5/30 Pudge AMPS 375/380, +2 283, +3 263, +6 239, +9 353, PMPS 379, +2 244, +6 246

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by kitten68, May 30, 2024.

  1. kitten68

    kitten68 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    hiii!!! :D

    we managed today!! :) (he got his Lantus about an 1.5 hours ago).. phew. (there was difficulty starting yesterday, which was the settled day.. long story (if would like to see lmk.. lol can link..) but turns out it was ok; for best think.

    anyway settled on 1 U (know it was advised to do a bit higher.. but just me and Pudge, and just reallyyyy trying to minimize and make sure things uneventful.. appreciate the dosing advice sm.. would like to do the amount that was suggested, but also need to be as safe as possible..) of course its a new routine and so there was some delay getting things in (cause it is different than Vetsulin cause you dont necessarily need to wait).. was on here quite a bit and spoke also a lot to the vet cause i had questions.. and did it!!! :cat::cat::cat::woot:

    with time know the regimen will smooth out (was a little bumpy and hectic today.. to be expected) but he got it! needle still hurts a little.... but he was also trying to jump down and be done but he needed his shot then (!).. but hoping that'll get better with time as i find what works best.. as i get better. dosing is NOT easy at these minuscule amounts... i feel like i just waste insulin in the sink but understand that might be the cost also of doing business.. because i take more out to get rid of bubbles.. and expect to get better w time. these plungers just shoot out.. even though they seem smooth initially (i make sure to distribute lubricant/silicon prior but plunging up and down..) yet still have to very delicately move it upward or insulin just flies out. may invest in other syringes in future (?) ~ ones suggested to me from Amazon i think (if is the U100.. think so..). but certainly appreciate these for the price, convenience, and probably just need to get used to them. :) also wanted to do a bit of an easy dose cuz just starting this.. :/

    thank you so much to everyone trying to help and caring about us and answering my manyyy various questions.. so much appreciation! :joyful:

    now lets see how he does today.. think im to take +3,+6,+9.. then do a curve after 5-7 days (every +2)? idk. :) plz lmk if you might know or help me remember cause i know it was suggested to me.. (ty!!)

    also will be changing the time by 15 minutes each cycle (to get back to our preferred time..), think thats the way to do it! so tonite is okay to give at 10:05, 10:00 PM? (shot given at 10:20 AM).. tmw 9:45 am, etc?

    also understand it requires consistency, is there any leeway with exact dose times? (like 10-15 minutes, or needs to be exact as much as possible everyday? say it's due at 10.. by 10:05.. 10:10.. or 10:15 is ok?)

    :smuggrin:
     
    JL & Cooper likes this.
  2. kitten68

    kitten68 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    well.. really hoping it's not dropping too fast (only used 1 U... maybe should have done .5 U?..) is this number (283) at +2 hours ok?!? plz lmk..... :( understand with Lantus, longer actings, supposed to not drop too much initially, mind you, it was a big-ish number in AM.. idk. not sure how supposed to look..based off Basics page.. should be hovering more near Pre-shot.. but his Pre-shot was pretty high.. am I understanding this?.. :bookworm:

    @Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Diane Tyler's Mom @Shell @Bron and Sheba (GA) @tiffmaxee @Don Degludec @Suzanne & Darcy @Bandit's Mom @JL & Cooper

    o_Oo_Oo_O
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2024
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    When are you planning your next test? I wouldn't panic just yet.

    As a favour to us reading your spreadsheet, could you put a blank line in the spreadsheet after yesterday and before today, and label it - start Lantus. That's an easier way to read major changes than scrolling over to the Remarks.
     
    kitten68 likes this.
  4. kitten68

    kitten68 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    (wendyyy!! Lantus started.. :cat: and now nervous. lol..)
    well +3 just now was 263 :) didn't drop too, too much..
    not too bad???.... oh boy.

    just did a +2 to see if working, and will be doing +3,+6,+9.. :cat:

    (I think he's feeling better tho on this one, and me too haha..
    and yes will fix! wasn't sure what to do/how to do so on SS...:woot: fixed!)
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2024
  5. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    That +3 looks like just a slow drop now, continue on with your testing plan. Some cats do a big drop at onset (when the insulin starts working).

    Another thing on this forum, when you get a new test, could you add the result to the subject line? That way, those of us scanning the subject lines for who needs help will see where things are without having to read the details in each post. Sometimes we see potential issues before you do. But not in this case so far today for you.
     
  6. kitten68

    kitten68 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    Cool!.. was thinking same.. didnt drop too bad/steeply.. :cat:great to know some cats do that. Basics page said like ideally hours 1-2 should resemble pre-shot i was like o_O.. idk. will keep in mind!

    Sorry! Was going to do ~ on phone with vet and didnt put in.
     
