5/30 Kisa AMPS 266/PMPS 256

Status
Not open for further replies.

Derek

Member Since 2013
I've been advised that maybe I should lower his dose from 1.50 to .75. I'll be doing that starting tomorrow, though I still don't think that the issue is too much insulin, but rather too little. Every single time I do as instructed and lower his dosage, his numbers shoot up into the 400s and don't dip below mid 300s. Only as I get closer to his original dose of 2 units do his numbers drop to the 200s and stabilize in that area. I'll try .75 for a few days, but unless I see a positive change in the numbers, I'll be moving him to a dose that's been proven to have a positive effect on the cat. I'm hoping that when I try the .75 either his numbers will stabilize, proving the forum right about the too high dosage, or that if they don't, then my idea that his dose was too low will be considered.
 
Derek

I have 4 diabetic cats of my own with one about to celebrate 4 years OTJ November 1 st. And one currently that my vet placed in my care because of my track record with my own to foster for one of her other clients while he recovers from surgery.

My Cassanova was on 11u bid when I adopted him and was staying in the 400s when periodically tested by the vet (his original owner wasn't home testing) He would see greens when I'd test at that dose but they were in hypo range then he'd hang in the reds and blacks. I cut his dose to 1u he dropped beautifully.

Trust me at least on my part I have considered Kisa's original dose MIGHT be correct but I've also seen many cases where that wasn't the case.

Insulin is a very powerful hormone. And as a hormone rather than say a pain killer it isn't always the greater the pain/high numbers the more drug needed.

Everyone on this forum offering you advice have been successfully treating their own cats for in some cases years.

Treating this disease is a marathon not a sprint. Kisa didn't become diabetic overnight and he isn't going to be cured overnight either. In fact he's never going to be cured at best he will go into remission and become a diet controlled diabetic.

Ultimately you hold the syringe and know Kisa best. All we can do is give you advice based on our personal experiences with our own cats and what we've seen with others on this forum.

It isn't a contest of whose right it about getting Kisa to the best possible health he can be so he'll live a long happy life. You are free to disregard the advice given. Or post in another one of the forums.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Just a few notes:

1) Depending on the cat, it can take 3 to 5 days to stabilize at after a change in Lantus dose, up or down, while the depot levels out at the new dose.

2) After a bounce, when a rapid drop in glucose or a drop to a lower than accustomed to level prompts compensatory hormones to release stored sugar (glycogen -> glucose), it can take up to 3 days on Lantus to settle down into lower numbers.

3) Also, after Lantus dose increases, you may observe new dose wonkiness (NDW) where the increase has the paradoxical effect of raising the numbers for a few days. Again, you just have to wait it out.
 
I do plan to give it at least a week to show results, I'm just frustrated that every decrease in dose just spikes his numbers, whereas increasing it lowers it. And every further increase just pushes hi further up
 
You're focusing a lot on his BG numbers and there are numerous ways to assess the health of your cat. Just a thought - In my signature link is a list of Secondary Monitoring Tools. You might look over those and consider how Kisa is doing on some of those.
Does Kisa:
Purr?
Play?
Preen/groom?
Show signs of dehydration?
Weigh too much or not enough?
Drink and urinate excessively?
Have urine that has almost no odor?
Eat ravenously?
Have abnormal feces - are they loose/constipated, gray or pasty, voluminous, foul-smelling?
Have breath that smells like fruit or nail polish remover?
Have breath that smells like urine?
 
He purrs, especially when held, or carried into mom's room to be tested. Grooms himself constantly, which he always has. He doesn't play much, but he's an older cat, and lazy, he'll chase a laser light if it isn't too far away. The rest are all no
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top