5/31 Lisa PMPS 366 +3 97 +3.5 83 +4 77help me

Hi. It is scary, but don't panic. Can you keep measuring her? If so, yes, check every hour and give her a bit of food to help her stay on greens.
She did do a big drop, but maybe she will slow down? What did you give her after reading the 97 at +3?
 
no need to panic. She is in good healing safe numbers. if you can keep monitoring and feeding a bit until she is past her nadir, that would be a good cycle. :)
Let us know where she is at +4.
 
I usually try to write down all the food I gave to hercules each day. That way, I can look back and see what % carbs worked well in the past, and how much food, to guide me through each day.

Lets see if the 9% you just gave is enough to prevent a significant drop. If you see a big drop 30 minutes after feeding 9%, you may want to try 10%, but if she didn't drop much, stick to 9%.

if she goes a bit up, don't feed.

In all cases test again in 30 minutes
 
Last edited:
I believe you can steer her numbers using the food. You will keep testing every 30 minutes and feeding her as needed. That way she will not drop too low. Don't get ahead of yourself. Wait for the +4.5 number and you should be able to see her trend. If she is determined to dive, you will give the higher carb food. And, of course, I am sure you have some sweet things like honey, karo syrup or something handy in case of emergency. I'm sure you are not going to need it though. Karen is giving you excellent and specific guidance.
 
You are doing great. You have wonderful people helping you and making sure your kitty is safe. Be sure to put her numbers on her SS so everyone can see how she is doing. :bighug::bighug:
Sorry Dionysia, I see the 77 now. You have a lot of people checking on you and Lisa. Be sure to put her + 4.5 & +5 when it’s that time. She should start going up soon.
 
Dionysia, take a look at the first time Zen got a green. Our vet advised us not to shoot that morning, so it's not a perfect 1:1 comparison, but it's pretty close. I was terrified, but he popped back up after a few tsp of 10% carb food. (In fact, we over-fed him and he bounced pretty hard.) I bet Lisa is going to pop right back up with the food you've given her. Wait 20 minutes between all of your feedings and testings, but keep an eye out for symptoms.

upload_2021-5-31_17-47-22.png


And below is Zen's first hypo event:
upload_2021-5-31_17-55-46.png


Where it says 57, he actually dropped down to 37 later on in the hour, too. We gave him karo, some 10% carb food, and we even gave him a little bit of dry food (because we didn't know better than to give him dry food yet). You have tools. Just keep testing, watch for symptoms, and know that Lisa will eat if she drops too low. One of the great things about a cat going truly hypo is that they will almost always be extremely hungry, so you can control exactly what happens next with food. You've got your eye on her, you've got your LC, and some good higher-carb to help steer this cycle. You've got this. Lisa is in good hands. Breathe and keep a clear head; you and Lisa are going to do great, and you're going to come out on the other side of this much more confident in how to keep her from going scary-low.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-5-31_17-47-22.png
    upload_2021-5-31_17-47-22.png
    21.7 KB · Views: 136
  • upload_2021-5-31_17-55-46.png
    upload_2021-5-31_17-55-46.png
    42 KB · Views: 141
Just remember that there is really no difference between 77 and 82, so she's probably staying nice and flat right now. No need to panic.
 
Lisa --

You are doing great! You're getting excellent guidance.

There is a sticky note on handling low numbers. You might want to print it out or bookmark it so. you have it handy if no one responds to you're needing help with steering the numbers.

I'm going to remove the 911. You've gotten great advice and we try to reserve the 911 for a life threatening emergency.
 
Sorry. Hercules just dropped into 38...

yes a smaller amount as Darcy suggested might be a good idea, since is the first time you are going through this and we don't really know how Lisa surfs...
 
You are doing great, Di. Lisa's greens are not too low but you need to learn to feed just a little with each test. If Lisa were to drop around 60 you probably should feed with medium carbs. Just a teaspoon and check her again in 30 minutes. If she were to drop lower than 50 you would need to feed a little high carb food. Big teaspoon. Also, if she does drop really low have honey or karo syrup available for her just to get her to come up. Just put a blob of it in her food. She will probably like it. They are the emergency foods that are used when there is a fast drop but they do not last long. There are others on this site that can advise much better than me. I'm so surprised that Lisa is going from extreme highs to these lows. We need some expert advice on this.
 
At 77, that's not "hypo-hungry" yet, so that's to be expected. You're doing great! Looking at her past trends on her spreadsheet, it looks like she's really close to nadir, isn't she?
 
You are following SLGs, right? with reductions at 90?

If so, you have earned a reduction! reduce the dose by 0.25 for tomorrow AM
 
Good work today on your first surfing expedition! Glad you were home though I'm sorry it had to be at night. Don't be surprised if her numbers go high later/tomorrow. It's all part of the process. Looks like you did a great job.

Sorry. Hercules just dropped into 38...
What's going on today, was there a memo in cat-world about today being neon day?! because it's a holiday?
 
Great job today team. You found the magic dose for her and maybe being off the ear drops is helping too. What’s your schedule like today and tomorrow?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top