5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +3.5 43, +5 53, +6 62-DOSE DECREASE?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Got up at 4 this morning and was greeted by a sweet little purry furry baby!! He was hungry so I gave him some boiled chicken breast to tide him over until his 6 a.m. breakfast time. He curled up in his basket so I placed it on the table next to my desk so he could look out the window and he stayed there, keeping me company, until it was food time. I think I made a mistake in buying Fancy Feast before I had used up all the Wellness. My cat now thinks Wellness is like brussel sprouts while the Fancy Feast is luscious chocolate cake. I can only feed him the Wellness in the morning when he's the hungriest and even then I have to sprinkle freeze-dried salmon dust on it so he remembers he really used to love the Wellness!!!! Silly kitters. I still have 24 13-oz cans of Wellness to go through, too!!! I don't know if any of you saw the sale at Petsmart on Fancy Feast...they had it for 45 cents a can which is cheaper than the multipack price. I stocked up!!!

Today should be interesting with Champ's AMPS. Let's see how this goes since the past couple cycles haven't been anything to write home about!! The doofus I bought my strips from last week didn't put them in the mail until Monday, even though he said they would be mailed within one business day of purchase, which was Friday. Since Monday was a holiday, that means they don't get mailed out until today. Which means I have to go out and buy more strips here in town. I have GOT to pay attention and get them ordered sooner when I start running low because you can never count on people to do what they say they'll do, especially when it's a stranger.

I hope everyone has a glorious Tuesday!!!! Only a four-day work week people!! :-D
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228

Looking very good today Champ!! Yes they do Love Fancy Feast, and it is still good for them...Moonie eats FF chicken & FF beef feast everyday now..Hey, give these kids what they like!!!
Have a great Tuesday& hope you see blue/green! Hugs from us :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228

haha wasn't it sienne who said that as soon as she bought a case then the kitties would stop eating it?

that's a great price on FF - we don't have a petsmart around here, too bad. it's been 60 cents at petco and 68 cents at the grocery store i shop at (a warehouse type).

champ sounds like he's got it made. nummy chicken to start his day, the perfect bed in reach of the bean, a window to look out . . . life is sweet!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228

Morning guys!

oh :lol: on the case of fuds. it's always the way - stock up, and then they decide it isn't their meal ticket any more. At least with the addition of the salmon dust he's still eating it... And yes on the FF - it's Mannie's all time favorite, especially the elegant medleys. Too bad for him though: he doesn't get them often, only when numbers say so. Well I hope Champ decides that the wellness is his fav fuds again. great prices too - I think that petco also had the FF on sale. (??)

Bummer on the strips... and I know on the strips, and receiving them in a timely manner. I've taken to ordering the next lot when I get the order I just received, as you just never know how soon they will ship, and I hate paying pharmacy prices.... :roll:

have a great day guys! And Champ - that yellow has a faint blue glow to it - how about making it official?
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221 - FOOD QUESTION

I had expected his number to be lower by now so I'm left to wonder....I fed him his second breakfast at +1 and fed FF chopped grill. I have a funny suspicion this flavor raises his BG. Anyone else have this happen? I have no way of knowing for sure, of course, since I have no idea what his number would be if I had fed something different, but I think this happened before with this flavor. I'm going to have to keep a log of what flavor I feed when so I can correlate it. Geez...like I don't already have enough to do in my day!!!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221 - FOOD QUESTION

It has been mentioned here that chopped grill causes bit higher numbers, yet this is unproven..Moonie had some liquipoo last time I fed it to her..the Classic flavors of FF are lowest carbs, but becuase ECID they each respond differently--trial & error will work with cat food & surely they could all drive us nutty with their Picky Tastes!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221 - FOOD QUESTION

Patty, don't you usually feed him at PS and +2? If you fed at PS and +1, that would affect his +2 just because you fed earlier than usual....
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221 - FOOD QUESTION

Laurie is right and =2 is usually about the same as preshot so he's still on a good track. Sweet to have Champ's basket right next to you while you work. You get to take "kitty breaks." :-D :lol:
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221 - FOOD QUESTION

