5/31 Morris +8.5 106; PMPS 43; +15min 29; +1 92; +2 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Member Since 2009
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15852

He did not eat as much as usual again overnight - he ate a little less than 3/4 of what I had put out for him. I am at work all day today & can't monitor his food intake - so, I gave him a reduced dose of insulin again this morning 2.00u.

I know that Lantus does not work well if you keep changing the dose up & down like I have been....what should I do during this p~itis flare when I can't be sure he will eat enough to support his usual insulin dose & he has lower than usual PS numbers?

As for the P's....surprisingly, his purring is still working! I did not expect to hear his motor running during a flare like this! However, I have not seen his Playing or Preening P's over the past couple days (well, at least not when I have been at home with him!).
 
Re: 5/31 Morris AMPS 97

If you're going to be talking to your vet, you might get an appetite stimulant. You don't want to compound the problem of the p'titis with hepatic lipidosis so it's important that Morris eats.
 
Re: 5/31 Morris AMPS 97

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you're going to be talking to your vet, you might get an appetite stimulant. You don't want to compound the problem of the p'titis with hepatic lipidosis so it's important that Morris eats.
I do have mirtz at home & gave the first dose of it Sat evening - at the first noticable sign of him having another P~itis flare.
 
Re: 5/31 Morris AMPS 97

Gwen- sometimes the mirtz won't work if he's still in pain and nauseous. Tomorrow is TUESDAY, so maybe your vet will be there. Pepcid is the first thing I reach for during a p-itis flare, (SQs too, but we already do those every day) then the anti-nauseant. See if your vet has anzamet. Put in fridge to make it cold. I like anzamet better than cerenia b/c it is half the volume (the dose is half the volume).

Eat Morris! Eat!
 
Re: 5/31 Morris AMPS 97

also, you need to be really careful about reducing insulin while Morris isn't feeling well. If he is not eating enough AND you reduce his insulin, then that can increase his chance of developing ketones. Please test for ketones while this is going on, ok? It doesn't sound toooo bad if he ate 3/4 of what you left out.

Is there any chance you can rearrange your schedule to start getting +11 in the morning? That will really help you to know what to shoot on days like this. You could test when you first fall out of bed, then test/shoot an hour later before you leave.
 
Re: 5/31 Morris AMPS 97

Cyn and Cosmo said:
I like anzamet better than cerenia b/c it is half the volume (the dose is half the volume).
I am unfamiliar with both of these names. Are these appy stims, anti nausea, fluids?

Cyn and Cosmo said:
Tomorrow is TUESDAY, so maybe your vet will be there. Pepcid is the first thing I reach for during a p-itis flare,
Yes! I am writing her a note outlining what is going on & asking her to prescripe injectable pepcid & to renew our bupe rx (& in injectable form this time!). I will drop off this note, as well as his updated ss, this afternoon when I pick up the fluids.

Libby and Lucy said:
also, you need to be really careful about reducing insulin while Morris isn't feeling well. If he is not eating enough AND you reduce his insulin, then that can increase his chance of developing ketones. Please test for ketones while this is going on, ok? It doesn't sound toooo bad if he ate 3/4 of what you left out.
Thanks for the heads-up! I don't have any kid activities on the schedule this evening, so I will hang out with Morris & hope that he needs to pee at some point! LOL!

Libby and Lucy said:
Is there any chance you can rearrange your schedule to start getting +11 in the morning? That will really help you to know what to shoot on days like this. You could test when you first fall out of bed, then test/shoot an hour later before you leave.
I will do my best to attempt that! I just feel bad about poking him extra when he already isn't feeling well!
 
Re: 5/31 Morris AMPS 97

Gwen and Morris said:
I am unfamiliar with both of these names. Are these appy stims, anti nausea, fluids?
Those are both anti-nauseants- given SQ.

Appy stims are cypro and mirtz. Mirtazapine is my fave (give 1/4 pill every 72 hrs).

Libby makes a terrific point about watching the ketones. You might do a test run of mixing some litter with water and testing it with a strip to make sure it comes out negative. Then, you can take a pee clump and mix with some water to dip a strip into... (as long as you can be sure that the pee clump is Morris's and not another cat's?)

You can increase calorie intake with cream. I use fortiflora, parmesan cheese, and other shaky sprinkles on top of food to encourage eating too.
 
Re: 5/31 Morris AMPS 97

Cyn and Cosmo said:
Libby makes a terrific point about watching the ketones. You might do a test run of mixing some litter with water and testing it with a strip to make sure it comes out negative. Then, you can take a pee clump and mix with some water to dip a strip into... (as long as you can be sure that the pee clump is Morris's and not another cat's?)
Interesting idea! I will try that tonight! Morris is our only cat....so it better be his pee in the LB!!! (only other options are drooler who doesn't go into Morris' room or 2-legged kids!)

Cyn and Cosmo said:
You can increase calorie intake with cream. I use fortiflora, parmesan cheese, and other shaky sprinkles on top of food to encourage eating too.
Does parmesean or cream affect BG levels at all?
 
Re: 5/31 Morris AMPS 97

Gwen and Morris said:
Interesting idea! I will try that tonight! Morris is our only cat....so it better be his pee in the LB!!! (only other options are drooler who doesn't go into Morris' room or 2-legged kids!)

