5/31 Mr. Kink PMPS 388;+2 308;+4 128;+5 87

Status
Not open for further replies.

Caitlin & Mr. Kink

Member Since 2012
[Yesterday]

Morning all!

Sister dropped the ball on me, so I am up with 5 hours of sleep. @-) ~O)

Mr. Kink went surfing green last night, and now he he's blue! Exciting!

Just waiting a bit to get his AMPS, make sure that number's not dropping, and then breffis + shot. He's very confused and annoyed with this new "testing at +11" thing, and having to wait for his breffis. Oh well. You'll thank me in the long run, buddy. He's very itchy and agitated today - going to focus on finding him a vet this week. Anyone have any experience with treating allergies with anything other than steroids?

Hope everyone is having a great morning!
 
Re: 5/31 Mr. Kink AMPS 162;+2 380;+4.5 342 - pinksville

Hi,
It looks like Mr. Kink is bouncing from last nights green numbers. It's normal for new cats on lantus. Shoot, it's all too normal for all our Cats on Lantus ohmygod_smile :lol: :lol: . You are doing a good job and his numbers will come down soon. :mrgreen: John
 
Re: 5/31 Mr. Kink AMPS 162;+2 380;+4.5 342 - pinksville

Ah, Mr Kink is learning all about the joys of bouncing. flip_cat
The good news about a bounce is Mr Liver is working!
 
Re: 5/31 Mr. Kink PMPS 388

Thanks, guys. Just wish Mr. Ninja Liver would quit doing his job SO WELL. Take a load off, man. I got this. :cool:

Now I'm off to venture out into a lightning storm because I have NOTHING TO EAT IN MY HOUSE. Wish me luck. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/31 Mr. Kink PMPS 388 - dosecrease?

What do you guys think about a .5u dose increase for Mr. Kink?

He's been on this 1.25u dose for 9 days now.
 
Re: 5/31 Mr. Kink PMPS 388;+2 308;+4 128 - dosecrease?

Hi Caitlin

He's getting into greens on this dose when he clears his bounces so I don't think a Dosecrease is necessary yet. Check out Libby's post today on the insulin depot. Since one shot is building on the next, you could continue to see his numbers coming down lower for nadirs. He's just bouncing...remember we don't increase based on the preshot.

So he might give you another chance to practice on low numbers :-D
 
Re: 5/31 Mr. Kink PMPS 388;+2 308;+4 128 - dosecrease?

Thanks for the advice, Marje. I had a feeling you would say that! And I certainly don't want him going too much lower than he did last night :shock: Will stick with it for more cycles and see if those bounces get outta the way.
 
Re: 5/31 Mr. Kink PMPS 388;+2 308;+4 128 - dosecrease?

I guess this is what's confusing me, and making me think I'm not being aggressive enough:

If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L)

Increase every 5-7 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin

But I guess he's only started getting those very low nadirs just recently, so that's why you're suggesting to wait the bounces out?
 
Re: 5/31 Mr. Kink PMPS 388;+2 308;+4 128 - dosecrease?

You are looking at the Roomp Rand protocol but we use a modified protocol:

Increasing the dose
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

His nadirs are less than 200 but they are normal. I would continue to hold a bit longer and see if he starts coming down a little lower or staying green longer. Take a look at Gracie's SS since I increased her dose 11 cycles ago. At first...lots of blue..then some green, then lower blue and more green, and now lower green.

Obviously, if he starts to go up faster, doesn't get as low for his nadir, etc, then you could increase.

Also..regarding the Roomp Rand protocol....the numbers don't refer to bounces. You have to wait for the bounce to clear to see the true numbers and then decide if the dose needs to go up. Does that help? :-D
 
Re: 5/31 Mr. Kink PMPS 388;+2 308;+4 128 - dosecrease?

YES, definitely helped. Thank you so much for explaining. You're the bestest. ;-)
 
Mr. Kink looks like a man on a mission! just sayin'!!! fingers crossed for you and I hope he doesn't think he should challenge Rupert for the Bouncing crown!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top