  7. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @kitten68
    Where you added Start Lantus on your spreadsheet can you highlight any color you want so it stands :cat:

    Also when you start your new post tomorrow (5-31) you need to link your previous days post to it ,in case members need to look back at it instead of trying to search for it

    Your previous days post that you will link for tomorrow which will be the one for (5-30) you will find all the way up top in this box
    Just ignore where it says insert and cancel
    You are going to go up there and copy and paste it when you post tomorrow (5-31)
    You will just put it where you will start typing about whatever you want to
    Do you understand ?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2024
    kitten68 likes this.
  8. kitten68

    kitten68 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    will do!! :cat::cat: thanks for reminder (tho how do i highlight color on SS? :facepalm:)
     
  9. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @kitten68
    I typed more don't know if you saw it
    Your previous days post that you will link for tomorrow which will be the one for (5-30) you will find all the way up top in this box
    Just ignore where it says insert and cancel
    You are going to go up there and copy and paste it when you post tomorrow (5-31)
    You will just put it where you will start typing about whatever you want to
    Do you understand ?

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Do you know I actually forget how to do that, there has to be somewhere up top for you to tap on , an icon and just pick a color, if you can't then
    I would just type Lantus Started in the middle of that blank Line so it stands out better
    On your spreadsheet up top where it say Insulin and you have Lantus I would put after Lantus 5-30
    Don't forget to fill in your spreadsheet for your +6 test (239)
    @kitten68
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2024
  11. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I wanted you to put Lantus -5-30 on your spreadsheet here
    I copied it for you to show you where you have it up top on your spreadsheet
    Current Insulin: Lantus
    Also


    I wanted you to type Started Lantus in the middle of that blank Line so it stands out better. It doesn't matter if it over laps into each cell or square
     
  12. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    @Bandit's Mom
    Hi Bhooma can you highlight where she started Lantus on her SS.you will see where she put it, she doesn't know how to highlight the line
    Thanks Bhooma
    @Bandit's Mom
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2024
  13. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    This is more what I expected might happen to start Lantus. I hope you can get a preshot and at least +3 test tonight too.
     
    kitten68 likes this.
  14. kitten68

    kitten68 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    hiii trying to do what instructing me to ~ will try to change when get a chance tonite.. soon. :)
     
  15. kitten68

    kitten68 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    just did a +9.. was 353 :/ but he just started, but maybe can lmk (?) if there's something to think on w it.. just going to continue. :cat:

    definitely will get PS and will try to get two tests.. least one.

    @Wendy&Neko
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2024
  16. kitten68

    kitten68 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    hellooo :)
    well.. got a +9 tonite for day 1 :cat: is 353.. yikes lol. first pink that early (recorded..) but just changed. :woot:

    :::any advice on this:::: want to change the time closer to 7:30 (from 10:20 *cries lol..) ~ understand can change the time one way by reducing it/starting early AM/PM by 15-20 minutes each cycle (each 12 hrs right?) until back to around 7? :cat:

    So would be today AM 10:20.. tonite 10:00/05 PM..tmw AM 9:45/40..evening 9:30, etc? This ok?

    @Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @Sienne and Gabby (GA) @Diane Tyler's Mom
     
  17. kitten68

    kitten68 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    well still figuring out regimen and getting used to routine in terms of how long things take to do ~ he ended up getting his shot at exactly same time this morning. will be trying to backtrack again in AM tho will check back to see if any responses :cat:..
     
    JL & Cooper likes this.
  18. JL & Cooper

    JL & Cooper Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2024
    Hope it’s ok to answer this…. Yes, like you’ve said you can do 15min at each shot or 30min once a day (and hold that shot time for two cycles). It’ll take you a week to get to 7:30 (total of 30 min each day). :) I’ve had to move shot times twice in the last two weeks (did 30min once a day both times, but have done 15 in the past too), if it’s helpful to see a visual example. Don’t be scared off by the rest of my spreadsheet though ;). There’s also a good sticky in the “basics” section, to get a better written out description, if you haven’t found it yet.
     
  19. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    JL got it right on how you move back the times. I encourage you to browse all the Sticky Notes at the top of this forum. The Basics is a good one to start with (and keep going back to). It has a lot of links to interesting information posts.
     
    kitten68 likes this.
  20. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Hi Bhooma can you highlight where she started Lantus on her SS.you will see where she put it, she doesn't know how to highlight the line
    Thanks Bhooma
    @Bandit's Mom
     
    kitten68 likes this.
  21. kitten68

    kitten68 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    thank you for this! :) sure very ok ~ (was told to post here just to confirm and see..:cat:)

    did read the 12/12 sticky/link.. where I got it from. will probably do the 15 minute per shot.. tried today tho and ended up at exact same time lol.. still figuring how long things take. not having to wait to give shot is new, so that can be ready to go as well. hope its ok the syringe sits out a little while he eats.. cause doing everythinggg together. test, eat, shot..shrug. also some people say they've had ok experience doing as much as 20.. 30.. even an hour (!). can't say I will be doing this haha. but phew good to know. will be going back 15 minutes per shot.. and a week oh boy.. *cries :smuggrin: oh well.. maybe it's good to see also what time might be liked more. :)

    thank u!!! :)
     
  22. kitten68

    kitten68 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2024
    yes.. I did read the 12/12 one :) is that the one you're maybe referring? where I got it from; also some posts had discussions on this info.. some ppl move things around by 20.. 30.. even an hour if needed (!).. maybe its ok for them. :cat: idk. but will be changing time by 15 minutes per shot.. and seeing. :) good to know tho for sure. will attempt again this morning. oh no lol.
     

Share This Page