5/30 SHEBA AMPS Hi; +3 358;+5 290 +8 160; +10 108; PMPS 88 +2 56; +3 65; +4 43

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...34-7-25-88-8-220-pmps-hi.138612/#post-1429364

Poor Sheba is still hi after 12 hours. I feel so sorry for her. She looks like she feels rotten in those high numbers after the normal ones. She is eating OK.
I have given her the new reduced dose this morning.
I just hope this huge bounce doesn't last too long for her.

I had an uninterrupted sleep last night which was lovely
 
I have been following Sheba's treatment plan with interest because of your novel approach of trying to keep her from earning reductions. One of the other members (sorry I can't remember who) pointed it out to me and I totally understand the theory and have been using the principle when my Tuxie has lower numbers. (which isn't very often right now)

Sheba has been doing wonderful. I would think that the 34 she gave you yesterday might have really scared her system and it went into hyper-protective mode. I hope she is able to even out and settle back into her lovely numbers.

Good luck!! Fingers crossed!!
 
I have been following Sheba's treatment plan with interest because of your novel approach of trying to keep her from earning reductions. One of the other members (sorry I can't remember who) pointed it out to me and I totally understand the theory and have been using the principle when my Tuxie has lower numbers. (which isn't very often right now)

Sheba has been doing wonderful. I would think that the 34 she gave you yesterday might have really scared her system and it went into hyper-protective mode. I hope she is able to even out and settle back into her lovely numbers.

Good luck!! Fingers crossed!!

Hi Mary Ann @Tuxedo Mom
I was advised by some knowledgeable board members to try that approach of not letting her drop so low she earns a reduction. It is a lot of work as Sheba can drop quickly once she decides to and I need to be around during those hours, but it is worth it!!! The change in her SS says it all.
It didn't happen overnight with Sheba. She had to get used to lower numbers and learn not to bounce so high, before she got to the stage of numbers low enough that I had to intervene. Then Sienne suggested I use honey instead of HC food to stop the drop. This was because I was having trouble finding a HC food that was also low phosphorus (and she was getting a lot of extra food doing all this and I was concerned she would put on weight). The honey works really well with Sheba. I only use a tiny amount but it acts immediately and usually stops the drop.
I have documented all my interventions in the comments column of the SS. I also fiddled with her +2 /+3 meal adjusting the number of carbs to make sure she had enough aboard to support the drop which comes at +3.5 for her usually and lasts til +5 when it starts to taper off. I couldn't have done this without the help of this board.
I hope this explanation has helped you.

Yes, her body sure did swing into action when she saw that 34! She went up to hi in 5 hours and is still there, poor girl.
I just hope we can regain the momentum we had before this
 
Hi Mary Ann @Tuxedo Mom
I was advised by some knowledgeable board members to try that approach of not letting her drop so low she earns a reduction. It is a lot of work as Sheba can drop quickly once she decides to and I need to be around during those hours, but it is worth it!!! The change in her SS says it all.
It didn't happen overnight with Sheba. She had to get used to lower numbers and learn not to bounce so high, before she got to the stage of numbers low enough that I had to intervene. Then Sienne suggested I use honey instead of HC food to stop the drop. This was because I was having trouble finding a HC food that was also low phosphorus (and she was getting a lot of extra food doing all this and I was concerned she would put on weight). The honey works really well with Sheba. I only use a tiny amount but it acts immediately and usually stops the drop.
I have documented all my interventions in the comments column of the SS. I also fiddled with her +2 /+3 meal adjusting the number of carbs to make sure she had enough aboard to support the drop which comes at +3.5 for her usually and lasts til +5 when it starts to taper off. I couldn't have done this without the help of this board.
I hope this explanation has helped you.

