? 5/31 Mikey PMPS 428 BOING!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-30-mikey-pmps-218-3-153.138723/#post-1430256

After stalling for 15 minutes, we decided to shoot green. I went btb, but forgot to set the alarm for +2. When I woke up at +3, our boy was down to 37. I gave HC and will be retesting in a couple of minutes.

Here's the question: Do we go back to .38 or .25. Neither dose has worked. Last time I talked to my vet, he mentioned that Mikey needs to be dosed in molecules. I think he's right.
 
Congrats on the reduction whichever one you take. Which was the last one she was on before this?
 
He was at .38. We went up to .5 on Friday night. So .5 is to much and .38 is too little. Yeah, that's Mikey.
 
He was at .38. We went up to .5 on Friday night. So .5 is to much and .38 is too little. Yeah, that's Mikey.

Are you still feeding Mikey lower carb food or something closer to 10%? Maybe if you are feeding 3-4% you could increase the carb to 9-10% and maybe that will help with the higher dose. I definitely think .38 is not enough.
 
Mikey Mikey Mikey

With the 30s, you should take him back to 0.25u but it doesn't work. Mikey needs s continuous glucose monitor that sends the data to you at work.

It makes me wonder if he's been getting into some green numbers on 0.38u while you are at work. And perhaps going lower, but not necessarily too low, at night after you go to bed.

I think the safest thing for now is to take him back to 0.38u. I prefer dosing in 0.1u increments, usually, because Gracie is like Mikey...she's a molecule kind of cat. I suppose you could try 0.4u but that little bit over 0.38u might drop him a little more during the day.

I do think Mikey needs a higher low carb food so he needs to get off his boycott of the 8%. I also think it's time for you to try levemir. You could do it over the summer and see what his patterns are like. I didn't switch Gracie sooner because I was working full time but as it ended up, it was so much better for her and I would have actually gotten more sleep. If you tried it and his pattern just wasn't workable with your schedule when you go back, you could move him back to Lantus. But perhaps trying lev this summer...and R..could help get him better regulated.

Mikey....you looking like da bigger Lil Stink'ear dan me wif dat little stunt dis morning. Mama says you definitely can't visit dis summer if you do that!
 
My though after reading these posts is to feed him 8% tonight, and if he eats it, only reduce back to .38. If he doesn't eat it, who knows??? Maybe go ahead and shoot .38 since he'll be bouncing, then reduce to .25 tomorrow morning? Or maybe just scream????

I am in survival mode for the next two weeks. There are some difficult things going on at work. Once school ends, we can talk about Lev. I think I could talk my vet into it at this point, as long as the owner of the practice doesn't veto it. I can't get my head around it right now.
 
Yowza! Mikey, 70's were fabulous this morning, 30's and 40's not so much, and now for the bounce!

He's in the 300's now. He's so boring and predictable. Yawn! Now if he stayed in green, that would be shocking and unexpected. Clearly, he is no longer interested in shock value. (Take that, Mikey!) :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top