Laurie, ever since I started feeding FF, he's started eating his food faster and eating every bit of it at his PS feeding and now sometimes asks for his second feeding at +1. I never thought about the change in the timing of the food before. I'll probably stick with the +2 feeding if I can so I can have consistency in food spikes. I'm glad you mentioned that!!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221 - FOOD QUESTION

+1 feeding would certainly make his #s go up a bit, and the food, too, depending on the carb content in it. Chopped Grill Feast is 2% in carbs, and also keep in mind that when you switch food, they may go up a bit, then come back down after a bit. It takes a bit of time for their little bodies to adjust to the newness of the food. That's what I'm thinking anyway.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221 - FOOD QUESTION

Not a terrible AMPS....and the +2 does have shades of blue in it....hope you see the blue and green floor today! You have been seeing some really nice cycles wih Champ....hope he gets back to the pretty greens soon.

Zoe LOVES FF - won't touch Wellness even bribing her with chicken dust, salmon dust or fortiflora. It is so funny, how they like a flavor and once you stock up on that flavor, it falls out of favor :roll: Zoe does that too me all the time - she won't eat one flavor more than twice in a row - must have variety. :roll: :mrgreen:

Have a great day, Patty and Champ!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221 - FOOD QUESTION

Actually....chopped grill is 4.7% carbs, at least according to the most recent info I can find, from about a year ago. I know it's listed as 2% on J&Bs list, but that info is very old, the food has been reformulated a few times since then. Here's a link to the most recent list that I'm aware of.... Fancy Feast
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221 - FOOD QUESTION

Hi guys .. these are pretty numbers to start the day with .. I hope that you see some blues and greens later on ... funny how you worded the wellness vs ff .. chocolate cake vs brussel sprouts :lol: Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221 - FOOD QUESTION

What happened to all those green numbers? Or does he only save those for late at night?

I hear ya on the food issue, its hard to know what works and what doesn't. I guess it just takes times to figure out what raises your kitty and what doesn't. Leo is getting picky too, he only prefers FF and you're soooo right, its chocolate cake for him. I've tried wellness and EVO and all he did was sniff, walk away and ask for his FF.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221 - FOOD QUESTION

You might try mixing the Wellness and the FF. That may get Champ to be more interested.

FWIW, read the FF labels carefully. I don't feed fishy flavor. Given that boy cats (aka Gizmo) are more likely to develop "plumbing" problems like crystals and fish has been a contributor to urinary track problems, I only feed poultry flavors. FF, either the turkey or the chicken, has fish in it. And, like Moonie, beef flavor does not make Gabby's tummy happy.

(It wasn't me that bought a case of food that Gabby then refused.)
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221, +4 140, +5 132

I'm glad to see Champ coming down nicely this afternoon. Perhaps the color green again before you go to bed! :-D
I hope you have a good Day Patty.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221, +4 140, +5 132, +9 134

what a lovely numbers day for you! now hopefully he keeps it going and nails some green!

we call ff kitty coke- it just gets snorted right up if it's out. i noticed that some of the meatier flavors had more surrounding gravy, especially turkey and giblets- mostly because i would get sprayed when the can opened (ewww.) french face would be much obliged if ff would come out with a pizza variety- he will cuddle and purr on pizza boxes when we have it delivered.

patty, we use instinct and do the same thing you do - the big first meal is instinct- he eats it because he's hungry (and because he's learned to love it) and his second and third meals are smaller portions of ff and instinct, but the instinct always gets eaten later in those meals.

julie- have you looked at amazon's subscribe and save program (you tell them how often you want it delivered, you save 15% on list cost, you can cancel or change deliveries at anytime- why yes, i do love amazon)? a few of the ff classic pack of 24 are on there. i hate dragging cans on the cta, so i just have cat food delivered. i pulled up the search options (hope this works: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss? ... ic&x=0&y=0) most of these have a subscribe and save option, and the variety pack is cheaper than .60c a can. i for one, really like just having cat food delivered and not having to drive, bus it, go to the store, hassle with the other stuff, but i am a child of the internet, point, click, instant gratification era. ;)
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221, +4 140, +5 132, +9 134

