5/30 Schmitty AMPS 168 +6 182+10 212 +11 215 Dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chippy

Member Since 2012
Need some adivice on dosage for Schmitty-Tonight Dosage?

Diagnosed 4\15\12
Always had soft stool and some diarrhea
Started with 2 units of Lantus
Did eat dry and wet Nutro
Now eats FF Classics(gluten free) feed after each shot and at +6
When glucose is lower--stools seems to be more solid and doesn't seem as hungry
Was 10lbs but down near 7lb

Would like some advice on dosage and when the best times to check glucose levels. I'm new to all this so if I'm not doing this all right(posting) let me know!!

Monday's Health Condo
Today's Health Condo
 
Re: Schmitty AMPS 168 +6 182+10 212 +11 215 Dose?

The Todays Health Condo link isn't working for me but this one should be: Tuesday's Health Condo. Hopefully a dosing expert will come along shortly. You're doing a great job! Trial by fire. :-D
Liz
 
It's looking to me like you should hold this dose. I know Marje has been following Schmitty's progress. Hopefully, she'll be stopping by.
 
Hi Mary

I'd hold the dose just a bit longer because we have no idea how low he went last night. Today's higher numbers could just be a bounce from low numbers last night.

When the liver senses numbers it is not used to, it releases counterregulatory hormones and glucagon to raise the blood sugar to keep kitty safe. You can see what this looks like from the greens he got the other night...the next morning he bounced into yellow. That could be what we are seeing today. The numbers don't have to be really low...just lower than what Schmittys liver has become lately accustomed to.

We don't like to raise the dose on a bounce as it can cause numbers to come crashing down when the bounce clears.

If you can get at least a +2 and a mid cycle or before bed test at night, that will give you some good data. It's also great when you can get a +11.

The other good number to get when you can is a +1... It will let you know if he gets food spikes after you test, shoot, and feed him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top