5/31 Johnny PMPS (259); +1 (241) +2 (184) +3 (181) increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
I just don't understand this...maybe someone else has insight. Perhaps a dose increase is in our future.

Note: We only have ~20 test strips (and Wal-mart is out) and so we decided to wait until +6 to test. We'll do a +9 at least, unless you think a sooner test might yield important dose secrets.

Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=15861
 
Re: 5/31 Johnny AMPS (261) +6 (218)

it looks like Johnny is bouncing off of those big drops he gets early in his evening cycle. What some people do to combat that is to take the evening meal and split it into 3-4 smaller meals. Feed 1/4 at PMPS, 1/4 at +1, 1/4 at +2, 1/4 at +3. You can experiment with that, because a different split might work better for Johnny. That keeps food in his system as the insulin starts to work. You can also experiment with the carb content of his food at those times. For example, if you test at +1 or +2 and he is already dropping fast, maybe feed a little medium carb food just to try to slow the drop down. THere are lots of ways to play with food to help the cycles smooth out.

Anyway, his bounces aren't that high and they don't last long, so that is good.
 
Re: 5/31 Johnny AMPS (261) +6 (218)

Libby and Lucy said:
it looks like Johnny is bouncing off of those big drops he gets early in his evening cycle. What some people do to combat that is to take the evening meal and split it into 3-4 smaller meals. Feed 1/4 at PMPS, 1/4 at +1, 1/4 at +2, 1/4 at +3. You can experiment with that, because a different split might work better for Johnny. That keeps food in his system as the insulin starts to work. You can also experiment with the carb content of his food at those times. For example, if you test at +1 or +2 and he is already dropping fast, maybe feed a little medium carb food just to try to slow the drop down. THere are lots of ways to play with food to help the cycles smooth out.

Anyway, his bounces aren't that high and they don't last long, so that is good.

agree with libby. feeding can help smooth the curve out a bit.
i think he'll be back to green before you know it...
 
Re: 5/31 Johnny AMPS (261) +6 (218)

Thanks for the tip, Libby. And thanks for weighing in, Jill. We're giving LC dinner in a four-course meal tonight. :)

PMPS was 259 (taken 20 min prior)....+1 is 241.
 
Re: 5/31 Johnny AMPS (261) +6 (218)

Tonight's #s...

PMPS 259
.5 unit
+1 (241)
+2 (184)
+3 (181)

1tsp of lc FF given after each test.

I'm curious, do you think a dose increase, maybe to .75, is warranted for tomorrow a.m.? I know the guidelines wouldn't say so, but I also know that he's been a bit of a special case since he was started at 2u at dx (too high).

In other news, we need to groom our cat sitter, who will be watching our kitties for a week in early July. She's never done a shot or ear prick, but is willing. I'm curious to what you all have done to prepare someone. We're definitely going to give some training and my FDMB access, but it's so scary to us. We'll be a 2-hr plane ride away. Definitely will give her emergency numbers/addresses.
 
Send me a PM if you want the name of my cat sitter. She's a vet tech who can test and shoot. (Well, she can give a shot. Gabby generally won't let her test.) She's very good and very reliable.

I would give this dose another cycle or two to see if the curve smooths out. Generally, with blues and greens, we hold the dose longer.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top