5/31 Henry's DKA recovery

Status
Not open for further replies.
Give the next dose of insulin 12 hours after the last dose. Make sure Christy checks the Preshot BG first.
Don’t give any doses 2 hours early.
Did she manage to get any tests in during the cycle.?
Or check the ketones again?
Is Henry eating Ok? No more vomits?
I’m heading back to bed it’s only 5 am here. I’ll look in again when I wake up
 
Give the next dose of insulin 12 hours after the last dose. Make sure Christy checks the Preshot BG first.
Don’t give any doses 2 hours early.
Did she manage to get any tests in during the cycle.?
Or check the ketones again?
Is Henry eating Ok? No more vomits?
I’m heading back to bed it’s only 5 am here. I’ll look in again when I wake up
Thank you Bron, that's very helpful. I'll let her know since it's due in 20 minutes. No more vomits I've heard of and his hunger appears to be ravenous again. She's checking BG and ketones right now and will update the missing PMPS from last night. I don't think she got any PM tests in last night, but I'll be home tonight and be able to get more in, I'm quite literally taxiing down the runway right now. Thanks for checking in in the middle of your slumber.
 
Edit: about the increase... she has no idea about how to use the calipers to measure the shot (well, neither do I to be honest), so I told her to eye ball it as best as possible.
Hi John I always eyeballed the 1.25 or any dose that wasn't a whole unit
Yes just go a little bit below the 1 unit mark
30-unit-insulin-syringe-markings.jpg
 
Ugh, she just told me his BG is 118 and his next shot is due right now (it's been 12 hours) so idk what to do. I told her to hold off and come to this thread, so if anyone has any ideas, that'd be great. I'll be incommunicado for the next 2 1/2 hours
 
Just tested his glucose before doing his AM shot (12 hours since the last one that was early). It's 118. John says that's pretty low & I should post here and ask for advice. Do I still give him his shot or wait?

He is pretty alert, ate some breakfast & drank some water.

We ran out of ketone strips. Thought we had another tube of them set aside but they were for glucose. So now I'm calling around trying to find some more locally as the online order doesn't arrive until tomorrow. :/
 
Just tested his glucose before doing his AM shot (12 hours since the last one that was early). It's 118. John says that's pretty low & I should post here and ask for advice. Do I still give him his shot or wait?

He is pretty alert, ate some breakfast & drank some water.

We ran out of ketone strips. Thought we had another tube of them set aside but they were for glucose. So now I'm calling around trying to find some more locally as the online order doesn't arrive until tomorrow. :/
@Suzanne & Darcy just in case Bron didn't go to bed yet
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@FrostD
@Wendy&Neko
 
Hi Suzanne see Bron's post #101 she said,
I’m heading back to bed it’s only 5 am here. I’ll look in again when I wake up
your post disappeared when you asked if Bron was still here
Thanks, Diane. I did delete it... after I went back up and saw that Bron said she was going back to sleep! Sorry. I should have just left it there and done an ETA, shouldn't I?
 
Hello, Christy. I hope you're still with me. I'm hoping Henry isn't giving you too hard of a time getting that test I requested. Did you say you already fed him though? I need to know if he had eaten prior to getting that 118 (how many minutes prior?) or if he had just finished eating it, or what? If he has eaten, then the number you will get after stalling won't be reliable anyway... what I mean is that it will be influenced by food... inflated a bit due to his eating food.
 
Just tested the glucose again (1 hr after 1st test) and now it's 192. He did already eat a tiny bit before the 1st test and more since.
 
Still haven't given him his 1st shot yet... it's been 13 hours now. Should I go ahead and give him the shot? Now that it's up to 192? He got the 1.25 shot about 13 hours ago now (which was early, as previously stated). This is giving me an ulcer. :/
 
I meant to say monitor today. I know you are on pacific time, so it is 1:15 in the afternoon there... so it will be afternoon/evening for this next 12 hour cycle.
 
Still haven't given him his 1st shot yet... it's been 13 hours now. Should I go ahead and give him the shot? Now that it's up to 192? He got the 1.25 shot about 13 hours ago now (which was early, as previously stated). This is giving me an ulcer. :/
Yes. As I said. As long as someone will be there to monitor. Give the 1.25 dose.
 
Can you update the spreadsheet to indicate the number of units given to 1.25. Also, when was the increase to 1.25 put into effect? Can you put 1.25 into any of the places where that is what you shot? Thanks so much. This will be important information for going forward.
 
Now if I could get some advice on how to keep the dog, who is on a restricted & carefully measured diet, to stop being so jealous of Henry's availability to foodstuffs....? Cause her blood-jealousy levels are consistently through the roof. LOL :p
 
I glad Suzanne was around and able to help you.
Christy, you have done a good job looking after Henry while John was away. It’s not easy to just step in when you are not used to it.
John, when you get back, would you mind starting a new thread please as this one has got very long. Thanks!
 
It is fine to shoot 30 minutes early every 24 hours or 15 minutes each cycle. So unless the pmps is low shoot 30 minutes early tonight and again tomorrow night. If lower shoot just 15 minutes early each cycle.

She should stall and not feed if low and then retest in 20-30 minutes just like this morning.
 
Hi All,

John here. I finally got back home around 1am last night (well, this morning actually). It appears that I am now sick myself. I've dodged the covid bullet for the last 2 1/2 years, but my number may have finally come up. Going in for tests later today.

I did Henry's yesterday PM shot on time at about 1:20 AM PST. PMPS is in the spreadsheet. I was so sick and tired, headed straight to bed after that. Took his BG first thing this morning (so PM +9) and we're at 178. Spreadsheet has been updated. Ketone strips are due in today from amazon, and I'll add that as soon as I have them. I'll create a thread over on a Lantus board now that I'm back.

Thanks for all your help while I was gone!
 
What time will you be gradually adjusting your shot time back to?

I think keeping it about 1:20 would be good. It's actually about half way between where it had regularly been (2) and when the early shot was (12:15). I get it sounds kinda confusing that is PMPS is technically given during the early AM hours, but I look at PM as "night" (even if it's 1am) and AM as daytime (even if its technical given in the early PM). is that super confusing?
 
Does that time work for you? You want a time where you can grab a +2-3 if possible and mid cycle tests when needed. What would your ideal shot time be? Lantus starts working around +2 for many cats so if that test is lower than the preshot it could be an active cycle. A lot in terms of test times depends on which dosing method you choose when ready to make that decision as well. There’s no rush to decide.
 
Does that time work for you? You want a time where you can grab a +2-3 if possible and mid cycle tests when needed. What would your ideal shot time be? Lantus starts working around +2 for many cats so if that test is lower than the preshot it could be an active cycle. A lot in terms of test times depends on which dosing method you choose when ready to make that decision as well. There’s no rush to decide.

Yes, I get this. We were originally at 12 which gave me ample time to get a +2 or +3 but slowly slipped forward due to being a little late here and there and now being sick myself, I've been going to bed right after he gets his shot. I'm going to start getting PM tests in due to my insomnia.

Got my ketone strips and they're still real high. (2.0 just now), and his insatiable hunger is back. I'm worried. Here's my latest post on the Lantus board https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...320-pmps-312-5-309-10-298-ketones-2-0.264297/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top