5/31 Billie AMPS 312 +2 167 +3 131 +4 164 +6 364 +7 405 ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello everyone! I hope you are enjoying your weekends so far.

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119546

Billie has been hanging out in yellow for the past few cycles with some trips into pink at pre-shot. Today's AM cycle is the 16th cycle since our dose increase to 1 unit, and it is the 10th cycle since our last partial fur shot, so I am wondering if it is now time for a dose increase. Unless she has some kind of breakthrough today, I am prepared to increase to 1.25 tonight if that is advised. Just let me know! :smile:

Yesterday, I was asking about rolling back her shot time to get on a 9:45/9:45 schedule and Wendy advised me to go 15 minutes earlier every cycle or 30 minutes earlier every other cycle which I will do, but I can hold off on that until the dose increase is more established if that is a better idea.

Thank you all!!
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 - dose increase tonight?

yes, I would go ahead and increase to 1.25u tonight.

usually it's a good idea to separate a dose increase with shooting early, but i think in her case, today, with lots of higher numbers, it likely wouldn't be a problem to shoot up to 30 minutes early and increase too.
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 - dose increase tonight?

I would be prepared to test extra tonight if you do the increase and early shot.
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 - dose increase tonight?

thanks for adding that, dyana - yes, that's important. you could also do one change tonight and the other tomorrow morning.

edited to add from the Tight Regulation Protocol yellow starred sticky:
KNOW THY CAT. Shooting early or late is a practice best reserved for those who have a full understanding of the insulin used and it's effects on their kitty.

Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir, please be aware: Shooting an hour or two early *could* act like a slight dose increase. Shooting an hour or two late *could* act like a slight dose reduction. How your cat will react has a lot to do with what kitty is doing that day. For instance, if a bounce is breaking shooting early probably isn't the best idea because you'll have a little extra action on the dose from both the early shot and the bounce breaking simultaneously. The next shot is due 12 hours after the time of the early or late shot if you're shooting twice a day. Oftentimes the effects of an early or late shot will not be seen until the next cycle. Please monitor carefully when shooting early. Ask for guidance if you're unsure.
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 - dose increase tonight?

Thank you Julie and Dyana!

Well, Billieboo loves to keep me guessing!! She just dropped all the way to 167 on her +2. :shock: My goodness!! I'll be testing throughout the day and we'll see what she's up to. I don't think I will shoot early tonight if I am also increasing the dose, but considering this blue all of a sudden, should I hold off on the increase? Maybe it's too soon to tell. I'll get some more tests in and will do what you recommend. I will be very surprised if she doesn't bounce!
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 +2 167 - dose increase tonight?

It is too soon to tell regarding the dose increase. And, I agree, she'll probably bounce, as that was a steep drop.
I would test again at +3 to see if the momentum is continuing, and maybe feed her a little LC to try to slow the dive.
Dose threats do work, sometimes.

If you don't do the increase tonight, you can do the 30 minutes earlier shot if you want (depending upon her numbers, of course ;-) ).
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 +2 167 +3.25 131 - dose increase?

Thanks Dyana. She's still on the move!! 131 at +3.25. This is interesting.

I offered her some LC wet food and she was not interested, so I'm giving her some boiled chicken because she will always eat that.
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 +2 167 +3.25 131 +4 164 -dose incre

There's the bounce!! +6 364. Oh dear.

Should I hold the 1 unit dose tonight, or can I still increase?

If I don't increase, how early can I shoot if she is still high like this? Thank you!!
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 +2 167 +3 131 +4 164 +6 364 increas

The goal is to get greens on Billie's SS. I'd increase tonight if you can monitor.

If you'd rather wait until tomorrow for the increase, I'd get a +11 and ask the question again about an early shot. A lot can happen between now and then. But if she stays where she it, you could easily move the shot up 30 minutes.
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 +2 167 +3 131 +4 164 +6 364 increas

Thanks! I'll see what she is up to at +11. I hope she comes down a bit. I plan on increasing tonight as long as nothing crazy happens, and I will be able to monitor her.

I think she felt good while she was in those blues. She went into kitten mode and was running around and pouncing on her toys :smile: Now she seems quite sleepy.
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 +2 167 +3 131 +4 164 +6 364 +7 405

Yikes...I was going to let her be until +11, but she started acting like she doesn't feel well. She hasn't done anything in particular, but seems off and very hungry - she is eating way more than she usually eats at this time of day right now. So, I got a +7 and she's at 405 (that was before she ate). That's the highest she has ever been and her first visit to red numbers.

If she continues to go up or sticks around these high numbers, can I shoot even earlier if I stick to the 1 unit dose for tonight? Even a couple hours early if she is way high like this? I can also just stick to the plan of shooting on time with the increased dose. I'll keep testing and see what she does. I'm just wondering what my options are if she doesn't come down at all.

I have been testing her urine for ketones daily and tested earlier today when she was in the 300s - negative.

Thank you!
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 +2 167 +3 131 +4 164 +6 364 +7 405

Still high - +9 392.

If she's still high like this in an hour at +10, is it okay to shoot 1 unit then? I would have to duck out of the house for a couple hours, but I'd be back around her +3 and home for the night. Or, should I wait until her usual shot time and shoot 1.25? I'd have to go out for a bit after that, but I'd be back for her +2 and home for the night.

Thank you! I feel like I've had a lot of questions today and really appreciate your help and patience!
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 +2 167 +3 131 +4 164 +6 364 +7 405

i'd think since it's really clear this is the beginning of a bounce, it wouldn't hurt to shoot early. Shooting early acts like a bit of a dose increase in itself though, so if you shoot an hour early or so, don't increase the dose as well.

Yes, in this case you could shoot at +10.

Also, when you shoot early, you want to not only monitor tonight, but you may see the effects tomorrow from it. so just a heads-up.

Your next shot would be due 12 hrs after you shoot early tonight, if you do.
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 +2 167 +3 131 +4 164 +6 364 +7 405

your post got added while i was writing, so i missed part of your question.

i think if you can take the schedule change, i'd go with shooting early with the same dose over shooting on time with the increased dose - but it's not written in stone, so if you prefer one over the other, go with it.
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 +2 167 +3 131 +4 164 +6 364 +7 405

Julie, thank you so much!! I will shoot 1 unit at +10 and can shoot at 9am tomorrow morning. I am mostly concerned with leveling out the bounce and having Billie spend less time in the red/borderline red numbers tonight.
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 +2 167 +3 131 +4 164 +6 364 +7 405

sounds like a plan. i think when you say 9am tomorrow morning, that's 12 hrs from the +10 tonight, right?
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 +2 167 +3 131 +4 164 +6 364 +7 405

Yes! I have been shooting at 10:45/10:45 but was 10ish minutes late today, so 9 will be +10 and I'll shoot at 9 tomorrow morning.

I want to get on a 9:45/9:45 schedule in the next week or so since I changed my work schedule, but, one thing at a time!
 
Re: 5/31 Billie AMPS 312 +2 167 +3 131 +4 164 +6 364 +7 405

Change of plans... Her +10 was down a bit at 365, and she wouldn't eat much (not surprising because she ate quite a lot at +7.5), so I'm going to shoot at the normal time since I had to go out for a bit and didn't want to shoot early and leave without making sure she eats something. Hopefully that was a good decision.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top