5/31 Bailey UK AMPS 15.6 (280)

Status
Not open for further replies.

BaileyUK

Member Since 2013
What a day yesterday!! nadir 1.4 (25) thankyou to all who gave me advise and support,it was very much appreciated.
Baileys AMPS today was 15.6 (280) how I wish I had held my nerve,and just reduced by .25 but the low numbers had really scared me,and I got Dyana's post minutes after I had chickened out and decreased his PM shot by .75 if he remains in high numbers and needs increase (which I'm sure he will) how long before I can increase his dose? will I have to hold this dose for the full 6 cycles?
Julie you asked about the acro test,the vet tested him last month,the test result showed him to be just on the borderline number wise,so the vet tested again and it came back slightly lower,he says the test is not very accurate,and that he is sure Bailey is not a acro cat,as he shows none of the classic symptoms(head,jaw,paws etc) and his insulin requirement is not in keeping with the high dependency of acro cats.
What I don't understand about yesterday's low numbers is that Bailey was fine,alert,totally normal,showing no signs of going hypo ,when he first started on Caninsulin,and we were not testing he has a hypo attack at 2.2 (40 ) and had to be rushed to the vets.
Many thanks to you all,Bailey and I hope you have a good weekend. Diane x
 
You can actually call yesterday's reduced dose a BCS (Big Chicken S**t Shot) and take him back up right away to what would have been the actual reduced dose that Bailey earned yesterday. You did a great job steering those numbers and that 25 is an eye opener, so I don't blame you for being jittery with shooting his regular dose!
 
I agree with Amy. If you already shot today, I guess you could call both last night and this morning BCS doses.
Your spreadsheet loaded quicker this morning, but I don't see yesterday or today's numbers.
 
Thanks Amy,Just what I needed to know,I will increase his insulin tonight,I was thinking of putting it up to 3.75 he was on 4.25 or am I being chicken s..t again?!! I do understand that with his low nadir yesterday he has immediate reduction of .25 that would take him to 4 units,my only worry is I cannot test him through the night,his +6 test (nadir) just now was 5.9(106)
so considering the reduction of last night I think we have got off lightly,I was expecting it to be higher
Hope your darling Trixe is having a good day,then so will you. Many thanks. Diane
 
Good morning Dyana,just seen your reply,I had difficulty putting data on ss yesterday,will try to get up to date late FYI his numbers from yesterday PMPS 277
+3. 255
+5. 248
5/31 AMPS. 280
+6. 106

Thanks for your input yesterday,have a good weekend. Diane
 
i'd also go back up to the 4.0 dose. Thanks for reminding me about the acro test results. When you're seeing good numbers you don't want to reduce too much and lose the momentum.

Lantus is a gentler insulin than Caninsulin. We differentiate between a hypo with symptoms and low numbers. You caught his low numbers and brought him up, preventing the hypo with symptoms. We have seen hypos with symptoms but not too many with people who are following TR and testing enough - typically they are with cats who've just arrived here on FDMB. The low numbers are far more common.

I've been trying to load his spreadsheet for at least 10 minutes. It loaded as far as march 2014 and then is stuck - and getting to march took forever. i wonder if it would help to start a new tab with the current year. it's a very long page right now.

the reason i was trying to open his spreadsheet was to see if the 280 amps was a bounce from yesterday's 20's, or the typical numbers he's been in. if he didn't bounce from getting into the 20's, that may indicate that he's used to some mighty low numbers. Many cats will bounce from any range they aren't used to. I just wanted to raise that question.

If this isn't a bounce, then the 3.75 dose might be safer. without being able to see the spreadsheet, i can't tell if it is or not.
 
Hello Julie,thanks for checking in on us.Baileys ss is being temperamental,I agree we need to reduce it,but as I cannot add to his ss from my iPad I have to ask my son to take his numbers down and add them from his laptop,hopefully that will be done soon,will you please keep on eye on things and let me know your opinion.I have given him 3.75 tonight (his PMPS was 11(198) was expecting it to be higher, that is in the range of his PMPS when he was on 4.25 so thought it best to err on the side of caution,hope this is not going to increase his numbers,as he has been doing so well recently,but yesterday was scary,
am always worried of what he is up to during the night as you know I can only test up to +4.

Have a good weekend. Diane
 
gosh diane.hes done well to keep those low numbers considering you reduced. I honestly think your boy has just taken a radical turn for the good after having that nasty tooth extraction.maybe it was bothering him for a while.keep up the good work mr bailey!!
still nothing from the vet :-( ive had a good day with my bails although his numbers have been extremely high but hey ho,we cant have everything!

edited to say ive had absolutely no trouble loading the ss.straight in to numbers up to 29th.
 
From your spreadsheet that has numbers, I can see
26th AM 4.50 (and for a few days before)
26th PM F4.00
27th AM 4.25
27th PM 4.25
28th AM 4.25
28th PM 4.25
29th AM 4.25
then the data stops
29th PM ?
30th AM ?
30th PM 3.50
31st AM 3.50?
31st PM 3.75

I think I would just stick with the 3.75 for a bit, since the doses have been changed a lot and Lantus works better with more consistancy. Just my two cents.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top