Yes, her body sure did swing into action when she saw that 34! She went up to hi in 5 hours and is still there, poor girl.
I just hope we can regain the momentum we had before this


Thank you for your detailed explanation. I have long thought the big swings between low and high numbers were harder to deal with than having a flatter...even if a bit higher...cycle. I also like the idea of using honey or I sometimes use maple syrup, to keep the numbers up at least temporarily. I have used your method a couple of times recently and I am finding much less of the usual bounce Tuxie gets when he decided to dip onto the lower numbers, so I am quite excited to see how this goes over time.

As with your Sheba, Tuxie can do sudden dives, but as you can probably tell from my SS I am quite obsessive about testing, so I will usually be able to catch it as it happens. I really am very keen on this approach and hope my Tuxie can follow along in Sheba's pawprints. Good luck with the bounce...I hope she clears it quickly. :)
 
I am really pleased if I can help in any way. I know it has made a big difference to sheba's numbers and demeanour. It takes patience and trial and error. Even with close monitoring, sheba's dive still beats me sometimes, but her bounces were getting much smaller and shorter before yesterday's low and now bounce.
Good luck. I will watch your SS with interest now.
 
I am really pleased if I can help in any way. I know it has made a big difference to sheba's numbers and demeanour. It takes patience and trial and error. Even with close monitoring, sheba's dive still beats me sometimes, but her bounces were getting much smaller and shorter before yesterday's low and now bounce.
Good luck. I will watch your SS with interest now.

Thank you...I do feed many small meals and will give MC, HC or maple syrup if he drops too quick. Unfortunately I have all my hand written notes but I don't really update on the SS. There just doesn't seem to be enough room and I get rather long-winded sometimes.
 
+3 358
She is starting to clear the bounce. That is a quick turnaround. I was worried she might go back to her old ways.
Looks like she is on a fast slide too (got to keep up her reputation I suppose):eek::joyful:
 
Thank you...I do feed many small meals and will give MC, HC or maple syrup if he drops too quick. Unfortunately I have all my hand written notes but I don't really update on the SS. There just doesn't seem to be enough room and I get rather long-winded sometimes.

If you update just briefly on the SS like I do, it is much easier for others to see what you are doing and then it is easier to help. I home prepare sheba's food too and I found that I got better results when I added some low carb canned food 4% to the second meal. After trial and error she now gets 30grams in each +2/3 meal and I find this helps the drop.
 
Take your time Sheba. The rainbow slide ends in the lagoon.
rainbow_slide_by_kath602-d2z06tk.gif


Awesome on the sleep last night Bron. :cool:
 
If you update just briefly on the SS like I do, it is much easier for others to see what you are doing and then it is easier to help. I home prepare sheba's food too and I found that I got better results when I added some low carb canned food 4% to the second meal. After trial and error she now gets 30grams in each +2/3 meal and I find this helps the drop.

I will try to keep some updating on any out of the ordinary feedings I do. I actually have 2 batches of food I made. One is about 3% and the other is about 5-6%, plus my supplies of MC and HC. I really try to avoid using the processed food unless he drops too much and it can't be helped.
 
I will try to keep some updating on any out of the ordinary feedings I do. I actually have 2 batches of food I made. One is about 3% and the other is about 5-6%, plus my supplies of MC and HC. I really try to avoid using the processed food unless he drops too much and it can't be helped.
@Tuxedo Mom
I like to use all unprocessed food if possible too, but I found Sheba needed some carbs to manage the drops. When I added the carbs her drops became more manageable. I use Weruva cats in the kitchen brand which is good quality.
How do you add carbs to your food? I add a little pumpkin each day but other than than I have no carbs in the home prepared food.
 
Take your time Sheba. The rainbow slide ends in the lagoon.
rainbow_slide_by_kath602-d2z06tk.gif


Awesome on the sleep last night Bron. :cool:

@Wendy&Neko
Ha ha ha ha :joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:
Have you ever known Sheba to take her time?...........she is an all or nothing girl!;)
Love the slide....where do you get all these wonderful pics?
Yes, the sleep was great.....I can think straight today for a change:):cool:
 
@Tuxedo Mom
I like to use all unprocessed food if possible too, but I found Sheba needed some carbs to manage the drops. When I added the carbs her drops became more manageable. I use Weruva cats in the kitchen brand which is good quality.
How do you add carbs to your food? I add a little pumpkin each day but other than than I have no carbs in the home prepared food.