Hi Patty, Glad to see Champ is doing so well. FF is a very popular food here. Gus eats all his, all the time. Enjoy Champ's numbers, you sure deserve it, girl!!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221, +4 140, +5 132, PMPS 269

We are now officially on day 66 of our first vial of insulin. It has never been abused, left out of the frig (well, one time for a couple hours, but the house was 66 degrees and it was sitting on granite!), and is still nice and clear with no floaties. I have a new pen sitting in the fridge, but I haven't wanted to use it until the vial has proven itself ineffective. I'm thinking as soon as my test strips arrive in the mail, I may go ahead with the pen. Just in case it proves more effective, I want to make sure I have plenty of strips on hand. I don't know, though. All those pretty greens came from the vial!!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +2 221, +4 140, +5 132, PMPS 269

Day 66? Really? That's awesome. I'm too chicken to use the vial that long. I just threw out the 2nd vial in the 2 months Leo has been on the juice. What a shame, I didn't even use a quarter of it. Today was the first day we used the solostar pen, what I like about it, is that you can leave it out. No more cold insulin! I know some people will prob say to throw it in the fridge, but I checked with the pharmacist, the leaflet that came with it, and the website, everything says to keep it out of the fridge. Good luck using the pen Patty!

Nice blues today for Champ too btw.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +5 132, PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43

Geez louise!! Here we go. He completely surprised me with this. He was just so insistent on having some food. I tried to get him to wait until +4 because he just had something at +2, but no. Looks like he knew better!!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43 - ANYONE AROUND?

i'm here. give a little bit of high carb food and recheck in 15-20 minutes. wowser, mr champ. i'll stay on with you.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ AMPS 228, +5 132, PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43

I'm here but I don't know how much help I can be.
Donny had a few scary numbers, but never showed any hypo signs. Just got damn annoyed that I kept poking and feeding him every 15 min when he was trying to sleep...

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43 - ANYONE AROUND?

I had already put his normal 3% FF in his bowl (about 0.75 oz) but I also gave him 1 teaspoon of HC FF with gravy when I saw the 43. I'll be checking him again in about 15 minutes.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43 - ANYONE AROUND?

mj, you know how it is, most of the time we just need to know we're not alone in it. and a little confirmation that what we're planning is the right thing.

nice to see you ladies!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43 - ANYONE AROUND?

That's exactly right, Julie!!! Just like to have company so I don't have to feel all alone. Thanks girls, for keeping me company!!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43 - ANYONE AROUND?

Yup, memories of squeezing the gravy out of FF cans, and Donny picking that time of all times to be fussy, much freaking out and badwords and stumbling around since of course the middle of the night is the perfect time to toss a scary number at the bean, and then multiple opened cans of FF until he decided which one he liked :roll:, followed by running up and down stairs between gravy and pokes to post to LL since my only PC is in the basement...

And he's cool as a cucumber through it all.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43 - ANYONE AROUND?

Hi there! Just browing a few condos before bed, and saw your post. What's Champ up to tonight? Wow, I was so surprised to see his drop tonight. 43 is a scary but exciting number. Thank goodness you spot checked, huh! Sending good vibes, and I'll be excited to see what happens...
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43, +4 48

I bought cans of the Gravy Lovers FF, thinking it would be mostly gravy. Nope. So I'm giving him a teaspoon of the food with the gravy. I sure would like to know what other people give when they say they're giving "gravy." I'm checking again at +4.5 (10:30 Pacific time).
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43, +4 48

I literally squish the juice out (which to be honest is what most of my cats do anyway -- they lick off the gravy and leave the chunks)
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43, +4 48

i give the food with it because punkin has such an incredible ability to eat more!

yes, but . . . . technically it's a dose decrease, but (and i haven't looked at champ's ss) if champ hasn't held decreases in the past you can shave doses . . . i'd suggest having one of the more experienced people look at it and suggest a dose for morning. if you've decreased before and the decreases have held, then you can decrease by .25. if they haven't held (which punkin's didn't) then shaving might be an option. but get some more eyes on the question.

did ya give more high carb gravy? you've got some time to keep doing this because it's still so early in the cycle.

got popcorn and pop for the late night movies while you're hanging around at the pj party?
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43, +4 48

oh yeah, i forgot to say wash, rinse, repeat. every 15-20 minutes!

i just haven't gotten to say that to anyone yet and think it's such a super phrase! :lol:

you can add a fingertip of karo because i've heard people say you don't want them surfing in the 40's.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43, +4 48

I've been looking at Champ's SS, and he's still throwing pinks at this dose (3.75U) as well as the previous 3.5U dose; so yeah, it might be better to remove a drop or two rather than go down to 3.5. But wait and see what happens at AMPS and for the LL gurus to chime in.

