Hi there,
Your last post for continuity:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-29-buddy-amps-138-pmps-151.247964/#post-2797053
It does look like Buddy needs an increase but we could help you better with all of your questions if you could
1. Fill in details for your signature: Your name (if you want to be referred to as such), your cat's name (Buddy, obvs), age of your cat, the date of your cat's diabetes diagnosis, the kind of food being fed (LC wet food), the kind of meter you are using (AlphaTrak), any other known conditions, and the protocol you are following.
2. Pick a protocol. Here's the
Dosing Methods sticky for you to read through. With SLGS, you hold doses for 7 days and reduce doses at 90. At the end of those 7 days, you do a curve to figure out where the cat is going midcyle. Without those midcycle numbers showing how low the dose is taking the cat, members here can't advise you on what to do with much confidence. With TR, you can hold a dose up to 10 cycles and then make a decision to increase, but doses are always reduced at 68 (on an AlphaTrak, 50 on a human meter). TR will get you a greater chance of remission but it is more aggressive and requires more testing. Which leads me to...
3. Do more mid-cycle tests. You're doing a great job at tracking Buddy's preshot numbers, but aren't that concerned with those but what you really need to do is track those nadirs, the lowest number the cat sees once Lantus has had a chance to take effect after a shot, usually 3-6 hours afterwards. I understand you have family obligations, so maybe SLGS would be good for you right now, and once you start seeing more greens you can switch to TR to fast track him towards remission.
My cats never liked the Weruva with the shredded chicken. They liked the BFF Pates in pouches that have tuna in them more. Have you tried those? They aren't that expensive and low carb.
So odd Pre insulin he was peeing 6 times a day, after we started insulting he went down to 3 a day, then the past 2 days has reverted. The only thing I can think of if is Wed night I gave him a Nutro wet food, which I later discovered was loaded with Tapioca flour, I wonder if this threw his body off?
If your cat was eating kibble before, he is getting more water from his wet food now and that might be reason he's urinating more.