I will use processed such as tonight when he has been dropping...mainly Friskies different types for different carb content.

When I make food I slightly cook it...my guys will not eat raw. I use organic eggshells for the calcium, muscle meat and organs (grassfed if I can get it without breaking the bank), 2 cooked organic eggs and add about 1 cup steamed brocolli and 1/4- 3/4 cup organic cooked rolled oats to each 8 lb batch I do. Plus the taurine, vitamin E and fish oil I add. The broccoli has some carbs as do the rolled oats (high fiber low glycemic), so I can adjust those up or down to increase the carb content. The oats and broccoli both act as fiber which keeps both my kitties regular. I do give Tuxie a little pumpkin from time to time as well.
 
Hey Bron...want me to check and see if there's another rubber room available?

With craziness like Sheba's pulling, might be a good idea to make a reservation now.....LOL
 
I will use processed such as tonight when he has been dropping...mainly Friskies different types for different carb content.
When I make food I slightly cook it...my guys will not eat raw. I use organic eggshells for the calcium, muscle meat and organs (grassfed if I can get it without breaking the bank), 2 cooked organic eggs and add about 1 cup steamed brocolli and 1/4- 3/4 cup organic cooked rolled oats to each 8 lb batch I do. Plus the taurine, vitamin E and fish oil I add. The broccoli has some carbs as do the rolled oats (high fiber low glycemic), so I can adjust those up or down to increase the carb content. The oats and broccoli both act as fiber which keeps both my kitties regular. I do give Tuxie a little pumpkin from time to time as well.
@Tuxedo Mom

That is very interesting, I hadn't thought of adding oats. That is a good recipe.
I use the same supplements as you but also VitB complex. I guess you get the B from the egg yoke.
I make my own eggshell powder, it is very easy to do.
I use raw kangaroo meat, cooked chicken and raw hearts and liver. Have been going to try kidney but haven't yet.
Also egg whites and only tiny amts of yoke as I am trying to limit the phosphorus
How do you know how much oats to add to make it say 4%?
 
@Tuxedo Mom

That is very interesting, I hadn't thought of adding oats. That is a good recipe.
I use the same supplements as you but also VitB complex. I guess you get the B from the egg yoke.
I make my own eggshell powder, it is very easy to do.
I use raw kangaroo meat, cooked chicken and raw hearts and liver. Have been going to try kidney but haven't yet.
Also egg whites and only tiny amts of yoke as I am trying to limit the phosphorus
How do you know how much oats to add to make it say 4%?


I make the eggshell powder from the organic eggs I buy...waste not want not..lol I have an old coffee grinder that makes the perfect powder once the eggshells are washed and dried.

If making a batch of 8 LBs...7.5 muscle meat and .5 organ meat (heart or liver is what I generally use) adding about 1/2 cup (dry before cooking) long cook (not instant) rolled oats should give a carb content of about 3-4%. I usually steam the broccoli in a pot then add the oats to the hot water for about 15 minutes to cook them up. I just slightly cook the meat, add the eggs to the meat, which cooks them well enough, then use my processor to grind it all up into a pate. I add some extra water as needed while processing. The food ends up looking the same as canned pate.

I freaked out one of my son's friends once. I had just finished making kitty food and was putting into containers to freeze. He asked what I was cooking...I said "kitty food..do you want to try some?" He laughed and said "no way", so I took a spoonful and ate it. He almost threw up. After my son quit laughing he finally explained what I put into it and that it was perfectly fine for people to eat.
 
I make the eggshell powder from the organic eggs I buy...waste not want not..lol I have an old coffee grinder that makes the perfect powder once the eggshells are washed and dried.

