting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top