? 5/31 Marmy's numbers AMPS-276, +5-160, +7-260

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonimarmalade

Member Since 2015
as I look over the past weeks, Marmy was going nowhere at 1.25, was dipping too low at 1.3 and not getting low enough at 1.2. My sense is that it is important to get her in the greens and low blues as quickly as possible and try to sustain her there. Any suggestions?

Also, I don't think I tell you all enough how grateful I am for you being there. If Marmy could speak words she would say how grateful she is also.:bighug:

She actually jumps up on the bed when I am getting the lancet, the strips and the glucometer ready. Could be because she gets a treat or two after the ear prick but I think that is amazing! She also sleeps with me most nights instead of down the hall with my sister(Marmy is her cat but Anita is unable to care for her now). It is as if she understands all this pricking and injecting is to help her get better. Animals are amazing. They teach us so much.
 
I would give the 1.2 a full 6 cycles before deciding what to do next. Let's see what Marmy does tonight and tomorrow.

I was surprised the first time Neko started purring as I was getting ready to test her. I think they really do know that we are trying to help. And the treats don't hurt either. ;)
 
so nice to hear she's feeling good like that!

I would see this as a failed reduction - take a look at the first post in this thread, and this part off the Tight Regulation Protocol page:
  • If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

    Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose.
It looks to me like as soon as you decreased the dose to 1.1u she lost her good numbers. If she'd gotten into the 20's or 30's, then I think it would make sense to be more cautious in going back up to 1.3u, but she just got into the 40's.

But now that I've said that, she'll no doubt settle in and turn all green on this dose. ;) That happens a lot!:rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top