5/31 Merlin AMPS 393,+6/254 PMPS 342,+5.5/277

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Member Since 2014
5/31
AMPS 393; 1u

Oh I screwed up with that fur shot. So sorry Merlin. I am going to go ahead and give him 1u so I can get him down. With everything else that also helps to get him down such as 1) meds, 2) fluids and 3) dental, hopefully it will be ok. With nothing to go by now, it is so hard to know what to shoot. Sure can't wait to get to a consistent dose.
 
Re: 5/31 Merlin AMPS 393

Darn about the fur shot, Cindi, but you'll get him back in good numbers. What a lot of care he is requiring right now - hope he appreciates all the work you are doing. :mrgreen: One unit sounds fine and will give you a good baseline for other ranges.
 
Re: 5/31 Merlin AMPS 393

It'll take some time but you'll find a new normal soon I'm sure. Once the yuckiness from the dental wears off it'll be easier. What a lucky boy Merlin is to have you!
 
Re: 5/31 Merlin AMPS 393

5/31
AMPS 393; 1u
+6 - 254

Ah thanks you all for the nice comments. You all lifted up my spirits today.

So today, I did some running around and ordering online. Got Merlin some more Methyl B, Vitamin B supplements, gel caps, fluid lines, needles and fluid solution bags. Need to try some pill pockets (chicken for cats). Anyone had any experience with them? I am assuming they are ok for diabetics as I think I have read them from other posts. All should be in sometime next week. All of these are more what Merlin needs to make him comfortable. The fluids that I am giving him today tend to sting kittys and the needles are too big. So I may wait to give him anymore fluids until I get all of these supplies in so we can start off with the right stuff. I did give him fluids today and it didn't go as well as yesterday. I got in 50 mls instead of the 75 mls and he is already feeling better. I could tell that the procedure was uncomfortable for him. Those fluids are a miracle as far as I am concern. I give it to him as he is looking out the window (just like the video). I throw out bird seed before I give him the fluids so there are plenty of birds out there for him to watch.

Well...we are paying for my fur shot last night (254 @ nadir). It will probably take a few days to get his numbers lowered. Ugh.
 
Re: 5/31 Merlin AMPS 393,+6/254

I never used pill pockets with my diabetic but my other 3 love them. Tigress has had a ton of meds recently (she had 2 UTIs within maybe a month of each other...put her on several different meds to try to knock it out) and she loved the pill pickets. I highly recommend them.
 
Re: 5/31 Merlin AMPS 393,+6/254 PMPS 342

5/31
AMPS 393; 1u
+6 - 254
PMPS 342; 1u

Will continue to give 1u until he slowly comes down again. So Rachel - do you think it is ok for diabetic to get a pill pocket?
 
Re: 5/31 Merlin AMPS 393,+6/254 PMPS 342

Hi Cindi!

I'm so glad to hear that you can tell there is a real difference with the fluids. Seeing a real improvement in how our sugar kitties feel makes this marathon all worth it. :smile:

I'm thinking that the rather flat cycle last night was a bounce in response to those lovely greens Merlin had yesterday during the AM cycle. Hopefully, you'll see some decent numbers with the 1u. I going to guess that things are going to be a little hit or miss while Merlin's still feeling yucky from the dental. Once he recovers from the dental, it may be a whole new ball game. :smile:
 
Re: 5/31 Merlin AMPS 393,+6/254 PMPS 342

I'd try it Cindi. If it screws with his numbers you can stop but I don't think it will. I would have tried with Gypsy but I didn't know about them. I just looked and the ingredient list isn't perfect but not bad either. If go for it.
 
5/31
AMPS 393; 1u
+6 - 254
PMPS 342; 1u
+5.5 - 277

Not a good day. Probably another high number for AMPS and will probably shoot a 1u however may have to consider a 1.2 if continues.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top