5/30 Merlin AMPS 210;+3/157,+5/90,+6/72,+7/82,+11/256,+5/375

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Member Since 2014
5/30
AMPS 210; .6u

So here we are feeding and shooting at +10 .6u because of the stalling last night of 4.5 hours after scheduled time of 6pm. Will need to monitor today due to his flat, lower numbers. I also gave him his meds at 8:30am which is 12 hours from the last dose. Hopefully I am going to attempt to give him subq fluids in about two hours. He must not be feeling too well because he is under the bed for the first time.
 
Re: 5/30 Merlin AMPS 210;+3/157

5/30
AMPS 210; .6u
+3 - 157

Well that is a pretty good slow drop isn't it?

I did our first subq fluid 30 minutes ago. It was so easy and Merlin was such a trooper...he is so good. I was surprised how fast the fluid goes in and was all over in about a minute. This is not going to be so bad after all and I am sooooo relieved. So Marje told me that his BG may drop because I guess that happens to some kitty's. So she said to not give fluids around his nadir. So I am hoping maybe an hour or two after his AMPS. I am going to mark Merlin's spreadsheet with a "F" when I give fluids. I also changed up the colors on his spreadsheets. Since the vet wants the SS every week, I am hoping that the pastel colors will be easier to read.
 
Re: 5/30 Merlin AMPS 210;+3/157

5/30
AMPS 210; .6u
+3 - 157
+5 - 90

Been trying for the past 30 minutes trying to get Merlin to eat. Nothing is interesting to him. He gets so out of it with his pain meds and just wants to sleep. May have to load up a syringe. He was on top of the bed but now is back under. These next couple of days are probably going to be his worse as Sue says. Will check him again at +6 or just before.
 
Re: 5/30 Merlin AMPS 210;+3/157,+5/90

It could be that the fluids "filled him up", Cindi? Sometimes the antibiotics especially mess with their appetite so you may have to try dressing the food up with things he likes - maybe crushed up treats or tuna juice or parmesan cheese?
 
Re: 5/30 Merlin AMPS 210;+3/157,+5/90

5/30
AMPS 210; .6u
+3 - 157
+5 - 90
+6 - 72
+7 - 82

Thanks for the tips. Did try the tuna juice but will try the rest. Last time he ate was about six hours ago. Which in the past 3-4 days, he hasn't been as hungry as he usually is and it might be because of the lower numbers? I think I will keep the later shot time time tonight as I need to leave in about two hours (4:30pm) and probably won't be back home till 7:30pm or 8pm. So once I get home, I will test and may go from there, hopefully a little earlier.

Updated: Merlin ate some Weruva Paw Lickin' Chicken...yeah. I guess I just had to change to a different flavor.
 
Re: 5/30 Merlin AMPS 210;+3/157,+5/90,+6/72,+7/82,+11/256

5/30
AMPS 210; .6u
+3 - 157
+5 - 90
+6 - 72
+7 - 82
+11 - 256

I am thinking that I can shoot now (an hour early) since he is at 256. It is 7:30pm and my husband fed him at 5:45pm. Do you think that is enough time to clear the food bump? I was thinking that a .6u again. Suggestions?

Wow did you all call it today...a perfect .6u for a perfect cycle. Thanks.
 
Re: 5/30 Merlin AMPS 210;+3/157,+5/90,+6/72,+7/82,+11/256

If it will help you get back on schedule, i think .6 would be good. Will +12 tomorrow get you back on track?

Yes, it was a picture perfect cycle. Is he feeling/eating better?
 
Re: 5/30 Merlin AMPS 210;+3/157,+5/90,+6/72,+7/82,+11/256

Oh yes he is feeling really good right now. His coat feels really good (must be the fluids), he is walking around, starting to talk again and very hungry again. He is doing very well right now but I am about to give him his meds and he will be a zombie for the next 2-3 hours again. I am shooting at 7:45pm tonight but would like to get back to 6am/6pm schedule. So almost there. Hopefully I can check him at 7am tomorrow and see if I can't shoot him then. Then maybe Sunday either at 6:30 and Monday back to 6:00. That probably is slow enough getting back to schedule isn't it? If he continues to keep in the 200's, I will plan on .6u. If it is lower, I probably will be hollering for help!
 
Re: 5/30 Merlin AMPS 210;+3/157,+5/90,+6/72,+7/82,+11/256

That plan sounds good to me. He did have a lovely cycle! I'm looking forward to seeing how things go now. Hope he feels better soon!
 
Re: 5/30 Merlin AMPS 210;+3/157,+5/90,+6/72,+7/82,+11/256

5/30
AMPS 210; .6u
+3 - 157
+5 - 90
+6 - 72
+7 - 82
+11 - 256 (PMPS)
+5 - 375

I kind of thought I got a fur shot. Merlin was really squirrelly and was really moving all over the place. Oh that ticks me off when I can't get the shot in. So I guess I will test tomorrow at 6am. I am assuming that I will go ahead and give a .6u shot if in 300's to be consistent at 6am. Darn it ... what a waste.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top