5/31 Marshmellow +2 84, +2.25 64, +2.5 43, +2.75 42, + 3 46, +3.5 56, +4 63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marshmellow & Steve

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Marshmellow her normal rambunctious self this morning. Nice blue to start the AM, hopefully a nice slow drop into the lagoon for a while today.

I hope everyone has a nice day and safe surfing to all the kitties!
 
Marshy gave me a scare, dropped like a rock tonight. I guess she earn herself an unexpected reduction tomorrow. Hopefully I don't send her sky high with the food. I believe I'm doing the right thing?
 
You're doing a great job Steve but 15 mins is a little soon for the carbs to kick in so you can stretch the tests out to 20-30 mins intervals. Usually 1 tsp of HC food for any test under 50 is enough to bounce them back up a little and also makes sure they don't get too full if you need to keep at it for a while and they don't spike too high from it.

Congrats on the reducie - a nice easy 2 units to measure :cat:
 
@Vyktors Mum - this is what was guiding me, I got a bit nervous. Thank you for your reply.


If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)


  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
    (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
 
Good work following the guide, always handy to have around :) most of us find that 15 mins isn't quite long enough for the carbs to be kicked in but if you use syrup that is likely to work that fast. If kitty really hits the danger zone and gets into the 30s that would be when I would use syrup as well and be checking in 15 min intervals but you can't never go wrong with additional testing, only not testing enough :cat:
 
most of us find that 15 mins isn't quite long enough for the carbs to be kicked in

Thanks, I guess I panicked a bit because she dropped so fast. Waiting this 1/2 hour is killing me:banghead:, but I understand the principle. I probably overfed her, even though it was only a few teaspoons. I hate ruining a good surf, she's had so few. I knew this day would come, I thought I'd be better prepared! I will remove the 911, it wasn't a true emergency, but I wanted to get someone's attention to make sure I was proceeding properly. Thanks again.
 
Tee hee hee I think we have all overdone it at times. The first time Vyktor dropped into the 30s he got the HC and syrup piled on - by my shaking hands :D

ETA - It's not a bad experiment anyway, if the BG spikes higher than you'd like you know for next time that it's safe to give a little less.
 
What a great green surf!!

good luck too. Not too low Marshmellow. I to tested every 30 minutes, not the 20, when Mannie was in the low greens. Carbs depended upon what I was seeing BG wise. Hope Marshmellow surfs well for you tonight.
 
Hi Steve,
Well done! It happens to us all.
I am a nurse too and the first time it happened to me I completely over carbed Sheba(pre forum days) and she felt ill all the next day from too much dry food ...which is what I used at the time. Looking back it is funny but she would not have thought so.
 
Hi Steve,
Well done! It happens to us all.
I am a nurse too and the first time it happened to me I completely over carbed Sheba(pre forum days) and she felt ill all the next day from too much dry food ...which is what I used at the time. Looking back it is funny but she would not have thought so.
I am a cardiac nurse, but obviously do work with diabetics at times. It's funny how we react when it's family :eek::nailbiting: as compared to having no personal attachment:cool:.
 
Woot !
cat-painting-aceo-062.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top