5/31 Maxi AMPS 336//Hold dose how long after green?/Change meter?

bambinaki

Member Since 2010
Last thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-30-maxi-amps-325.230277/#post-2577745

Maxi is doing well.

Attached are a couple more pictures of him and his brother Rudi.

Maxi got a green (94) yesterday on his 5th cycle at 9.75 units of Lantus. Should I hold that dose for 10 cycles from the cycle during which he got the green? (10 more cycles after the green?) And then 10 more again if he gets green again before those 10 cycles are over?

I am in financial distress, so I'm thinking of changing from reputable Accu-Chek to not-so-reputable Reli-On. When Maxi was first diagnosed, I went for the least expensive meter & strips (Reli-On), but then I read it wasn't so great and Accu-Chek was very good, and that's when I had no idea I'd be testing so much. I still have the Reli-On, and I've been experimenting with it. Please see below. The numbers are from 9 to 30 'points' different, but each time they were within the same 'color' range. Obviously, that could easily change if the numbers are at the borderline between colors. Because I'm using R, I wonder if it would be a bad idea to switch to Reli-On. Should I just dip a little deeper into my retirement savings (already made a big withdrawal to pay for Maxi's hospitalization) and keep using reliable Accu-Chek for now? What would you do?

Accu-Chek Reli-On
346 337
338 312
176 162
325 311
267 246
143 119
336 306
239 229

Thank you.


@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie
 

Attachments

  • Same-sameBrothers1.jpg
    Same-sameBrothers1.jpg
    61 KB · Views: 61
  • Same-sameBrothers2.jpg
    Same-sameBrothers2.jpg
    60.6 KB · Views: 60
Last thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-30-maxi-amps-325.230277/#post-2577745

Maxi is doing well.

Attached are a couple more pictures of him and his brother Rudi.

Maxi got a green (94) yesterday on his 5th cycle at 9.75 units of Lantus. Should I hold that dose for 10 cycles from the cycle during which he got the green? (10 more cycles after the green?) And then 10 more again if he gets green again before those 10 cycles are over?

I am in financial distress, so I'm thinking of changing from reputable Accu-Chek to not-so-reputable Reli-On. When Maxi was first diagnosed, I went for the least expensive meter & strips (Reli-On), but then I read it wasn't so great and Accu-Chek was very good, and that's when I had no idea I'd be testing so much. I still have the Reli-On, and I've been experimenting with it. Please see below. The numbers are from 9 to 30 'points' different, but each time they were within the same 'color' range. Obviously, that could easily change if the numbers are at the borderline between colors. Because I'm using R, I wonder if it would be a bad idea to switch to Reli-On. Should I just dip a little deeper into my retirement savings (already made a big withdrawal to pay for Maxi's hospitalization) and keep using reliable Accu-Chek for now? What would you do?

Accu-Chek Reli-On
346 337
338 312
176 162
325 311
267 246
143 119
336 306
239 229

Thank you.


@Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie
Cute pictures! They are adorable.

Remember that every meter can have up to a 20% variance from test to test. While we don’t use that 20% variance between meters, if you, for example, consider that the Accu-Chek 267 could, with 20% variance, be 213...or 320.

I used a ReliOn for years, as have many people. If expense is a concern, I’m not seeing any issue in using the ReliOn.

I would hold the dose a total of ten cycles and see where he is. If he’s bouncing, you might want to hold a little longer and see where he lands once the bounce clears. If he’s not bouncing and you have seen no more green, increase the dose.

After that, if he’s in green, you don’t hold another ten cycles. That only applies to when you first increase the dose and if he drops into numbers below 100.

I’m glad he’s doing so well!
 
not-so-reputable Reli-On.

I never had any issues with the Relion meter/strips. Used them for the first year or so. I've switched over to the OneDrop subscription system because I grew tired of chasing strips all the time. It's $49.95 a month for unlimited strips...we use a lot of strips...

I believe Marje has already answered your questions about meter variance...it's more about the range of numbers than the exact number...all of those numbers are in the same range...no worries there...I'd switch to the less expensive one myself.
 
I agree with Marje - hold the dose a total of 10 cycles. If he never gets any lower again than a 94, you've got room for an increase.

I too used the Relion, cross border shopped to get the strips too. Made a huge difference financially and wasn't that much different from the backup Bayer (if I need to get strips locally).
 
Back
Top