Max & Lori
Member Since 2021
I took Max in to see his vet today. I just love her so much, she’s so compassionate and attentive. She did some labs and an exam. His FPL snap test was high and his BUN was high. She felt as though the drooling is coming from pain/nausea (pancreatitis). Ugh how I hate it.
She said his teeth and gums are fine. I didn’t get the lab value numbers, except she was quite astonished that his BG was only 59 while he was there at the vet! He got a snack. No telling how low it would have gotten at home.
She thought I should reduce his dose. I may consider that anyway because of vacation next week. We will see what he does. High numbers also trigger pancreatic flares in Max so we can’t afford any glucose toxicity to occur.
We are to continue the Cerenia and Ondansetron. She was happy that he is eating well because a lot of cats don’t with pancreatitis. She wants me to give him 25-50 mls of sub Q fluids daily because she believes he is dehydrated. We have to be careful with that because of his heart, but he needs it now.
@Wendy&Neko I asked her about getting the Bupe from the compounding pharmacy and she was glad to prescribe it that way for us. It is much cheaper and chicken flavored too. She sent the prescription to the compounding pharmacy she uses so it will be shipped to me. She also gave me some from her office to use until it comes. Thanks again for that suggestion yesterday.
I think that is everything. We talked about a lot, so my mind is going every which way right now. She loves that we take him camping with us and wanted to make sure he was all set before we go. She thinks he will be fine, so that makes me feel better too.
yesterday https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-103-4-70-5-64-6-72-7-93.278041/#post-3075800
She said his teeth and gums are fine. I didn’t get the lab value numbers, except she was quite astonished that his BG was only 59 while he was there at the vet! He got a snack. No telling how low it would have gotten at home.
We are to continue the Cerenia and Ondansetron. She was happy that he is eating well because a lot of cats don’t with pancreatitis. She wants me to give him 25-50 mls of sub Q fluids daily because she believes he is dehydrated. We have to be careful with that because of his heart, but he needs it now.
@Wendy&Neko I asked her about getting the Bupe from the compounding pharmacy and she was glad to prescribe it that way for us. It is much cheaper and chicken flavored too. She sent the prescription to the compounding pharmacy she uses so it will be shipped to me. She also gave me some from her office to use until it comes. Thanks again for that suggestion yesterday.
I think that is everything. We talked about a lot, so my mind is going every which way right now. She loves that we take him camping with us and wanted to make sure he was all set before we go. She thinks he will be fine, so that makes me feel better too.
yesterday https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-103-4-70-5-64-6-72-7-93.278041/#post-3075800
