5/31 Dora AMPS 489

Dora the Explorer

Member Since 2020
I continue to be confused with Dora. She started at 1 unit of Lantus and when we finally got a monitor a week in she had a reading in the 70s and the vet lowered her to 1 unit once a day. This didn’t work so well so we split it to 1/2 twice a day but she can’t seem to get regulated. Since Tuesday I’ve been pulling between 1/2 and 1 unit and testing sporadically to stave off stress for all of us, knowing that her numbers would be higher for a couple of days. We tested her before shots or during the day at random.

I know the advice here is to test all day but I’m trying to balance this with what my vet has said - which in this case was test again on Monday (tomorrow). I have to go in to work so we will test a few times today for a curve of sorts but based on the lower, good reading from yesterday +6/7 and the number this morning, which is the highest she’s ever had, what is going on?

Note that Dora was just diagnosed a month ago and we have learned techniques from watching videos. Am I doing something wrong? Dora also got into some dry food last night and the night before. Thank you.
 
I’m sorry no one saw this sooner.

Am I doing something wrong?
Well...yes...I have a few suggestions that will help.

—I would urge you to never, ever skip the AMPS and PMPS test. You might think she’s always high and it’s ok, but it’s not. I’ve been up all night with members who did the same thing, saw their cat wobbling at +1, tested and the cat was 20. Keep her safe; always test before you shoot.
—the advice here is not to test all day. If you read the stickys, you’ll see you need a minimum of four tests a day for SLGS or TR and two of those are the preshots. But, Your vet is incorrect on testing and dosing.
—not getting any tests at night is missing half your data. You could get a +2 or before bed or even both!
—you should be doing increases of 0.25u; fattening the dose as you have done is typically best if a kitty is in mostly green and just needs fine tuning.
—I don’t see anything that looks like a curve which is every two hours for 12 hours or every three hours for 18 hours. Most do the former.
—If you don’t know how low the dose is taking her, then you won’t even get close to regulation because no one should recommend a dose increase without having an idea of how low she’s going. A few of us are fairly good at looking at the SS and having a general idea of what the curve might have looked like but with no tests, we can’t even try to do that.

I don’t mean to sound like I’m being hard on you but if you really want to get her regulated, you need tests. For people that work, I suggest they get the preshots; during the day, get an out-the-door test before work and one as soon as you get home. At night, besides the PS, a +2 and before bed. So six tests a day would give us much more info to help you.
 
Hi Jane, I spoke to you on Facebook today.
Good to see you over here.
Marje has mentioned every thing really. I just wanted to say that it is really early days for you in this journey and there is so much to learn and remember. I see you are doing SLGS which is a good place to start. I’m glad you have chosen a method.
If you are able to get tests in during the pm cycle such as a before bed test, that would be great. And I would go up in 1/4 unit increments not smaller as it is much easier to manage that way.

Cats are very good at getting into dry food. I found Sheba gnawing her way though the paper of a bag of dog food I’d inadvertently left out until she stuck gold and started eating.
 
Thank you both. Her ears are starting to get scabby from the testing that we do. I’m going to dose her at 0.75 and will try to get a real curve one day when I’m home. So far she is staying very high because I think the dose may not be high enough and then if I miss or there’s air in the syringe and she gets less it’s even lower. Everything you say makes sense. Thank you again...
 
Thank you both. Her ears are starting to get scabby from the testing that we do. I’m going to dose her at 0.75 and will try to get a real curve one day when I’m home. So far she is staying very high because I think the dose may not be high enough and then if I miss or there’s air in the syringe and she gets less it’s even lower. Everything you say makes sense. Thank you again...
These Testing and Shooting Tips might have some suggestions, too.
 
Back
Top