5/30 Max amps 146 +2 143 +3 94 +4 59 (at vet) +6 103

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
I took Max in to see his vet today. I just love her so much, she’s so compassionate and attentive. She did some labs and an exam. His FPL snap test was high and his BUN was high. She felt as though the drooling is coming from pain/nausea (pancreatitis). Ugh how I hate it.

She said his teeth and gums are fine. I didn’t get the lab value numbers, except she was quite astonished that his BG was only 59 while he was there at the vet! He got a snack. No telling how low it would have gotten at home.:eek: She thought I should reduce his dose. I may consider that anyway because of vacation next week. We will see what he does. High numbers also trigger pancreatic flares in Max so we can’t afford any glucose toxicity to occur.

We are to continue the Cerenia and Ondansetron. She was happy that he is eating well because a lot of cats don’t with pancreatitis. She wants me to give him 25-50 mls of sub Q fluids daily because she believes he is dehydrated. We have to be careful with that because of his heart, but he needs it now.

@Wendy&Neko I asked her about getting the Bupe from the compounding pharmacy and she was glad to prescribe it that way for us. It is much cheaper and chicken flavored too. She sent the prescription to the compounding pharmacy she uses so it will be shipped to me. She also gave me some from her office to use until it comes. Thanks again for that suggestion yesterday.

I think that is everything. We talked about a lot, so my mind is going every which way right now. She loves that we take him camping with us and wanted to make sure he was all set before we go. She thinks he will be fine, so that makes me feel better too.

yesterday https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-103-4-70-5-64-6-72-7-93.278041/#post-3075800
 
Neko went lower at the vet too. :rolleyes: However, since Max has already seen one under 50 on this dose, I think there is an argument for lowering the dose a bit for the trip, just to bring those nadirs up. You don't want him tanking on the road. Said by someone who's cat did just that coming back from CSU and the roads to the next pull off were blocked by crawling cars due to fire on the median from an idiot tossing a cigarette. :mad:

Great news on the bupe prescription - I hope giving it more often will help Max too.

As for fluids, keep an eye on his resting respiratory rate. Even 50 ml every other day was too much for Neko, and her RR told me that. I think her heart was worse at the time, but it's a touchy topic for me.
 
I think you’re right about lowering his dose, but we don’t leave until next Wednesday. We are only staying few days because my DH is a workaholic.:rolleyes: I think I will watch Max on this dose over the next few days to see what he does since I’m going to be home. I will definitely lower it a bit a couple days before we leave. I know the bounce is coming.

I am also a little anxious about the fluids too. I gave him 25 ml today. I hope it will help him. I thought maybe 25 ml per day is better than overloading him at one time. I will watch him though. I’m also anxious to see what his echo tells us next month. I really hope he’s stable. What is the resting RR in cats by the way?
The Bupe makes a big difference in Max’s comfort level so I’m very happy about that. When that pain is under control, his numbers look better. He had Gabapentin before the vet visit and he came down. He was also almost too “chilled out.” Like I said, the Gaba wipes him out. The vet saw what I was talking about this morning.
 
Last edited:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

So glad you have a good Vet...some of them are incredibly questionable.. And honestly I never realized it until joining the community here. I feel blessed to love my Vet as well. She's got a big heart, and the brain to match!
 
RR is 20-30 in cats. Neko normal was close to the lower end. She had bradycardia, so when she got to 26 I knew it was high for her. I would check Max now and see what his normal is.
 
Back
Top