If making a batch of 8 LBs...7.5 muscle meat and .5 organ meat (heart or liver is what I generally use) adding about 1/2 cup (dry before cooking) long cook (not instant) rolled oats should give a carb content of about 3-4%. I usually steam the broccoli in a pot then add the oats to the hot water for about 15 minutes to cook them up. I just slightly cook the meat, add the eggs to the meat, which cooks them well enough, then use my processor to grind it all up into a pate. I add some extra water as needed while processing. The food ends up looking the same as canned pate.

I freaked out one of my son's friends once. I had just finished making kitty food and was putting into containers to freeze. He asked what I was cooking...I said "kitty food..do you want to try some?" He laughed and said "no way", so I took a spoonful and ate it. He almost threw up. After my son quit laughing he finally explained what I put into it and that it was perfectly fine for people to eat.

@Tuxedo Mom
Egg shell powder is easy to make isn't it? I do the same as you do. Save the shells, wash and dry, then grind in a coffee grinder. I showed my vet, he had never heard of it and was fascinated.
I would love to try the oats sometime but I would need to work out how much to use as I just cut up a days worth of food by hand and mix up each time. I keep all supplies in the freezer and get out each day. I add the vitamins each day .......I have those separately in a jar mixed in water and add 5 mls a time?
I did try making a batch when I first started but it gave Sheba diarrhoea so I had to throw it all out and trial all the food to see what was causing the problem. And I haven't gone back to batches.
I can imagine your son's friend being horrified at you eating cat food....a good party trick:joyful::joyful:
 
You don't need them if you are using canned food. They are used if you are making your own food instead of bones or bonemeal. They have no phosphorus so are great for kidney problem cats and are a good way to lower the phosphorus in the diet @suki & crystal
I am having a mental block....do you make your food or used canned food Suki?.
 
Make my own with TC Feline supplement, just checked the ingredients and looks like there is already added calcium, along with lots of necessary vitamins. Looks like the slugs will get the eggshells to stop them eating my plants!
 
I would love to try the oats sometime but I would need to work out how much to use as I just cut up a days worth of food by hand and mix up each time.

When I do my batch as described it works out to about 24-26 cups worth of wet food. Don't quote me on this, since my brain is barely starting to function this morning, but that should work out to about 1/3 Tbsp dry oatmeal (before cooking) for each cup of finished food. Of course the oatmeal puffs up quite a bit once cooked. You can double check my calculation. With only a few hours sleep last night and a poor one at that, I wouldn't trust my calculations right now. :)

The oatmeal gives some carbs (low glycemic) B vitamins, fiber, iron and some other minor nutrients. I was worried when Tuxie was first diagnosed that there may be too much carbs, so I made a 2 week batch with no oatmeal and charted his numbers. There was very little difference in the numbers...not enough to matter. The steamed broccoli that I add also has a small amount of carbs, but overall I end up with about 3-4% carbs. I did a second batch with extra oatmeal so that I have slightly higher carbs for when I need it. Of course for MC or HC I use the canned food.
 
Last edited:
thanks for that Mary Ann. I will have to try it. Do you know how much your cup of food weighs? I work in weights not cups. Maybe next time you are making it you could weigh a cup of food and that would tell me how much the 1/3 tab of oats would go with how much food. If it is not too much trouble that would be great, but I don't want to cause work for you. Thanks
 
thanks for that Mary Ann. I will have to try it. Do you know how much your cup of food weighs? I work in weights not cups. Maybe next time you are making it you could weigh a cup of food and that would tell me how much the 1/3 tab of oats would go with how much food. If it is not too much trouble that would be great, but I don't want to cause work for you. Thanks


WOW Sheba really came back for you didn't she!!! WTG Sheba!!

I looked at my food sheet. I had calculated 1 cup of food to weigh about 165 grams (give or take) before preparation: (meat raw, broccoli uncooked, oats raw, eggs uncooked, before added water)

Meat (protein) 151 gm
Broccoli 3.5 gm
Oats 2.3 gm
Eggs 4.5 gm

I hope this makes some sense. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top