Well, if any of the 2 legged kids are boys, I wouldn't be TOO surprised if they tried it.

But yeah. Do a control test to see if you can check clumped pee, otherwise, you'll have to try to catch a fresh sample (ask WCF for tips! :lol: )
Some use a soup ladle, some have put saran wrap on top of the litter in the favorite corner of the LB, and some freehand catch it.


Gwen and Morris said:
Does parmesean or cream affect BG levels at all?
Not that I've noticed. No sugar or carbs in them. And my vet says cats don't get the heart disease we do. cream is 40 cal per 2 tsp, and parm is just stinky and Cosmo is a pig so he loves it.
 
Re: 5/31 Morris AMPS 97; +8.5 106

He hasn't eaten very much today & hasn't even drunk up the water mixed in with his food (he usually drinks that first & eats later). Off to the vets now to pick up the SQ fluids & drop off a note & updated ss for my vet. Hopefully she will call me tomorrow & give me scripts for injectable bupe & pepcid!
 
Re: 5/31 Morris AMPS 97; +8.5 106; PMPS 43; +15min 29 - no shot

I decided not to give Morris any insulin tonight. He has a low & falling number right now & I can't be sure when & how much he will eat. I have served him out 1/2 can Merrick mixed with 1 can MC Fancy Feast. I also gave him approx 150mls SQ fluids this afternoon.
 
Re: 5/31 Morris AMPS 97; +8.5 106; PMPS 43; +15min 29 - no shot

did he eat what you just fed him? Please test in 15 minutes, we don't want to mess around with 20's if he's not eating well.

How long ago did you give the fluids?
 
Re: 5/31 Morris AMPS 97; +8.5 106; PMPS 43; +15min 29 - no shot

Hi Gwen,
I know you are pretty busy right now, trying to get your guy up (using karo??? have babyfood???). Maybe later you can look back at this, before you go to the vet.

I just wanted to comment on the injectible bupe. I use it that way with latte. She is very sensitive to meds in the first place and had a HUGE reaction (didnt sleep for 24hrs, dilated eyes, paranoia, etc) on half the recommended dose for her. I now use .02-.03ml, and that is PLENTY! Still causes some reaction for a few hours. Her vet thought it was wierd at first, but then realized she was getting injections vs oral, or ear cream. When you give it orally, its not likely they are getting the full dose because they probably swallow some. Im not sure the effectiveness of the ear cream. When you give injections, they are ABSOLUTELY getting the full dose. So, you may want to consider stepping the dose down a bit than the previous ways you were giving it.

Also, its very expensive and hard to get right now. I wasted a lot of the bupe measuring it in the syringes either the vet gave or I had. Eventually, I figured how to measure with the insulin syringes. The needles are smaller, so the hole you poke it the vial is smaller, and less likely to drip out as you are drawing it up. I get no air bubbles with the insulin syringes either. I feel dosing is VERY accurate AND you can tailor it much easier.

Ask your vet how much it would cost per/ml. Have them put it in an sterile vial. Mine used a vial they had to mix insulins, I guess. Its very convenient.

It needs to be kept out of the light. Mine is sitting in a drawer in a prescription bottle.

We also use injectible pepcid. I put it in the port of the iv line for fluids (one less poke!). It shouldnt sting, even if just given directly under the skin. This is stored in the fridge.

I hope poor morris feels better.

And gosh, I certainly hope he gets out of the 20's. YIKES! :shock:
 
Re: 5/31 Morris AMPS 97; +8.5 106; PMPS 43; +15min 29; +1 92

By the time I got back to him after posting last, he had already eaten almost 1/2 the food I had put out for him! He had his SQ fluids at around 6pm (1.5 hours before I tested for PMPS). He also had a small liquid puke (I thought he was coughing up a fur ball, but only a bit of liquid came up & no fur) a little after his SQ fluids. He has been preening himself a bit this evening.....mostly around the area where the SQ fluids are sitting. I am still waiting for him to pee so I can test for ketones! I have taken him to the LB a couple times in hopes of convincing him, but so far nothing.

carolynandlatte said:
Also, its very expensive and hard to get right now. I wasted a lot of the bupe measuring it in the syringes either the vet gave or I had. Eventually, I figured how to measure with the insulin syringes. The needles are smaller, so the hole you poke it the vial is smaller, and less likely to drip out as you are drawing it up. I get no air bubbles with the insulin syringes either. I feel dosing is VERY accurate AND you can tailor it much easier.
How much are you injecting? Since I have oral, the dose has been 0.2ml every 12 hours. Are you using u100 syringes? What line do you draw the dose up to?

carolynandlatte said:
We also use injectible pepcid. I put it in the port of the iv line for fluids (one less poke!). It shouldnt sting, even if just given directly under the skin. This is stored in the fridge.
Yes, I mentioned to my vet that I could put 1 dose of pepcid & bupe into the port of the IV line.....hopefully she will like that idea since she doesn't want me giving him too many injections!
 
He has now eaten almost 3/4 of the food I put out for him at PMPS time. I will dish out a bit more Merrick into his bowl before I head to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top