1947.gif


1:30 am here -- time for zzzs. Champ isn't dropping now, so hopefully no suprises.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43, +4 48, +4.5 53

love the popcorn smiley! :lol: sleep well, mj! my youngest daughter comes in on a greyhound bus at 1:30am - 3 hours from now. i have to pick her up. ugh.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +2 189, +3.5 43, +4 48, +4.5 53

I've learned from Champ's two forays into the 50's that he is very carb sensitive so I'm definitely not doing the Karo. He'll go into the 100's. I gave him the gravy with his 43 and 48 BGs. With the 53, I gave him a dollop of FF 3% to hopefully bring him up slowly. I'll check again in 10 minutes (15 minutes from last one). If it's up again, I'll start checking every 30 minutes.

I'll definitely wash, rinse, repeat :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +3.5 43, +4 48, +4.5 53, +4.75 41

Going in the wrong direction so I gave him a spoonful of HC FF and will check again in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +3.5 43, +4 48, +4.5 53, +4.75 41

patty i think you need to give him the karo now and pull him up.

even if he goes too high, it will wear off fairly quickly but 41 is very low. i'd give about a tsp of karo with the gravy from the ff. someone suggested using a potato masher, the can lid or a fork to squish out more gravy.

i'm glad you're checking in 15 minute increments too!

scritches to champ! patience buddy, at least you're getting the good stuff!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +4 48, +4.5 53, +4.75 41, +5 53

He's back at 53. I'm still trying to hold off using Karo, but if he goes back down again when I do his next 15 minute check, I promise I'll give the Karo. I promise!!!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +4 48, +4.5 53, +4.75 41, +5 53

:-D i've heard people say several times that you're better off with hours of high numbers than 1 minute too low . . . and i always think of that. so as long as you're doing every 15 minutes and he's staying over 50 you're probably good without the karo - but don't hesitate to use it if he won't stay out of the 50's. the spike is temporary.

i'm calling it a night because i've gotta pick up the kid in a bit and i've been up since 4am without a nap! i'm going to drop for a couple of hours while i can.

you're ok, i think. i see gracie's up for a pj party with champ too.
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +3.5 43, +5 53, +6 62-DOSE DECREASE

After hitting a low of 41, do I decrease AM Champ's dose and, if so, to what?
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +3.5 43, +5 53, +6 62-DOSE DECREASE

Wow Patty, what a night!!! Hope you were able to get some shut-eye! Champ really responded to that dose, huh? I hope you are able to decrease his dose and I hope it sticks. Can't wait to see what he does today. Here's a cup of coffee for you, you probably need it! ~O)
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +3.5 43, +5 53, +6 62-DOSE DECREASE

Thanks for the coffee, Linda!!!! I seriously think I'm dying. I got about two hours of sleep broken up in 15-30 minutes increments. Today is going to be a b!tch!!
 
Re: 5/31 Champ PMPS 269, +3.5 43, +5 53, +6 62-DOSE DECREASE

Hi Patty, busy night for you and Champ! Did he try to bite you this time? Since you have yet to try decreasing, I would go with the protocol and reduce by 0.25u. Congrats on the dose reduction!

You did a GREAT job managing his numbers! :-D A couple of thoughts....when you get numbers in the 40s, I would try giving straight HC or just a tsp of LC with the HC until he gets up into the 50s. You can give more than a tsp of HC at a time, too. You will have to experiment to figure out what works best. For gravy, I quit using FF for HC because there's not much gravy in it, I use 9 Lives tender slices with real beef in gravy (24%)....plenty of gravy and easy to separate.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top