5/30 Billie 240 PMPS 276 +2 262 +3 231 +4 248

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Good morning!

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=119496

Last night's run was looking good better with a PMPS of 265 and a +2 of 226, but she's high again this morning. I'm thinking she got into some nice blues and then bounced. :YMSIGH: We'll see what happens today! :smile: I am holding her dose for now. Today's AM cycle is cycle #8 since our possible fur shot.

I changed my work schedule so that I work until 9pm instead of 10pm 3 days a week, and I can work from home for the rest of the week. I'm very happy about that, as I'll be able to keep a better eye on Billie. I want to slide Billie's shot an hour and 15 minutes earlier to 9:30. What's the best way to do that? Should I do it gradually (i.e. 15 minutes early every shot), or is it okay to shoot an hour and 15 early if she is high tonight?

Thank you all for your help!! I hope everyone has a great day! :-D
 
Re: 5/30 Billie AMPS 365

Hi Deanna,

So glad you were able to change your schedule, giving you a bit more time with Billie. It would be nice to know for sure if Billie slipped into the blues and is now bouncing. In terms of resetting the preshot times, I'm really not sure what the easiest and safest way is but I do know that someone will be along to make recommendations. Good luck with all your endeavours today, Deanna. Billie is very lucky to have such a caring mama bean.

Have a great day!

Anne
 
Re: 5/30 Billie AMPS 365 +2 228

Whoa, big drop at +2! I like this number much better. Hopefully it doesn't trigger another bounce. Anne, thank you for the kind words and encouragement!! I really appreciate it :smile: Pixie is looking so lovely in all those green numbers!
 
Re: 5/30 Billie AMPS 365 +2 228

Wow, Billie is on the move!

It's great you were able to change your work schedule. It's such a relief when we can keep a closer eye on our kitties!

If Billie is high tonight, you probably can shift her shot by an hour - although at the rate she's moving, I don't know if that will be the case this evening! If you do shift by an hour, you definitely want to be extra-vigilant with testing, just in case.

I usually shift in one half hour increment per day. It is another one of those ECID things....some kitties are more sensitive to a shift in shot time than others. I'm sure you'll get more thoughts on the subject throughout the day.

Have a great one, Deanna!
 
Re: 5/30 Billie AMPS 365 +2 228

Thank you Amy! I am very relieved that my schedule will be more flexible. More attention for Billie, and less anxiety for me!

Billie definitely was on the move, but it looks like she wants to hang out in the 220s. Her +4 is 225. I don't know what she's up to! She could have had a similar trend last night, but I wasn't awake to test.
 
Re: 5/30 Billie AMPS 365 +2 228 +4 225 +6 240 PMPS 276

I shot at 10:20 instead of 10:45 tonight. I was aiming for 10:15 but Billie had other plans. I'm thinking that tomorrow morning, I'll shoot at 9:45 as long as she's not really low, and go for 9:15 tomorrow night if that sounds like a good plan. I could also wait or go more gradually. I'm not in any rush - just working toward a schedule with an earlier bedtime and an extra hour of testing time before I go to work in the afternoon.

I called my vet today to check in, let her know that I have been home testing and tell her what Billie's numbers have been looking like. She didn't try to discourage me, which was nice. She did say that her goal range for Billie (permanently) would be 150-200, but said that she thinks we can get her in remission. From what you lovely people have taught me and what I have read, those are not remission numbers, so I'm wondering where she is coming from on that. I like our vet, but I know that she does not have much experience with diabetic cats - she told me that Billie is the first newly diagnosed cat she has seen in a while. In any case, I'm very comfortable getting my advice here!!

I hope everyone is having a nice night :smile:
 
I'm wondering what's up with all this flat yellow! I've heard that it can be a pattern before a big shift, but it could also be a bounce from this morning's huge drop. Just wondering if I should hold off on rolling back Billie's dose time until I see a change, or if it's okay to shoot earlier tomorrow. I'll be around to monitor through all of the AM cycle but out for the first couple hours of the PM.
 
We recommend shooting early 15 minutes a cycle, or 1/2 hour once a day. You can move up a bit faster, but only if Billie is a lot higher than yellows. You could always test early and ask what people think.

ETA: Marje's post on getting back on schedule.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top