Wow! What a pretty ss! Looks like Gordo is a short timer huh? I'm sure someone will come along and give you advice but it looks like he is ready for a trial to me. It's so nice to "see" you. Thanks heavens for FB and pinterest or I would really miss you. Are you out for the summer yet?
I would do what you can to keep Gordo at this dose for a week -- unless he drops below 50 -- whichever comes first. And, at that time, well..... you know what time that will be! (Can you spell T - R - I - A - L?)
I agree, I would hold this dose for as long as he'll let you. That will give the pancreas the extra time and support to heal as much as it can before you remove the training wheels. But yay!
Re: 5/30 Gordo PMPS 66 +1 71 +2 49 +2.5 58 Now what
Well, I think that answers the question.
And for tomorrow as you start Gordo's OTJ trial:
Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
If your cat is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!
After 2 weeks, if everything is looking good, we have a party!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Wow the first Gordo condo I've popped into and look at him go. I can't remember the link to pancreatitis and diabetes - I forgot to flag the thread that Sienne talked about this in. Did/does he have issues with pancreatitis? Go Gordo!!!!