5/31 Mom-moms RAPID heart beat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom-Mom

Member Since 2014
Mom-mom has been eating up a storm today. Well actually since 6AM is when we started our day. I think she ate around between 3-4 small (3oz.) cans.1 was the Newman's own, the other was champion, salmon & chicken flavor and the final one was Blue Buffalo, salmon flavor. I am sitting on my bed on the computer and she jumped up so I started to brush her hair and I noticed, her heart is beating REALLY fast. She also had an extra couple forkfuls of this brand EVO that I bought the other day. Is there anything I can do to make her heart slow down a little. I'm so stupid sometimes like that, I don't want this to be a FATAL mistake.

Any advive?????? :cry: :cry:
 
Its still continuing to beat fast. She is BEGGING me for food but, I will not give it to her. Shes drinking water like she's been on a dessert island for 25 years. Obviously at 1:30 A.M there us no vet available. If only someone could tell me that the same thing happened to their cat and it turned out just fine.
 
it sounds scary. if there's no vet available, i guess i'd just try to keep her comfy and encourage her to stay put - not run around or exercise right now while it seems her heart is racing.

i'm glad i checked in on the board just now.
 
Is there an ER you could call for advice? I know you are scared so that is what I would do. Hugs.
 
I've been scared before when I heard J.D.'s heart beating what I thought was fast at the time. I asked the vet and I think he said their heart beats over 120 beats per minute which about what I was hearing (about 2 per second). I just Googled "How fast do cats hearts beat" and I am seeing results of "A normal feline's pulse can range from 140 to 220 beats per minute."
 
Thank You so much for your concern. Anyway, her heartbeat isn't nearly as fast as it was last night. :YMSIGH: Of course her AMPS was hi. As per the article I read by that Dr. Lisa, I am reducing her dosage this morning. Its in the "man upstairs" hands now nailbite_smile nailbite_smile . Thanks again for your concern. Hope you have a great day :smile: :smile:
Thanks for looking that up Dyanna, I was out of my mind and didn't even think to try that as well. So "good lookin" out for me, your very thoughtful, well actually YOU ALL ARE., and like I have said in the past "I could have NEVER done this with each and every one of you. Everyone brings something different to "the table".
 
I'm glad her heart rate seems better. Dyana found great info for you on that.

Are you reducing Mom-mom's insulin because you suddenly switched her from high carb to low carb food? Unless you made this switch, I would not reduce her dose at all! You are seeing constant HI and high numbers - LESS insulin is NOT going to bring those readings down! If anything Mom-mom needs MORE insulin, and at the very least, as the others have stated many times, Mom-Mom needs a CONSISTENT dose shot every 12 hours.

I know what Dr Lisa's article said got your attention, but remember that you can have conversations every single day right here in LL with people who live FD every breathing moment. We can look at Mom-mom's data and make dosing recommendations based on what is happening at any given moment with her. Dr Lisa's is totally awesome, but remember that this is a general article that she wrote about FD - it is not a specific guide like the TR protocol or like the advice people her can offer as things are actually happening in real-time with Mom-mom.

Additionally, you are very, very vigilant with your testing. Because of that, you have the power and control to keep Mom-Mom safe.

Please, please, please ... listen to the greatly experienced folks here in LL. Follow their advice...it is incredible and has helped many, many, many cats.
 
I had a nice response written out and it disappeared. :roll:

I agree with Amy. Less insulin is not going to bring Mom-Mom's high numbers down. I thought you have been feeding Mom-Mom low carb food for awhile. Mom-Mom needs the insulin, not a decreased dose. You need to stick to a dose. Lantus needs consistency, and constantly switching her dose isn't providing that. Every time you change Mom-Mom's dose the number of cycles starts over. I would do what Julie suggested in your other post. Go back to 1.75 units and hold it for 6 cycles. So your next few days would look like this:

Tonight: 1.75units
Tomorrow morning: 1.75units
Tomorrow night: 1.75units
Tuesday morning: 1.75units
Tuesday night: 1.75units
Wednesday morning: 1.75units

Don't reduce her dose unless she drops below 50. If you have a lower than expected preshot, unless it is below 200, you can shoot the 1.75units. If it's below 200, post here and we'll give you some guidance.

~Suzanne
 
Hi Laura,

I think you need to stop and consider what your goal is for her. I'm thinking your goals don't include Mom Mom staying endlessly in constant high numbers - am I right? To get her out of them, she needs enough insulin. She can't get out of high numbers without sufficient insulin.

She also needs consistent dosing or she will have wonky cycles that are hard to figure out. Every time you change the dose, we have to start the count over again and then she needs 6 cycles at the same dose before her dose can be increased.

Dr. Lisa's article wasn't written for Mom-Mom. She's not looking at Mom-Mom's spreadsheet and giving you personal advice.

I don't see a dose in her spreadsheet, but i surely hope you gave her 1.75 as we've all encouraged you to do.

Also, can you start one new post for 6/1 and then stick with it all day? Some people are giving you advice on this post, some on one of the other posts you had yesterday. It is very confusing for all of us.
 
About mom-mom's fast heartbeat.. you probably have good reason to be frightened by it.

It is very common for hyperthyroid cats to have an abnormally fast heart beat. Your cat's normal relaxed heart rate at home should be 140 to 200 beats per minute. It will often be faster at the animal hospital due to fear. Many cats with hyperthyroidism have heart rates of over 200 even when they are relaxed at home.

You should probably have her tested for this when you go to the vet to have her teeth cleaned and mouth taken care of. Most vets won't do any type of tooth removal or severe cleaning to a cat's mouth/teeth without a full blood panel anyway. If you're vet isn't demanding this, I'd search for another vet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top