5/30 Shiloh, AMPS 183, +2 186, +4 178, +6 213, +8 295, PMPS 259, +2 211, +3 1/2 189

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sorry no one got to you in time.
This is usually a quiet time on the board.
I'm not experienced enough to give dosing advice. Hopefully the east coast will be on board soon so you can ask about the PMPS.
The numbers are looking better on the SS since you started/completed the transition to low carb food, so you will probably start seeing some lower preshots so it might be an idea to ask some of the experienced people about shooting a lower number, so you are prepared for it next time.
 
No problem. I know it wasn't that low, but that is her lowest preshot number, and since she surfed the blues last night, just wasn't sure what to do. Just checked her at +2, 186.
 
It is always a good idea to ask for help or guidance if you are thinking about shooting a preshot which is lower than you are used to. It can be scary doing it for the first time.
That's why it is good to get BSL at +2 as well as around the nadir so you know how your cat usually reacts to insulin a couple of hours after it is given.
You need to think what number you will be comfortable to shoot. And then you can gradually reduce it over time as you gain confidence and information about the numbers. It all takes time and you look like you are doing a great job.
 
Thanks Bron. Three weeks today and I haven't seen a pink number since Monday! Woohoo!

But switching to the canned food (or starting the switch) yesterday throws kind of a wrench into the mix, since I don't know yet how it is going to affect her sugar.
 
Not a big rise, and I know I reduced the insulin this morning. Not sure what that means??

And she looks a little mad that I woke her up to test her...LOL
 
It is really important to keep the dose the same with Lantus and not reduce based on the pre-shot. Take a look at some of the spreadsheets for folks who often give Lantus advice, such as @Sienne and Gabby and you'll see how low she will shoot a normal dose on Gabby.

We adjust the Lantus dose based on the nadir, the lowest glucose level post shot. It can move around a bit, but you are testing several times during the likely period and her numbers are in no danger of hypo at this time. You can shoot if her pre-shot test is lower than 200 mg/dL. In fact, set your no shot limit to 150 mg/dL for now, and if she's lower than that at pre-shot, post for advice here.
 
Thanks BJ. I was just concerned this morning as that was her lowest preshot number and she dropped lower last night. Since I reduced her this morning, should I stay at 2.5 for now?

And I realize from my research that the preshot number isn't what dictates, but I panicked.
 
Hi Rhonda,
If you are unsure of what dose you should give, put the ? Icon on the subject line and say 'what dose' or something similar and hopefully someone will come along before you need to give the dose and advise you of the correct dose. Don't be hard on yourself. We all can get anxious when faced with a new situation. And there is so much to learn about this disease and how to treat it. You are doing a great job keeping Shiloh safe and helping her on this diabetic journey :bighug:
 
Don't stick with the reduced dose since it wasn't 'earned' treat it like a BCS (big chicken shot) and go back to her regular 2.75 tonight. It's not a bad thing that you did reduce last night since you couldn't get advice in time though so don't feel like you did anything wrong :)
 
I had company tonight and wasn't able to check the responses. I did put a ? this morning, changed it after I gave the dose. Gave the 2.5 this evening as well. Got a 189 at +3 1/2. Should i go back to 2.75 tomorrow morning?
 
I'd go back to 2.75U next shot, as Serryn suggested. On this forum, if you are following TR, we suggest that for anything below 150, you test, DO NOT FEED, and post for help the first time you get that low a number. There are usually several options and people can walk you through them - provided of course someone is around. One of the options is a temporary lower dose. Anything above 150 is OK to shoot. You might want to review the Sticky on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers for the options for next time. Most often when you shoot a lower number, the entire cycle is a lot flatter.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top